Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/18 09:58:49
Subject: Coteaz question.
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Yeah I think this question is already exist. But Coteaz is one of the most complicate character, I can't find it.
I know Coteaz can shoot both drop pod and passenger if they fall down in 12 inch from Coteaz.
Q1. What happen If drop pod blocked the LOS of Coteaz's unit, and I blow up that? Can I shoot the disembarked unit after it?
Q2. What happen if drop pod arrived in 12 inch from Coteaz, but disembarked unit from the drop pod arrived outside?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/18 10:11:06
Subject: Coteaz question.
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Well, at least it is not the "Can I take two Coteaz?" question.
Q1. Not 100% sure about. However, HIWPI, since the unit arriving was not in LOS when they arrived (due to being on the far side of the DP, I would say they cannot be targeted.
Q2. Since the unit is not within 12" they are not a legal target for IBEY.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/18 11:59:04
Subject: Coteaz question.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
as above for 1) you trigger IBEY when they arrive within LOS. They did not arrive within LOS - after they finish disembarking and moving they have finished arriving.
2) is clear as well. They have not arrived until they disembark
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/18 13:25:37
Subject: Coteaz question.
|
 |
Rampaging Carnifex
|
Along the same lines, if my opponent doesn't model the doors to open on a DP then would we assume they are open for the purposes of LOS? Can you shoot thru a DP?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/18 13:30:08
Subject: Coteaz question.
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Welcome to the most heated debate in recent history.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/18 13:50:08
Subject: Coteaz question.
|
 |
Tea-Kettle of Blood
Adelaide, South Australia
|
Zimko wrote:Along the same lines, if my opponent doesn't model the doors to open on a DP then would we assume they are open for the purposes of LOS? Can you shoot thru a DP?
The game uses true line of sight for determining whether you can shoot at a target, treating closed-door drop pods as being open is a common house rule but is in no way how the rules actually function. (and personally I think it's a bit of a dick move)
|
Ailaros wrote:You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.
"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/18 14:04:27
Subject: Re:Coteaz question.
|
 |
Grey Knight Purgator firing around corners
Boston, MA
|
1) TLOS. If doors are open, you can shoot through it to hit the unit behind them. Door closed, you cannot (but he cannot shoot you, nor can the drop pod shoot you as the weapon is mounted inside the vehicle and the doors block it.
2)
Rules for Disembark (pg 79) state that you place the models one at a time in base contact with the hull/access points, and then you can make a normal move..
IBEY FAQ
"Q: When are the shooting attacks from Inquisitor Coteaz’s I’ve Been
Expecting You special rule fired? (p45)
A: They are fired as soon as a unit that is a valid target is placed
on the board. Once the shooting attacks have been resolved,
the unit can complete its move
The minute the model touches the table, and within 12" of Coteaz and his LOS, IBEY activates. THEN, after the shooting is resolved, any model that survives can make its normal move.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/18 14:07:29
0000 - Rest Period - BUT YOU BETTER NOT SPEND FOUR WHOLE HOURS SLEEPING. IF YOU DO YOU ARE NOT ANGRY ENOUGH AND TOMORROW YOU GET THE FIRST CHANCE TO PLAY PIN THE TAU ON THE CARNIFEX. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/19 05:26:07
Subject: Re:Coteaz question.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Models disembarking from a transport are placed on the board and then move one at a time. You don't place the 2nd model until after the 1st has completed it move. Does this mean IBEY triggers after the 1st model has been placed, after the last model had been placed or after the last model has moved?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/19 05:32:41
Subject: Coteaz question.
|
 |
Tea-Kettle of Blood
Adelaide, South Australia
|
"as soon as a unit that is a valid target is placed on the board"
To me this reads like the entire unit has to be placed on the board before IBEY triggers.
|
Ailaros wrote:You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.
"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/19 06:40:25
Subject: Coteaz question.
|
 |
Never Forget Isstvan!
|
So you would shoot them as soon as the last model is placed but before he moves..........~)~
|
JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/19 07:16:08
Subject: Coteaz question.
|
 |
Tea-Kettle of Blood
Adelaide, South Australia
|
Yeah, seems that way.
|
Ailaros wrote:You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.
"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/19 07:20:20
Subject: Coteaz question.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Or, more likely, they forgot how disembark operates now in 6th, and they didnt account for this situation.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/19 07:32:00
Subject: Coteaz question.
|
 |
Tea-Kettle of Blood
Adelaide, South Australia
|
Well, Grey Knights are still a 5th ed Codex.
|
Ailaros wrote:You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.
"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/19 07:38:14
Subject: Coteaz question.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
The FAQ was from 6th edition, not 5th.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/19 14:04:24
Subject: Coteaz question.
|
 |
Horrific Howling Banshee
|
The new marine codex answers the first part of Q1. Drop pods can't block line of site. The model is not physical capable of it. The doors blow immediately upon landing. (See new marine dex). The supports are not physically wide enough to block TLOS.
Your opponent can probably get cover (and likely will), but your target will be visible.
Since the drop pods and units in them are separate units (you can intercept either), I would generally tend towards allowing Corteaz to shoot both as long as both deploy within 12 inches. That is my opinion though.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/19 14:14:00
Subject: Coteaz question.
|
 |
Tea-Kettle of Blood
Adelaide, South Australia
|
There is no rule that states you are required to open the doors of a Drop Pod in the Space Marines Codex.
|
Ailaros wrote:You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.
"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/19 14:29:35
Subject: Coteaz question.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Dessorag wrote:The new marine codex answers the first part of Q1. Drop pods can't block line of site. The model is not physical capable of it. The doors blow immediately upon landing.
No rule actually states what you claim. If you are claiming "are blown...2 is a rule, I expect you to model explosive charges onto your doors.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/19 15:46:15
Subject: Coteaz question.
|
 |
Ragin' Ork Dreadnought
|
To model it with the doors shut is MFA. Plus, its weapon wouldn't be able to fire.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/19 15:47:08
Subject: Coteaz question.
|
 |
Tough Tyrant Guard
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Dessorag wrote:The new marine codex answers the first part of Q1. Drop pods can't block line of site. The model is not physical capable of it. The doors blow immediately upon landing.
No rule actually states what you claim. If you are claiming "are blown...2 is a rule, I expect you to model explosive charges onto your doors.
People should do that.
Even better, put mini actual explosive charges... those snappy things...
Cinematic!
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/19 15:47:44
It's my codex and I'll cry If I want to.
Tactical objectives are fantastic |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/19 15:49:45
Subject: Coteaz question.
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Waaaghpower wrote:To model it with the doors shut is MFA. Plus, its weapon wouldn't be able to fire.
Oh joy! This topic again...
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/19 16:11:36
Subject: Coteaz question.
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Dessorag wrote:The new marine codex answers the first part of Q1. Drop pods can't block line of site. The model is not physical capable of it. The doors blow immediately upon landing. No rule actually states what you claim. If you are claiming "are blown...2 is a rule, I expect you to model explosive charges onto your doors.
Or pneumatics, you can have the doors blown with air pressure as well. I wonder how big of an undertaking it would be to affix pneumatics to a drop pod to have the Hatches blown. P.S. it says I spelled pneumatics incorrectly, pneumatics has the red spell check line under it, but it is spelled correctly. Waaaghpower wrote:To model it with the doors shut is MFA. Plus, its weapon wouldn't be able to fire.
How is that MFA?
|
This message was edited 5 times. Last update was at 2014/03/20 20:55:27
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/19 16:32:53
Subject: Coteaz question.
|
 |
Tea-Kettle of Blood
Adelaide, South Australia
|
Because it is a perfectly legal way to model a Drop Pod that may be used tactically to block line of sight and prevent him from killing d00ds.
He does bring up a good point, though. Any door you deploy closed is a doorway the drop pod can't fire through.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/19 16:34:36
Ailaros wrote:You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.
"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/19 19:23:30
Subject: Coteaz question.
|
 |
Horrific Howling Banshee
|
The new marine codex explicitly states the doors open upon landing. You can argue whether or not they are part of the hull all you want. If they are, you can deploy Marines 6 inches from the door tip. I personally have never had a player make this choice.
In all cases, the doors open, stuff inside gets out, and the storm bolter shoots. Arguing otherwise is grasping at straws for a minute advantage that will just piss people off.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/19 19:25:43
Subject: Coteaz question.
|
 |
Ragin' Ork Dreadnought
|
Exactly. Saying it's okay to model the doors shut is like saying you can take two Coteaz' in a single army because he is in two codexes.
Oh...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/19 19:35:29
Subject: Coteaz question.
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Dessorag wrote:The new marine codex explicitly states the doors open upon landing. You can argue whether or not they are part of the hull all you want. If they are, you can deploy Marines 6 inches from the door tip. I personally have never had a player make this choice.
In all cases, the doors open, stuff inside gets out, and the storm bolter shoots. Arguing otherwise is grasping at straws for a minute advantage that will just piss people off.
I'm sorry. I'm looking at the Space Marine codex right now. I do not see anywhere under the entry for Drop Pods on page 99 that says the doors open. Can you please point me to the rule?
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/19 20:06:37
Subject: Coteaz question.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Dessorag wrote:The new marine codex explicitly states the doors open upon landing.
The new marine codex does no such thing. It uses the same language the last two marine codices used about hatches being blown. While a colorful description it is absolutely not a requirement to open the doors.
Gluing the doors shut is not MFA unless you are doing it because you think it gives you some kind of advantage. I've done it because I don;t want to paint the interior and I'm concerned about doors breaking off. I've played people who have doors that open, and you know what, you still can't draw LoS through the damn thing. Its a fairly dense rats nest of bits in there.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/19 20:49:14
Subject: Coteaz question.
|
 |
Sword-Bearing Inquisitorial Crusader
|
Even with the doors open, the pod does a pretty good job of blocking line of sight, at least as far as standard infantry are concerned. Saying that you definitely would have LoS through a pod is just plain incorrect.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/19 21:16:14
Subject: Coteaz question.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Dessorag wrote:The new marine codex explicitly states the doors open upon landing. You can argue whether or not they are part of the hull all you want. If they are, you can deploy Marines 6 inches from the door tip. I personally have never had a player make this choice.
In all cases, the doors open, stuff inside gets out, and the storm bolter shoots. Arguing otherwise is grasping at straws for a minute advantage that will just piss people off.
No it does not. Absolutely, positively nowhere in the rules does it state the doors open.
If it did, you would be able to provide the EXACT rules quote showing this, as per the tenets of the forum? Yes?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/19 21:43:39
Subject: Re:Coteaz question.
|
 |
Horrific Howling Banshee
|
Under transport capacity, page 99, second sentence. "Once the Drop Pod has landed, the hatches are blown and all passengers must disembark. " if that doesn't mean "the doors open when you land" I really don't know what would.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/19 21:47:07
Subject: Re:Coteaz question.
|
 |
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar
|
Dessorag wrote:Under transport capacity, page 99, second sentence. "Once the Drop Pod has landed, the hatches are blown and all passengers must disembark. " if that doesn't mean "the doors open when you land" I really don't know what would.
Tread lightly. From a strict rules perspective this line is not entirely rules as we have no "rule" for how to blow the hatches. RAI perhaps, but as a rule it is very hotly debated here
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/19 21:47:23
|
|
 |
 |
|