Switch Theme:

Drop pods, Psykers and blessings  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Englandia

Hey, Dakka.
Someone at the store played me and dropped a Wolf Priest and a squad in a drop pod then used a blessing.
Is that legal? I was under the impression that it's as long as the Psyker hasn't moved (yet). He said because you choose whether to do blessings or reserves first it's fine.

Anyone got a page number/FAQ if this isn't right? Thanks.

If I sound like I'm being a condescending butthole, I'm not. Read my reply as neutrally as possible, please and thank you. 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

BRB Page 125. Very first bold sentence. In short your opponent misinterpreted the following:

Q: Blessings are manifested ‘at the start of the Psyker’s Movement phase’ – does this mean they happen simultaneously with Reserves rolls, Outflanking rolls etc and if so which is resolved first? (p68)
A: They do occur simultaneously – as such, the player whose turn it is decides in what order these things occur as per page 9 of the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook.

which clarifies that psykers already on the table can cast powers before or after units arrive from reserves.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




And while the above is true, it is not to be confused with the rule that Psyker's cannot manifest blessings/maledictions the turn they arrive from reserves. pg 67.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/03 22:49:00


 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Yeah, no casting Blessings the turn you arrive from Reserve.

 Happyjew wrote:
Q: Blessings are manifested ‘at the start of the Psyker’s Movement phase’ – does this mean they happen simultaneously with Reserves rolls, Outflanking rolls etc and if so which is resolved first? (p68)
A: They do occur simultaneously – as such, the player whose turn it is decides in what order these things occur as per page 9 of the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook.

which clarifies that psykers already on the table can cast powers before or after units arrive from reserves.
It clarifies whether you can cast a Blessing before rolling for reserves. It says nothing about arriving from reserves.
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

Pyrian wrote:
Yeah, no casting Blessings the turn you arrive from Reserve.

 Happyjew wrote:
Q: Blessings are manifested ‘at the start of the Psyker’s Movement phase’ – does this mean they happen simultaneously with Reserves rolls, Outflanking rolls etc and if so which is resolved first? (p68)
A: They do occur simultaneously – as such, the player whose turn it is decides in what order these things occur as per page 9 of the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook.

which clarifies that psykers already on the table can cast powers before or after units arrive from reserves.
It clarifies whether you can cast a Blessing before rolling for reserves. It says nothing about arriving from reserves.


I.E. it makes "Scrier's Gaze" actually do something.
   
Made in us
Ragin' Ork Dreadnought




Wolf Priests are not Psykers...
   
Made in ca
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar





Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

Waaaghpower wrote:
Wolf Priests are not Psykers...


I would assume the OP meant Runepriest.
   
Made in us
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout



Louisville, Ky

Rorschach9 wrote:
Waaaghpower wrote:
Wolf Priests are not Psykers...


I would assume the OP meant Runepriest.


I did too, We got priests on priests for the wolves, sometimes I get em mixed up too.

1000-6500 SW W/L/D 6/1/3
2014: 12/0/4
2015: 8/5/4

Adeptus_lupus instagram for BR
Ave Imperator 
   
Made in gb
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Englandia

Kavik_Whitescar wrote:
Rorschach9 wrote:
Waaaghpower wrote:
Wolf Priests are not Psykers...


I would assume the OP meant Runepriest.


I did too, We got priests on priests for the wolves, sometimes I get em mixed up too.


Haha, sorry, that's the one I meant.
I've never looked through your codex that much.
Wolf this, wolf that, this is wolf something too. At least, against the Space pup player in our store.

Thanks for the replies, guys.
I never noticed that page, I just figured you couldn't since the psyker counts as having moved once he comes in from reseve.

If I sound like I'm being a condescending butthole, I'm not. Read my reply as neutrally as possible, please and thank you. 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Pyrian wrote:
Yeah, no casting Blessings the turn you arrive from Reserve.

 Happyjew wrote:
Q: Blessings are manifested ‘at the start of the Psyker’s Movement phase’ – does this mean they happen simultaneously with Reserves rolls, Outflanking rolls etc and if so which is resolved first? (p68)
A: They do occur simultaneously – as such, the player whose turn it is decides in what order these things occur as per page 9 of the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook.

which clarifies that psykers already on the table can cast powers before or after units arrive from reserves.
It clarifies whether you can cast a Blessing before rolling for reserves. It says nothing about arriving from reserves.


Outflank rolls are made when you arrive from reserves. Since psychic powers are at the same time as Outflank rolls, it is also at the same time units arrive from reserves.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Long-Range Ultramarine Land Speeder Pilot






Manchester, UK

Seriously? Is this legit?

I'm sure there's something in the rulebook somewhere.
Otherwise I've been doing my drop pod assault all wrong.


edit: derp derp. Next time, read the post Tig, you massive numpty.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/04 09:40:32


   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Oceanic

Ok, I'm confused now.

Tigurius is in a drop pod, arriving on turn two.

Roll for divination then reserve? Or it can't be done period?

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCiJ5Xnv1ClgVcGmmb-zQBlw

Perils of the Wallet - YouTube Channel 
   
Made in au
Tea-Kettle of Blood




Adelaide, South Australia

Johnnytorrance wrote:
Ok, I'm confused now.

Tigurius is in a drop pod, arriving on turn two.

Roll for divination then reserve? Or it can't be done period?


Who's casting divination? Because Tigurius can't.

 Ailaros wrote:
You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.

"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Oceanic

Chief Librarian Tigurius can cast spells from all 5 tables

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCiJ5Xnv1ClgVcGmmb-zQBlw

Perils of the Wallet - YouTube Channel 
   
Made in au
Tea-Kettle of Blood




Adelaide, South Australia

But he can't use powers when he's off the table.

 Ailaros wrote:
You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.

"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" 
   
Made in us
Using Inks and Washes




St. George, Utah

1) You can't cast spells while not on the table. Pg. 67 as reference.

2) You can cast spells on guys who arrived, as that's implied with the reserves/outflank roll, provided your psyker casting the spells was already on the table. Pg. 125 for reference.

This clear things up? It was already stated in the thread, but I figured a summary would be helpful.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Johnnytorrance wrote:
Ok, I'm confused now.

Tigurius is in a drop pod, arriving on turn two.

Roll for divination then reserve? Or it can't be done period?

If you are wanting tiggy to cast, then no,p. You cannot use powers that must be used at the start of the turn when you arrive from reserves. This is unambiguous.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: