Switch Theme:

Who can ride in a LoW transport?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Nasty Nob






If I take a super-heavy vehicle with a transport capacity as a Lord of War choice, who can ride in it? Just units from the Primary Detachment, or any units from my force?

Also, can an Independent Character from the Allied Detachment who has joined a unit from the Primary Detatchment embark on their transports? And vice-versa?

   
Made in gb
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Englandia

I believe so, yes. The reason being, "Allied Detachment" is just that. The detachment with 1HQ, 1-2 Troops, 01 FA, HS & Elites.
Unless there's something in the escalation book (I do not own that book) or another book, I don't see why not.

If I sound like I'm being a condescending butthole, I'm not. Read my reply as neutrally as possible, please and thank you. 
   
Made in nl
Confessor Of Sins






The only exception to the normal transport rules is that they can contain more than one unit (given enough transport capacity).

So they can only contain units from the 'codex'/primary detachment they were chosen from/for.

The other option would be that they aren't a unit from that codex and thus NO unit can enter.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/02 16:30:02


Cratfworld Alaitoc (Gallery)
Order of the Red Mantle (Gallery)
Grand (little) Army of Chaos, now painting! (Blog
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






 Perfect Organism wrote:
If I take a super-heavy vehicle with a transport capacity as a Lord of War choice, who can ride in it? Just units from the Primary Detachment, or any units from my force?

With out going back to check every super heavy transport in the escalation book, I believe the datasheets for each super heavy tell you who may ride in them. For example the thunderhawk can hold up to 30 models from any number of units from any of the marines codices. So you can have a group of 20 black templars and 10 dark angels inside the same thunderhawk.

 Perfect Organism wrote:
Also, can an Independent Character from the Allied Detachment who has joined a unit from the Primary Detachment embark on their transports? And vice-versa?

Eh, this is a highly debated issue. The rules as written don't address the situations where a unit is comprised of models from different detachments so there is plenty of room to argue that technically what your proposing is OK. However the tone of the battle brothers rule leaves many people with the impression that the intent is not to allow this. Basically there is no good answer other than don't do it if you want to avoid the argument that will come from trying this in a game.


@ Ond Angel, Thats not 100% true. An inquisitorial detachment, and a dmaned detachment are both "Allied Detachments" and do not fallow that lay out. Also the design studio for GW has used the term Allied Detachment to describe any detachment fighting along side a different detachment in the same army. So you might have a primary detachment of space marines and an allied detachment of guard. The space marines can be describes as the guard's allied detachment even though they are in fact the primary detachment. The problem is that GW has a tendency to re-use terms to mean different things.

   
Made in gb
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Englandia

 DJGietzen wrote:
@ Ond Angel, Thats not 100% true. An inquisitorial detachment, and a dmaned detachment are both "Allied Detachments" and do not fallow that lay out. Also the design studio for GW has used the term Allied Detachment to describe any detachment fighting along side a different detachment in the same army. So you might have a primary detachment of space marines and an allied detachment of guard. The space marines can be describes as the guard's allied detachment even though they are in fact the primary detachment. The problem is that GW has a tendency to re-use terms to mean different things.


Ah, my mistake. I was under the impression that all other detachments were either "additional detachments" or "<insertforcename> detachment".

As for two different detachment's ICs, I would say you can. I believe the wording is an IC cannot embark upon a battle brother's transport.
If, this is correct;
 DJGietzen wrote:
For example the thunderhawk can hold up to 30 models from any number of units from any of the marines codices

Then as long as both ICs are Marines, you could.

If I sound like I'm being a condescending butthole, I'm not. Read my reply as neutrally as possible, please and thank you. 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 DJGietzen wrote:
 Perfect Organism wrote:
If I take a super-heavy vehicle with a transport capacity as a Lord of War choice, who can ride in it? Just units from the Primary Detachment, or any units from my force?

With out going back to check every super heavy transport in the escalation book, I believe the datasheets for each super heavy tell you who may ride in them. For example the thunderhawk can hold up to 30 models from any number of units from any of the marines codices. So you can have a group of 20 black templars and 10 dark angels inside the same thunderhawk


I disagree with this. This is a restriction, but it isn't the *only* restriction.
It still can't transport a MC, or a dreadnaught, etc.
WIthout another specific rule, it would not be able to transport bikes.

The Ally rules say that Battle Brothers can't ride in each others transports. Nothing in the THawk rules overrides that.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: