Switch Theme:

Noob question about Skyray firing?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in at
Slashing Veteran Sword Bretheren






Couple questions here:

1) The Skyray has a limited amount of missiles as ammunition. Do you have to declare how many you will be firing before you fire them? And if this is the case, would you also have to declare which weapons of a unit that has split fire (like a Land Raider) will be firing at which targets before rolling the dice? Because the LR for example has a TL-LC and a MM. Lets say both have LoS to an enemy Dreadnought I want to bring down, but there is also an enemy Rhino closeby. I am at melta range. Ideally I want to hit the Dread with my MM and the Rhino with my LC since the dread will probably be toast. But say the dread survives it - can I then direct my TL-LC at it or is this impossible as I should have already declared so before rolling to-hit?


2) Regarding the Skyray (which has skyfire), say I target a Flyer and roll to-hit with both my networked markerlights. Because removing 2 markerlights from a target strips it of a cover save, can I remove them and say you wont be able to evade and thus gain jink from the missiles I will be firing at you now?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/07 07:17:21


2000 l 2000 l 2000 l 1500 l 1000 l 1000 l Blood Ravens (using Ravenguard CT) 1500 l 1500 l
Eldar tactica l Black Templars tactica l Tau tactica l Astra Militarum codex summary l 7th ed summary l Tutorial: Hinged Land Raider doors (easy!) l My blog: High Gothic Musings
 Ravenous D wrote:
40K is like a beloved grandparent that is slowly falling into dementia and the rest of the family is in denial about how bad it is.
squidhills wrote:
GW is scared of girls. Why do you think they have so much trouble sculpting attractive female models? Because girls have cooties and the staff at GW don't like looking at them for too long because it makes them feel funny in their naughty place.
 
   
Made in us
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot






 Sir Arun wrote:
Couple questions here:

1) The Skyray has a limited amount of missiles as ammunition. Do you have to declare how many you will be firing before you fire them? And if this is the case, would you also have to declare which weapons of a unit that has split fire (like a Land Raider) will be firing at which targets before rolling the dice? Because the LR for example has a TL-LC and a MM. Lets say both have LoS to an enemy Dreadnought I want to bring down, but there is also an enemy Rhino closeby. I am at melta range. Ideally I want to hit the Dread with my MM and the Rhino with my LC since the dread will probably be toast. But say the dread survives it - can I then direct my TL-LC at it or is this impossible as I should have already declared so before rolling to-hit?


2) Regarding the Skyray (which has skyfire), say I target a Flyer and roll to-hit with both my networked markerlights. Because removing 2 markerlights from a target strips it of a cover save, can I remove them and say you wont be able to evade and thus gain jink from the missiles I will be firing at you now?


So, the LR has to declare all of it's firing at once according to the BRB (for vehicle shooting and POTMS). The skyray, however, can shoot the marker lights, then choose to fire any additional weapons because of the 'networked markerlights' rule on pg 69 of the Tau Codex.
   
Made in ca
Homicidal Veteran Blood Angel Assault Marine




Toronto-Ont

In regards to #2, yes you can give a flyer -2 to it's cover save, even if it hasn't chosen to Jinx yet.

skycapt44 wrote:
FYI optimus is the cheesiest player I know


DT:80S++++G+++M++B++IPw40k96#+D++A++++/mWD179R+++T(T)DM+ 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Optimusprime14,
Marklights grant the shooting unit Ignore Cover, not a -2 to the targeted unit's Saves.

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in ca
Homicidal Veteran Blood Angel Assault Marine




Toronto-Ont

Sorry brain fart, I meant 2 ML for ignore cover

skycapt44 wrote:
FYI optimus is the cheesiest player I know


DT:80S++++G+++M++B++IPw40k96#+D++A++++/mWD179R+++T(T)DM+ 
   
Made in at
Slashing Veteran Sword Bretheren






Okay another question:

If the Skyray fires its networked Markerlights at a Flyer, and hits both times, and I declare that I want to use each marker to launch each of the 2 Seeker Missiles I have purchased as an upgrade for my Devilfish, will these be launching at BS5 against the Flyer or at BS1?

2000 l 2000 l 2000 l 1500 l 1000 l 1000 l Blood Ravens (using Ravenguard CT) 1500 l 1500 l
Eldar tactica l Black Templars tactica l Tau tactica l Astra Militarum codex summary l 7th ed summary l Tutorial: Hinged Land Raider doors (easy!) l My blog: High Gothic Musings
 Ravenous D wrote:
40K is like a beloved grandparent that is slowly falling into dementia and the rest of the family is in denial about how bad it is.
squidhills wrote:
GW is scared of girls. Why do you think they have so much trouble sculpting attractive female models? Because girls have cooties and the staff at GW don't like looking at them for too long because it makes them feel funny in their naughty place.
 
   
Made in be
Kelne





That way,then left

I think markerlights don't work that way anymore. You don't launch other units' missiles , these units when shooting themselves can use it to fire it at BS5 with extra rules.
   
Made in at
Slashing Veteran Sword Bretheren






 B0B MaRlEy wrote:
I think markerlights don't work that way anymore. You don't launch other units' missiles , these units when shooting themselves can use it to fire it at BS5 with extra rules.


You do.

Unit A fires a markerlight.

This causes a counter to be placed on enemy unit.

Now any unit from Codex: Tau Empire (units B - Z) can expend one or more markerlights that are lying on the target unit it wants to shoot at to trigger certain abilities, including being able to fire a seeker missile this unit has.


so in our example, Skyray shoots 2 markerlights at a Flyer using BS4 because it has velocity tracker.

Both hit

Two markerlight counters are placed around the enemy flyer's base

A Devilfish carrying 2 seeker missiles chooses to expend both counters to fire both of its seekers at BS5 not requiring LoS toward the flyer, as long as it is within max range of the seekers.

The Seekers fired ignore cover (and thus the flyer's potential evade jink)

My question is whether the BS5 overrides the Flyer's "hard to hit" ability.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/08 15:01:58


2000 l 2000 l 2000 l 1500 l 1000 l 1000 l Blood Ravens (using Ravenguard CT) 1500 l 1500 l
Eldar tactica l Black Templars tactica l Tau tactica l Astra Militarum codex summary l 7th ed summary l Tutorial: Hinged Land Raider doors (easy!) l My blog: High Gothic Musings
 Ravenous D wrote:
40K is like a beloved grandparent that is slowly falling into dementia and the rest of the family is in denial about how bad it is.
squidhills wrote:
GW is scared of girls. Why do you think they have so much trouble sculpting attractive female models? Because girls have cooties and the staff at GW don't like looking at them for too long because it makes them feel funny in their naughty place.
 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

 Sir Arun wrote:
My question is whether the BS5 overrides the Flyer's "hard to hit" ability.
Currently no. Nothing is allowed to alter the BS of a Snap Shot without VERY specific permission (currenly Markerlights being the only exception).
   
Made in at
Slashing Veteran Sword Bretheren






okay, thanks. that makes sense,.

2000 l 2000 l 2000 l 1500 l 1000 l 1000 l Blood Ravens (using Ravenguard CT) 1500 l 1500 l
Eldar tactica l Black Templars tactica l Tau tactica l Astra Militarum codex summary l 7th ed summary l Tutorial: Hinged Land Raider doors (easy!) l My blog: High Gothic Musings
 Ravenous D wrote:
40K is like a beloved grandparent that is slowly falling into dementia and the rest of the family is in denial about how bad it is.
squidhills wrote:
GW is scared of girls. Why do you think they have so much trouble sculpting attractive female models? Because girls have cooties and the staff at GW don't like looking at them for too long because it makes them feel funny in their naughty place.
 
   
Made in us
Douglas Bader






 Sir Arun wrote:
1) The Skyray has a limited amount of missiles as ammunition. Do you have to declare how many you will be firing before you fire them?


Yes. In fact you have to declare which of your six missiles you are firing. The six missiles are not interchangeable shots for a single weapon, they are six separate weapons mounted on different parts of the tank, subject to individual "weapon destroyed" results, etc. This is an often-overlooked detail, but it potentially matters when a missile on the left side is in range/LOS but a missile on the right side isn't.

And if this is the case, would you also have to declare which weapons of a unit that has split fire (like a Land Raider) will be firing at which targets before rolling the dice?


Yep. All shots are declared simultaneously and resolved simultaneously rules-wise even if real-world physical limits prevent you from rolling all of the dice simultaneously.

(Unless of course something specifically grants an exception to the normal order. But split fire does not.)

2) Regarding the Skyray (which has skyfire), say I target a Flyer and roll to-hit with both my networked markerlights. Because removing 2 markerlights from a target strips it of a cover save, can I remove them and say you wont be able to evade and thus gain jink from the missiles I will be firing at you now?


No. Spending two markerlight counters will grant the Sky Ray the "ignores cover" rule for its shooting. No matter when the cover save is gained it can not be used against that shooting. However, this is NOT the same as preventing the model from evading. The model can evade as normal, and will immediately suffer the penalties for doing so. Obviously this won't help against the Sky Ray's own shots, but the usual jink save will still apply against any other attacks that don't have the "ignores cover" rule.

(Don't ask how this would ever be a sensible thing to do, instead of just waiting for the next incoming shots to decide whether or not to evade.)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/08 20:30:44


There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: