Switch Theme:

First turn charge?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in at
Slashing Veteran Sword Bretheren






Is it possible to get a charge on turn 1?

I dont have the rulebook in my head, but I remember there being a special rule denying infiltrating or scouting units to do so. Also, if you run, you can't charge.

However, if you choose to go second, is it still the "first turn" when your opponent has finished his turn and you're up?

2000 l 2000 l 2000 l 1500 l 1000 l 1000 l Blood Ravens (using Ravenguard CT) 1500 l 1500 l
Eldar tactica l Black Templars tactica l Tau tactica l Astra Militarum codex summary l 7th ed summary l Tutorial: Hinged Land Raider doors (easy!) l My blog: High Gothic Musings
 Ravenous D wrote:
40K is like a beloved grandparent that is slowly falling into dementia and the rest of the family is in denial about how bad it is.
squidhills wrote:
GW is scared of girls. Why do you think they have so much trouble sculpting attractive female models? Because girls have cooties and the staff at GW don't like looking at them for too long because it makes them feel funny in their naughty place.
 
   
Made in no
Battlefortress Driver with Krusha Wheel




Norway (Oslo)

Theres no rule saying you cant charge turn one exept the scouting one as you mentiond.

Examples being ork trukk with rpj move 7 disembark six inches charge 2d6. Ork storm boyz with a possible 18 inch movement + 2d6 charge im sure there other units lto out there that can manage up fast.

Waagh like a bawz

-
Kaptin Goldteef's waagh! 16250 points 45/18/3 (W/L/D) 7th Ed

6250 points 9/3/1 (W/L/D) sixth-ed
Dark elves: 2350points 3/0/0 (W/L/D)
3400 points 19/6/0 (W/L/D) 8' armybook
Wood Elves 2600 points, 6/4/0 (W/L/D)

 
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





All of the special deployments (scout, infiltrate, etc) have a clause that prevents the unit from charging on the first player turn (because the term "turn" always refers to player turn unless specified as game turn). So if that player went second those units can charge

But there is no general rule preventing a first turn charge. As such there are a few ways to get a first turn charge

- Stormboyz because they get an extra d6" on the move

- Deploying an assault vehicle sideways so that when you pivot forward you gain few inches of movement (depending on vehicle length)

- Using Magna-Grapples from Furioso's to pull a vehicle towards a unit to get charged

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/03/22 03:16:38


 
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran





how would sky shields work with the ready for take off and a storm raven on it? I can place the sky shield anywhere in my table half and the storm raven can start the game on it in hover mode. Move 6 inches, get out 6 inches and charge a possible 12 inches.

Would the sky shield count as infiltrating even though it is a fortification?
   
Made in ca
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta




champagne_socialist wrote:
how would sky shields work with the ready for take off and a storm raven on it? I can place the sky shield anywhere in my table half and the storm raven can start the game on it in hover mode. Move 6 inches, get out 6 inches and charge a possible 12 inches.

Would the sky shield count as infiltrating even though it is a fortification?


You still have to deploy your forces in your deployment zone. pg 121.

stronghold assault: when deploying your army ...


deploy forces,
anywhere in your table 1/2 that is more that 12" from the center line"


so while the skyshield may sit outside you're zone as pg 120 grants permission to, if it's outside your deployment zone you're fliers won't be able to use the ready for take off rule.

Of course I can see this being greatly argued around here.

 
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran





sirlynchmob wrote:
champagne_socialist wrote:
how would sky shields work with the ready for take off and a storm raven on it? I can place the sky shield anywhere in my table half and the storm raven can start the game on it in hover mode. Move 6 inches, get out 6 inches and charge a possible 12 inches.

Would the sky shield count as infiltrating even though it is a fortification?


You still have to deploy your forces in your deployment zone. pg 121.

stronghold assault: when deploying your army ...


deploy forces,
anywhere in your table 1/2 that is more that 12" from the center line"


so while the skyshield may sit outside you're zone as pg 120 grants permission to, if it's outside your deployment zone you're fliers won't be able to use the ready for take off rule.

Of course I can see this being greatly argued around here.


sorry what is the rule that flyers cannot deploy outside your deployment zone if on a skyshield?
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





champagne_socialist wrote:
sorry what is the rule that flyers cannot deploy outside your deployment zone if on a skyshield?

The Skyshield doesn't allow you to deploy outside your deployment zone.
You can place the Fortification, but you won't be able to cite a rule that allows you to ignore the deployment rules.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in ca
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta




for the skyshield "It says when deploying your army"

when you deploy your army as per pg 121 brb it limits you to your 1/2 - 12"

YMMY, but that's the way I see RAW.

 
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran





rigeld2 wrote:
champagne_socialist wrote:
sorry what is the rule that flyers cannot deploy outside your deployment zone if on a skyshield?

The Skyshield doesn't allow you to deploy outside your deployment zone.
You can place the Fortification, but you won't be able to cite a rule that allows you to ignore the deployment rules.


the skyshield special rule states that flyers must start the game on the sky pad. The sky pad rules state that the sky pad can be placed anywhere in our table half.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





champagne_socialist wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
champagne_socialist wrote:
sorry what is the rule that flyers cannot deploy outside your deployment zone if on a skyshield?

The Skyshield doesn't allow you to deploy outside your deployment zone.
You can place the Fortification, but you won't be able to cite a rule that allows you to ignore the deployment rules.


the skyshield special rule states that flyers must start the game on the sky pad. The sky pad rules state that the sky pad can be placed anywhere in our table half.

Correct.
Cite the rule allowing you to ignore the deployment restrictions.
Flyers have 2 restrictions when it comes to deployment.
1). Must deploy in deployment zone. (All your models have this restriction)
2). Must deploy in Reserves. (Skyshield allows you to ignore this)

You're attempting to ignore both restrictions and refusing to cite allowance.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in nz
Daring Dark Eldar Raider Rider





New Zealand

champagne_socialist wrote:
the skyshield special rule states that flyers must start the game on the sky pad. The sky pad rules state that the sky pad can be placed anywhere in our table half.


The bit in red is incorrect. The rules say they "can" start on the sky shield, so there's no conflict with the deployment rules in the rule book. If they are outside of your deployment zone you cannot deploy on them because of the deployment rules, but if they are inside your deployment zone, you can deploy your flyers on them (provided you bought the upgrade and your flyers can hover)
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

The SkyShield thing is still a debatable point, but it is not one I want to go into at this point in time. I am simply wondering if it is even possible to be in the situation being described, if the Transport can begin the game deployed on the half-way point from a hypothetical point of view. After all, the unit would be disembarking from a Vehicle and that puts additional restrictions on if it can charge or not that turn. There are Special Rules that would allow them to assault the turn they disembarked but I am simply curious if there are any Fliers that have the Assault Vehicle Special Rule in the first place.

As for the Tactic of starting on the half way line with a flyer in easy to shoot down hover mode:- Sitting Duck?

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut





The Golden Throne

JinxDragon wrote:
1. There are Special Rules that would allow them to assault the turn they disembarked but I am simply curious if there are any Fliers that have the Assault Vehicle Special Rule in the first place.

2. As for the Tactic of starting on the half way line with a flyer in easy to shoot down hover mode:- Sitting Duck?


1. Stormraven.

2. It has already been pointed out you can't deploy mid table with a flyer and pad. That's horrifying disregard of the rules and fast way to lose player partners.
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran





the skyshield special rule allowing a flyer to start outside your deployment zone is a debateable poont that is never going to be proven unless GW release an errata or faq. It reminds me of the vindicare dead shot and look out sir special rule that caused a lot of debate.
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Thanks Byte,
Still really expensive 'throw away' vehicle, just to get an assault troop a little closer.

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




champagne_socialist wrote:
the skyshield special rule allowing a flyer to start outside your deployment zone is a debateable poont that is never going to be proven unless GW release an errata or faq. It reminds me of the vindicare dead shot and look out sir special rule that caused a lot of debate.

It isn't even remotely the same., there is a denial of permission, and no override of this denial. You cannot do it, RAW.
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran





nosferatu1001 wrote:
champagne_socialist wrote:
the skyshield special rule allowing a flyer to start outside your deployment zone is a debateable poont that is never going to be proven unless GW release an errata or faq. It reminds me of the vindicare dead shot and look out sir special rule that caused a lot of debate.

It isn't even remotely the same., there is a denial of permission, and no override of this denial. You cannot do it, RAW.


I would argue the skyshields taking off rule gives you permission. You dont believe it does so end of debate unless you want to go around in circles
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




champagne_socialist wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
champagne_socialist wrote:
the skyshield special rule allowing a flyer to start outside your deployment zone is a debateable poont that is never going to be proven unless GW release an errata or faq. It reminds me of the vindicare dead shot and look out sir special rule that caused a lot of debate.

It isn't even remotely the same., there is a denial of permission, and no override of this denial. You cannot do it, RAW.


I would argue the skyshields taking off rule gives you permission. You dont believe it does so end of debate unless you want to go around in circles

We have proven it does not give permission, as it does not contain any specific rules stating it allows you to deploy outside of the deployment zone.

You can continue to argue,however as you cannot cite any rules to support your position, please mark your posts as "hywpi" or similar, so people are aware it is not a rules based argument.
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran





nosferatu1001 wrote:
champagne_socialist wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
champagne_socialist wrote:
the skyshield special rule allowing a flyer to start outside your deployment zone is a debateable poont that is never going to be proven unless GW release an errata or faq. It reminds me of the vindicare dead shot and look out sir special rule that caused a lot of debate.

It isn't even remotely the same., there is a denial of permission, and no override of this denial. You cannot do it, RAW.


I would argue the skyshields taking off rule gives you permission. You dont believe it does so end of debate unless you want to go around in circles

We have proven it does not give permission, as it does not contain any specific rules stating it allows you to deploy outside of the deployment zone.

You can continue to argue,however as you cannot cite any rules to support your position, please mark your posts as "hywpi" or similar, so people are aware it is not a rules based argument.


You haven't proven anything so you can stop replying, it is getting rather boring.
   
Made in de
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon






champagne_socialist wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
champagne_socialist wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
champagne_socialist wrote:
the skyshield special rule allowing a flyer to start outside your deployment zone is a debateable poont that is never going to be proven unless GW release an errata or faq. It reminds me of the vindicare dead shot and look out sir special rule that caused a lot of debate.

It isn't even remotely the same., there is a denial of permission, and no override of this denial. You cannot do it, RAW.


I would argue the skyshields taking off rule gives you permission. You dont believe it does so end of debate unless you want to go around in circles

We have proven it does not give permission, as it does not contain any specific rules stating it allows you to deploy outside of the deployment zone.

You can continue to argue,however as you cannot cite any rules to support your position, please mark your posts as "hywpi" or similar, so people are aware it is not a rules based argument.


You haven't proven anything so you can stop replying, it is getting rather boring.


What about supporting your point with rules instead of getting upset and insulting when someone disagrees with your interpretation of the rules.

Since the skyshield rule doesnt explicitly allow deployment of a flier outside of your deployment zone theres nothing that overrides that restriction. Sometimes the rules dont work how you want them to. This is one of those cases.
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran





 Mywik wrote:
champagne_socialist wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
champagne_socialist wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
champagne_socialist wrote:
the skyshield special rule allowing a flyer to start outside your deployment zone is a debateable poont that is never going to be proven unless GW release an errata or faq. It reminds me of the vindicare dead shot and look out sir special rule that caused a lot of debate.

It isn't even remotely the same., there is a denial of permission, and no override of this denial. You cannot do it, RAW.


I would argue the skyshields taking off rule gives you permission. You dont believe it does so end of debate unless you want to go around in circles

We have proven it does not give permission, as it does not contain any specific rules stating it allows you to deploy outside of the deployment zone.

You can continue to argue,however as you cannot cite any rules to support your position, please mark your posts as "hywpi" or similar, so people are aware it is not a rules based argument.


You haven't proven anything so you can stop replying, it is getting rather boring.


What about supporting your point with rules instead of getting upset and insulting when someone disagrees with your interpretation of the rules.

Since the skyshield rule doesnt explicitly allow deployment of a flier outside of your deployment zone theres nothing that overrides that restriction. Sometimes the rules dont work how you want them to. This is one of those cases.


I'm not upset I just find this debate rather boring. I posted my position which was the skyshield can be placed anywhere in your table half and the skyshield lets you place the storm raven on it in hover mode. 2+2 = stormraven can be placed outside your deployment zone because the skypad lets you.

That is my position and you disagree with that so what is the point in continuing the debate? I already know you disagree so you dont need to keep posting that you disagree.
   
Made in de
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon






champagne_socialist wrote:


I'm not upset I just find this debate rather boring. I posted my position which was the skyshield can be placed anywhere in your table half and the skyshield lets you place the storm raven on it in hover mode. 2+2 = stormraven can be placed outside your deployment zone because the skypad lets you.

That is my position and you disagree with that so what is the point in continuing the debate? I already know you disagree so you dont need to keep posting that you disagree.


Yes, the skyshield has permission to start anywhere in your half of the table. This is explicit in the rule and no one debates that. Now find a rule that gives the same permission for your flier in exactly the same way and your golden. If you dont find it than the RAW dont allow what you want to do.

If you are arguing HYWPI then fine. Nothing to argue about any further.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/03/22 19:32:57


 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





champagne_socialist wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
champagne_socialist wrote:
the skyshield special rule allowing a flyer to start outside your deployment zone is a debateable poont that is never going to be proven unless GW release an errata or faq. It reminds me of the vindicare dead shot and look out sir special rule that caused a lot of debate.

It isn't even remotely the same., there is a denial of permission, and no override of this denial. You cannot do it, RAW.


I would argue the skyshields taking off rule gives you permission. You dont believe it does so end of debate unless you want to go around in circles

Argue it then. Provide rules support.
It's not belief. It's absolute fact - the landing pad rules to not state that you can deploy a flyer outside the deployment zone, so you can't.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran





rigeld2 wrote:
champagne_socialist wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
champagne_socialist wrote:
the skyshield special rule allowing a flyer to start outside your deployment zone is a debateable poont that is never going to be proven unless GW release an errata or faq. It reminds me of the vindicare dead shot and look out sir special rule that caused a lot of debate.

It isn't even remotely the same., there is a denial of permission, and no override of this denial. You cannot do it, RAW.


I would argue the skyshields taking off rule gives you permission. You dont believe it does so end of debate unless you want to go around in circles

Argue it then. Provide rules support.
It's not belief. It's absolute fact - the landing pad rules to not state that you can deploy a flyer outside the deployment zone, so you can't.


2 rules combined. SS can be deployed outside deployment and SS lets you start a flyer on it.

Do you want me to keep repeating that?
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





champagne_socialist wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
champagne_socialist wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
champagne_socialist wrote:
the skyshield special rule allowing a flyer to start outside your deployment zone is a debateable poont that is never going to be proven unless GW release an errata or faq. It reminds me of the vindicare dead shot and look out sir special rule that caused a lot of debate.

It isn't even remotely the same., there is a denial of permission, and no override of this denial. You cannot do it, RAW.


I would argue the skyshields taking off rule gives you permission. You dont believe it does so end of debate unless you want to go around in circles

Argue it then. Provide rules support.
It's not belief. It's absolute fact - the landing pad rules to not state that you can deploy a flyer outside the deployment zone, so you can't.


2 rules combined. SS can be deployed outside deployment and SS lets you start a flyer on it.

Do you want me to keep repeating that?

And which of those rules mentions ignoring normal deployment rules? I know which one allows a flyer to deploy on the board instead of Reserves, but you're also ignoring a second restriction and haven't cited a rule allowing it.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran





rigeld2 wrote:
champagne_socialist wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
champagne_socialist wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
champagne_socialist wrote:
the skyshield special rule allowing a flyer to start outside your deployment zone is a debateable poont that is never going to be proven unless GW release an errata or faq. It reminds me of the vindicare dead shot and look out sir special rule that caused a lot of debate.

It isn't even remotely the same., there is a denial of permission, and no override of this denial. You cannot do it, RAW.


I would argue the skyshields taking off rule gives you permission. You dont believe it does so end of debate unless you want to go around in circles

Argue it then. Provide rules support.
It's not belief. It's absolute fact - the landing pad rules to not state that you can deploy a flyer outside the deployment zone, so you can't.


2 rules combined. SS can be deployed outside deployment and SS lets you start a flyer on it.

Do you want me to keep repeating that?

And which of those rules mentions ignoring normal deployment rules? I know which one allows a flyer to deploy on the board instead of Reserves, but you're also ignoring a second restriction and haven't cited a rule allowing it.


But this is why this debate is just going around in circles. I believe the ready for take off rule allows you to ignore deployment rules because it lets you start a flyer on the SS and the SS can be placed anywhere in your table half. You obviously disagree so why do you keep repeating it? you disagree end of debate
   
Made in ca
Gargantuan Gargant






champagne_socialist wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
champagne_socialist wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
champagne_socialist wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
champagne_socialist wrote:
the skyshield special rule allowing a flyer to start outside your deployment zone is a debateable poont that is never going to be proven unless GW release an errata or faq. It reminds me of the vindicare dead shot and look out sir special rule that caused a lot of debate.

It isn't even remotely the same., there is a denial of permission, and no override of this denial. You cannot do it, RAW.


I would argue the skyshields taking off rule gives you permission. You dont believe it does so end of debate unless you want to go around in circles

Argue it then. Provide rules support.
It's not belief. It's absolute fact - the landing pad rules to not state that you can deploy a flyer outside the deployment zone, so you can't.


2 rules combined. SS can be deployed outside deployment and SS lets you start a flyer on it.

Do you want me to keep repeating that?

And which of those rules mentions ignoring normal deployment rules? I know which one allows a flyer to deploy on the board instead of Reserves, but you're also ignoring a second restriction and haven't cited a rule allowing it.


But this is why this debate is just going around in circles. I believe the ready for take off rule allows you to ignore deployment rules because it lets you start a flyer on the SS and the SS can be placed anywhere in your table half. You obviously disagree so why do you keep repeating it? you disagree end of debate


No, you're just trying to put up a smokescreen as to why you can't support your claims and that your opinion is as good as fact. Here's a clue, it's not. You can't even disprove his valid arguments, then why should we accept that your opinion is correct? I hope you realize that having a personal opinion does not make you right no matter how much you may believe in it, since by that logic racist opinions would acceptable.

   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran





 Grimskul wrote:
champagne_socialist wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
champagne_socialist wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
champagne_socialist wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
champagne_socialist wrote:
the skyshield special rule allowing a flyer to start outside your deployment zone is a debateable poont that is never going to be proven unless GW release an errata or faq. It reminds me of the vindicare dead shot and look out sir special rule that caused a lot of debate.

It isn't even remotely the same., there is a denial of permission, and no override of this denial. You cannot do it, RAW.


I would argue the skyshields taking off rule gives you permission. You dont believe it does so end of debate unless you want to go around in circles

Argue it then. Provide rules support.
It's not belief. It's absolute fact - the landing pad rules to not state that you can deploy a flyer outside the deployment zone, so you can't.


2 rules combined. SS can be deployed outside deployment and SS lets you start a flyer on it.

Do you want me to keep repeating that?

And which of those rules mentions ignoring normal deployment rules? I know which one allows a flyer to deploy on the board instead of Reserves, but you're also ignoring a second restriction and haven't cited a rule allowing it.


But this is why this debate is just going around in circles. I believe the ready for take off rule allows you to ignore deployment rules because it lets you start a flyer on the SS and the SS can be placed anywhere in your table half. You obviously disagree so why do you keep repeating it? you disagree end of debate


No, you're just trying to put up a smokescreen as to why you can't support your claims and that your opinion is as good as fact. Here's a clue, it's not. You can't even disprove his valid arguments, then why should we accept that your opinion is correct? I hope you realize that having a personal opinion does not make you right no matter how much you may believe in it, since by that logic racist opinions would acceptable.



My last comment got deleted. Stop following me on this website
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





champagne_socialist wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:

And which of those rules mentions ignoring normal deployment rules? I know which one allows a flyer to deploy on the board instead of Reserves, but you're also ignoring a second restriction and haven't cited a rule allowing it.


But this is why this debate is just going around in circles. I believe the ready for take off rule allows you to ignore deployment rules because it lets you start a flyer on the SS and the SS can be placed anywhere in your table half. You obviously disagree so why do you keep repeating it? you disagree end of debate

You can believe the sky is taupe - what's relevant is what you can prove.
You cannot prove that Ready for take off allows you to ignore deployment rules. I've proven it does not.
Please stop saying there's a debate here - there isn't as far as what the rules actually say.
Or rather, not an honest one.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran





rigeld2 wrote:
champagne_socialist wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:

And which of those rules mentions ignoring normal deployment rules? I know which one allows a flyer to deploy on the board instead of Reserves, but you're also ignoring a second restriction and haven't cited a rule allowing it.


But this is why this debate is just going around in circles. I believe the ready for take off rule allows you to ignore deployment rules because it lets you start a flyer on the SS and the SS can be placed anywhere in your table half. You obviously disagree so why do you keep repeating it? you disagree end of debate

You can believe the sky is taupe - what's relevant is what you can prove.
You cannot prove that Ready for take off allows you to ignore deployment rules. I've proven it does not.
Please stop saying there's a debate here - there isn't as far as what the rules actually say.
Or rather, not an honest one.


OK so you want to play the repetitive game where we keep repeating the same things, ok I can oplay that game. i did prove that the rule allows you to set up outside your deployment. SS rules lets you set it up outside your deployment and SS rules let flyers start on it. That is me proving it
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: