Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/11 01:51:25
Subject: Deep striking daemonic icons and scatter
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
So I was reading looking through the daemon codex again and was trying to decide if I wanted to take icons in my daemon horde army. I noticed in the rules for demonic icons that nowhere does it state the icon has to be on the board for a full turn before the rest of my reinforcements arrive. IE I can drop an Icon squad first and land it, then no scatter squads of the same god within 6" of it in the same turns deepstrike. This may make my all slannesh army work for the better.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/11 01:59:41
Subject: Deep striking daemonic icons and scatter
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
Whats the rules question here?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/11 02:55:53
Subject: Deep striking daemonic icons and scatter
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Is that actually how it works or am I missing the rules somewhere else that says it must be on the table?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/11 03:34:15
Subject: Deep striking daemonic icons and scatter
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
Its exactly how you read it
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/11 03:55:14
Subject: Deep striking daemonic icons and scatter
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Or possibly not. See page 125 of he BRB, first bolded paragraph as to why it may not work. It's one of the things that still need to be FAQed for the codex.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/11 03:55:32
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/11 04:07:32
Subject: Deep striking daemonic icons and scatter
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Ghaz wrote:Or possibly not. See page 125 of he BRB, first bolded paragraph as to why it may not work. It's one of the things that still need to be FAQed for the codex.
And the counter to that argument is that the icon is not an ability that has to be used at the start of the turn (it can, in fact be used at any portion of the turn to prevent a unit arriving by deep strike from scattering, which can, and does occur in other phases of the turn in some cases).
Some have tried to argue that the rule on pg 125 doesn't actually refer to special rules and abilities that have a timing which designates that they get used at the start of the turn, but rather that since normal deep strike arrival happens 'at the start of the turn' *any* special rule or ability that a unit has while arriving via deep strike therefore cannot be used...so a model that has move through cover would have to take a dangerous terrain check, or a model that has a special rule allowing it to re-roll a failed save couldn't use that on a failed dangerous terrain test armor save, etc, etc, etc.
So anyone who's nutty enough to play that 2nd interpretation can claim that you can't use your icon on the turn that it arrives. But anyone who agrees with that absurdity should be letting the icon be used the turn it arrives, as it's ability is not one that must be used at the start of the turn.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/11 04:13:49
Subject: Deep striking daemonic icons and scatter
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
As I said, it is a possibility as already laid out in this three page thread and still needs to be FAQed.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/11 04:54:59
Subject: Deep striking daemonic icons and scatter
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Wow, months later and I still suck at making my point.
|
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/11 05:04:28
Subject: Deep striking daemonic icons and scatter
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
It is very clearly is not a possibility because the daemon Icon no where says it must be used at the start of the turn
|
|
 |
 |
|