Switch Theme:

Transports-disembarking and embarking  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot






Newcastle, NSW ,Australia

If I have a unit in a transport that disembarks, can another unit then embark on the now empty transport in the same turn?
Also can a unit disembark from a vehicle then embark on a different vehicle in the same turn?

For The Greater Good - Desert Tau Painting Blog!
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/670437.page#8273427
Chaos Space Marines 4100 Points
Tau Empire 3000 Points

Blood For The Blood God !!!
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Page 78 Embarking and Disembarking answers your questions.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in au
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot






Newcastle, NSW ,Australia

Ok but nothing stops a unit from embarking onto a transport that has just had a unit disembark off it

For The Greater Good - Desert Tau Painting Blog!
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/670437.page#8273427
Chaos Space Marines 4100 Points
Tau Empire 3000 Points

Blood For The Blood God !!!
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 IXLoiero95XI wrote:
Ok but nothing stops a unit from embarking onto a transport that has just had a unit disembark off it

And there is your answer to Question #1

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut






it seems you're right, actually. I was picking the rulebook up to find the exact location of the quote (and in my infinite wisdom, was looking in the index for what page I might find "page 78" on) and I can't find anything that says that you can't.
I've also noticed you can move a vehicle normally if you embark onto it, wheras I always thought you could only move 6". must have been an old rule stuck in my mind. this makes donated dedicated transports much better, as you can embark, move 12" and flat out.

my burnas are going to have a hayday!

12,300 points of Orks
9th W/D/L with Orks, 4/0/2
I am Thoruk, the Barbarian, Slayer of Ducks, and This is my blog!

I'm Selling Infinity, 40k, dystopian wars, UK based!

I also make designs for t-shirts and mugs and such on Redbubble! 
   
Made in us
Krazy Grot Kutta Driva




Littleton

 some bloke wrote:
it seems you're right, actually. I was picking the rulebook up to find the exact location of the quote (and in my infinite wisdom, was looking in the index for what page I might find "page 78" on) and I can't find anything that says that you can't.
I've also noticed you can move a vehicle normally if you embark onto it, wheras I always thought you could only move 6". must have been an old rule stuck in my mind. this makes donated dedicated transports much better, as you can embark, move 12" and flat out.

my burnas are going to have a hayday!


Its a good tactic, just remember since burnas cant snap fire you would not be allowed to shoot them any turn you move over 6 inches in a vehicle.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/05/09 13:39:53


 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

As for number 2, there is an interesting word within the Restriction on disembarking then re-embarking: Voluntarily...
In theory, the Unit could disembark from a transport that wrecks itself on terrain before embarking into another Transport and continue along their way....

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/05/09 20:11:03


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

JinxDragon wrote:
As for number 2, there is an interesting word within the Restriction on disembarking then re-embarking: Voluntarily...
In theory, the Unit could disembark from a transport that wrecks itself on terrain before embarking into another Transport and continue along their way....

Page 78 even specifically mentions forced to disembark if their Transport is destroyed, so this is covered. (Albeit not in the order you presented, but it is covered).

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

You are right, I did it in reverse for some reason:
First you embark them, then move normally, wreck and then disembark.

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: