Switch Theme:

Specifically a Flame Template problem  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Flailing Flagellant





Over the course of two games I encountered two questions involving rules and flame templates.

The first and easier one, I had a nightspinner and while using its torrent weapon fried a dozen orks hiding behind a wall. My opponent said I couldn't fire on them because I didn't have line of sight, I argued its a torrent and awesome and designed to do that and I just couldn't fire the vehicles underslung weapons which didn't have LOS.

Second doesn't really get explained to well. I had a unit of Seraphim with two models with flamers ( St. Celestine and a Seraphim with flamer pistols. I landed and fired on unit of Lootas. I flamed his unit.
My way of resolving it was my Seraphim got 6 under her template so 12 hits and Celestine got 5. So I would resolve 17 hits against the unit. He argued since it was a template I could kill only those under the template so each of those original 6 got hit twice and 5 of those 6 by Celestines flamer. So after a 15 minute heated debate I conceded so we could get on with the game.

My arguement was its resolved like a shooting attack like bullets so it can kill your whole unit even though they're out of range as stated in the rulebook, but he countered that its a template and can't kill more then whats underneath it which in fluffness made sense to me.

So what was it:
Me: 17 hits resolved to wound against 10 lootas
Him: 3 hits on 5 lootas and 2 hits on 1 loota
Other: 17 hits that must be taken by only those 6 lootas

If a unit is firing more than one shot with the Template type, resolve each shot, one at a time, as described above, determining and recording how many hits are scored by each template. Resolve these, and the rest of the unit's shots, as normal. 

Above: Here it states record how ma y hits are scoredby each template, I wish it would've added against each model.



I've then heard people stacking templates on top of one another such as Burnas in Wagon.



Here, its not explained to well if you add the way he said it should be done.
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/480584.page#4842081


The book goes on to say calculate the number of hits but does 't really cover what to do. It literally shows you a unit with 3 flamers hit 6 Orks 9 times but doesn't show how the wounds are resolved. Maybe I'm mixing it up with 5th or something.



For additional references, my other alias's
Ebay - Ivoreagleeye
Bartertown - Davejr 
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





1) You still can only allocate wounds to models in LoS. Neither torrent nor template rules change this.

2) The BRB FAQ made it so that you can only allocate wounds to model within the range of guns fired in the unit. So if only template weapons were fired you can only allocate to models that were within range of the templates. It doesn't have to specifically be the templates range though as you get to allocate to the longest ranged fired (so a unit of flamers and a bolter fired would get to allocate all wounds up to the bolters 24" range)

Your opponent was right in both cases

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/12 06:42:42


 
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

For one, your friend was right. If you don't have LoS to a unit, you can't target it. Torrent weapons can do shenanigans to get around this, but even then they can't actually do damage as you need LoS to allocate wounds as well. No LoS means no targetting and no wound allocating.

The second one is more complicated, and it doesn't sound like any of you got it completely right. Although you were the closest. You place each template to determine the number of hits, and then once you've figured out all the templates and rolled to hit with any other weapons that are firing you roll to wound as normal. This you got right. Wound Allocation is messier. By the rulebook wounds can be allocated to any model in the target unit as long as they are in LoS, as you argued. But the rulebook FAQ expands this to any model that is in LoS and in range of at least one firing model. So if you were only firing templates, wounds can only be allocated to models that could be hit by the templates. Although not necessarily the ones that were hit, any model that is in range to be hit can be allocated the wound. Add a bolt pistol to the mix however and anyone in range of the model with the bolt pistol could also be allocated wounds from the flamer, even if they weren't in range of the flamer.

EDIT: @CrownAxe Actually, the friend was very much wrong in the second case. He was arguing that a flamer could only allocate wounds to models under that flamers template, which has absolutely no support in the rules. Discounting the FAQ and going solely off the rulebook ivoreagleye was actually correct in the second case. Of course, the FAQ changed things, so no one was right, but ivoreagleye was closest.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/12 06:44:52


 
   
Made in us
Flailing Flagellant





@Chyrsis: I figured for that first one later on, how could my spinner fire at something it can't see, therefore doesn't know is there. I was just way to excited at the prospect of so many dead Orks and the way torrent works blinded me.

I suppose he may be right according to page 5 of the faq concerning multiple barrages?
Thank the Lord I didn't have a bolt pistol girl alive.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/03/12 07:15:57


For additional references, my other alias's
Ebay - Ivoreagleeye
Bartertown - Davejr 
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





BRB FAQ pg4
Q: When making a Shooting attack against a unit, can Wounds
from the Wound Pool be allocated to models that were not within
range any of the shooting models when To Hit rolls were made (i.e.
half the targeted model are in the shooting models’ range, and half
are not)? (p15)
A: No.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/12 08:00:32


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Ivore - you CAN have weapons that fire at units they cannot see - Barrage being the more obvious ones. I thought the NS had a barrage mode, in which case you could have fired the large blast at them.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: