Switch Theme:

Deep striking daemonic icons and scatter  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





So I was reading looking through the daemon codex again and was trying to decide if I wanted to take icons in my daemon horde army. I noticed in the rules for demonic icons that nowhere does it state the icon has to be on the board for a full turn before the rest of my reinforcements arrive. IE I can drop an Icon squad first and land it, then no scatter squads of the same god within 6" of it in the same turns deepstrike. This may make my all slannesh army work for the better.
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





Whats the rules question here?
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Is that actually how it works or am I missing the rules somewhere else that says it must be on the table?
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





Its exactly how you read it
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Or possibly not. See page 125 of he BRB, first bolded paragraph as to why it may not work. It's one of the things that still need to be FAQed for the codex.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/11 03:55:32


'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

 Ghaz wrote:
Or possibly not. See page 125 of he BRB, first bolded paragraph as to why it may not work. It's one of the things that still need to be FAQed for the codex.


And the counter to that argument is that the icon is not an ability that has to be used at the start of the turn (it can, in fact be used at any portion of the turn to prevent a unit arriving by deep strike from scattering, which can, and does occur in other phases of the turn in some cases).

Some have tried to argue that the rule on pg 125 doesn't actually refer to special rules and abilities that have a timing which designates that they get used at the start of the turn, but rather that since normal deep strike arrival happens 'at the start of the turn' *any* special rule or ability that a unit has while arriving via deep strike therefore cannot be used...so a model that has move through cover would have to take a dangerous terrain check, or a model that has a special rule allowing it to re-roll a failed save couldn't use that on a failed dangerous terrain test armor save, etc, etc, etc.

So anyone who's nutty enough to play that 2nd interpretation can claim that you can't use your icon on the turn that it arrives. But anyone who agrees with that absurdity should be letting the icon be used the turn it arrives, as it's ability is not one that must be used at the start of the turn.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

As I said, it is a possibility as already laid out in this three page thread and still needs to be FAQed.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Wow, months later and I still suck at making my point.

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





 Ghaz wrote:
As I said, it is a possibility as already laid out in this three page thread and still needs to be FAQed.

It is very clearly is not a possibility because the daemon Icon no where says it must be used at the start of the turn
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: