Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/13 03:15:33
Subject: Techmarines and HQs
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
|
The Marine book says, under Techmarines, "For each HQ choice in your army (not including blah blah blah) you may include a Techmarine. These selections do not use up a Force Org slot."
Can I, RAW, take a SM Techmarine in my GK army, without taking any other part of an allied detachment? I will definitely have a GK HQ choice in my army.
Note that, directly above that quote, the Master of the Forge's "Lord of the Armoury" entry refers to "detachments," not "armies." So they clearly know the difference between the words.
|
LVO 2017 - Best GK Player
The Grimdark Future 8500 1500  6000 2000 5000
"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/13 04:02:40
Subject: Re:Techmarines and HQs
|
 |
Hellish Haemonculus
|
RAW, yes, you can do that. But RAW the Sanguine Sword psychic power never ends, and Flying Monstrous Creatures don't get Relentless or Smash.
Bottom line is that I don't think it would be very reasonable to play it that way.
Good catch. I'll check the wording just to make sure I'm not talking out of my butt, but I'll add that to my 'list of RAW no one plays by.'
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/05/13 04:03:31
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/13 04:56:14
Subject: Techmarines and HQs
|
 |
Tea-Kettle of Blood
Adelaide, South Australia
|
Yes you can, but if it's wearing a helmet it is unable to draw line of sight, and thus cannot make shooting attacks or declare assaults.
|
Ailaros wrote:You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.
"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/13 06:32:57
Subject: Re:Techmarines and HQs
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
The Imperial Guard FAQ had an entry stating that units that didn't use a slot couldn't count as mandatory choices for the FOC.
Obviously, that FAQ is out of date now, and I don't think it was expressed anywhere else, but it may show up in 7th before you rush into anything.
I would say you would at least need an allied Troop unit too, the "...for each HQ in your army..." is a restriction IMO rather than an allowance to ignore other restrictions.
Though I'm confused as to why you would want to, GK can take their own techmarines (who get grenades too)?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/13 06:53:05
Subject: Techmarines and HQs
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
No you can not as the Techmarine Entry is referring to Space Marine HQ choices.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/13 06:58:41
Subject: Techmarines and HQs
|
 |
Boom! Leman Russ Commander
|
PrinceRaven wrote:Yes you can, but if it's wearing a helmet it is unable to draw line of sight, and thus cannot make shooting attacks or declare assaults.
I giggled
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/13 09:09:33
Subject: Techmarines and HQs
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
DeathReaper wrote:No you can not as the Techmarine Entry is referring to Space Marine HQ choices.
I am also wondering by what rule that is based on. It is not the GK book that offers the chance to have the techmarine, but the SM book that is not even used.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/13 12:01:52
Subject: Techmarines and HQs
|
 |
Boom! Leman Russ Commander
|
what do you mean, NAW?
there's a use for the SM techmarine. He's just only really useful in a guard army
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/13 12:10:39
Subject: Techmarines and HQs
|
 |
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar
|
The Techmarine is from a different codex therefore it is from an allied detachment. Do you have the mandatory 1 HQ + 2 Troops for your allies? If not, then no, you cannot take a techmarine from the SM codex to use with your GK detachment.
There are multiple rules in play there.
Of course, this *may* all change in a couple of weeks with 7th edition.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/13 15:41:09
Subject: Techmarines and HQs
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
|
Rorschach9 wrote:The Techmarine is from a different codex therefore it is from an allied detachment. Do you have the mandatory 1 HQ + 2 Troops for your allies? If not, then no, you cannot take a techmarine from the SM codex to use with your GK detachment.
Allies need only 1 Troop, and may have up to two Troops.
My question has nothing to do with Allies, since the Techmarine entry only specifies that it requires an HQ choice to use. Well, a Hive Tyrant is an HQ choice.
I suppose the next question would be: Can someone find somewhere, in a Codex or the BRB, that states I may not take units from another codex? Because 2 Techmarines with 3 Servitors each, in the backfield of an AM army, healing all the tanks, would be pretty great, not to mention the two bolstered pieces of terrain--all for less than 200pts!
|
LVO 2017 - Best GK Player
The Grimdark Future 8500 1500  6000 2000 5000
"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/13 15:45:29
Subject: Techmarines and HQs
|
 |
Krazy Grot Kutta Driva
Littleton
|
Elric Greywolf wrote:Rorschach9 wrote:The Techmarine is from a different codex therefore it is from an allied detachment. Do you have the mandatory 1 HQ + 2 Troops for your allies? If not, then no, you cannot take a techmarine from the SM codex to use with your GK detachment.
Allies need only 1 Troop, and may have up to two Troops.
My question has nothing to do with Allies, since the Techmarine entry only specifies that it requires an HQ choice to use. Well, a Hive Tyrant is an HQ choice.
I suppose the next question would be: Can someone find somewhere, in a Codex or the BRB, that states I may not take units from another codex? Because 2 Techmarines with 3 Servitors each, in the backfield of an AM army, healing all the tanks, would be pretty great, not to mention the two bolstered pieces of terrain--all for less than 200pts!
Interesting, so my Tyranid army could take techmarines per RAW is that what you are asking\saying?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/13 15:59:25
Subject: Techmarines and HQs
|
 |
Tea-Kettle of Blood
Adelaide, South Australia
|
Page 109 - "All of the units in your primary detachment must be chosen from the same codex."
|
Ailaros wrote:You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.
"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/13 16:00:53
Subject: Techmarines and HQs
|
 |
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar
|
Elric Greywolf wrote:Rorschach9 wrote:The Techmarine is from a different codex therefore it is from an allied detachment. Do you have the mandatory 1 HQ + 2 Troops for your allies? If not, then no, you cannot take a techmarine from the SM codex to use with your GK detachment.
Allies need only 1 Troop, and may have up to two Troops.
Type, my mistake. Still does not change the fact that you are taking units from ANOTHER codex (= allies)
My question has nothing to do with Allies, since the Techmarine entry only specifies that it requires an HQ choice to use. Well, a Hive Tyrant is an HQ choice.
I suppose the next question would be: Can someone find somewhere, in a Codex or the BRB, that states I may not take units from another codex? Because 2 Techmarines with 3 Servitors each, in the backfield of an AM army, healing all the tanks, would be pretty great, not to mention the two bolstered pieces of terrain--all for less than 200pts!
Page 109 - "All of the units in your primary detachment must be chosen from the same codex."
Your question has everything to do with allies as that is the only way to take units from another codex.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/13 16:01:52
Subject: Techmarines and HQs
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Elric Greywolf wrote: Can someone find somewhere, in a Codex or the BRB, that states I may not take units from another codex? Primary detachments, BRB page 109, first bolded sentence. Because 2 Techmarines with 3 Servitors each, in the backfield of an AM army, healing all the tanks, would be pretty great, not to mention the two bolstered pieces of terrain--all for less than 200pts! Techmarines can never repair AM tanks per the Rule-changing BRB FAQ. But you do know you can do exactly the same thing with Enginseers right? And 20 points cheaper coming with the power axe, and the ability to give tanks PotMS
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/05/13 16:05:12
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/13 16:03:09
Subject: Techmarines and HQs
|
 |
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity
|
Well, if you're choosing Astra Militarum as your Primary Detachment, then you select models from Codex: Astra Militarum. If you wish to add units from another Codex, have a read through the Allies rules. You'll find that adding units from another Codex requires that you A. obey the Allied Detachment Force Org Chart and B. obey the Allies Chart.
Adding a Techmarine obeys the Allies Chart, but not the Force Org requirement.
I think a RAW argument could be made for taking AM as primary with SM as secondary... have a total of 3 HQS (2x AM and 1x SM) which would allow for 6 Techmarines.
HIWPI... I think it's pretty straightforward that the Techmarines attach only to SM HQs. I would not play it any other way.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/13 16:03:43
Subject: Techmarines and HQs
|
 |
Krazy Grot Kutta Driva
Littleton
|
PrinceRaven wrote:Page 109 - "All of the units in your primary detachment must be chosen from the same codex."
AHH thanks PR....
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/13 16:43:04
Subject: Techmarines and HQs
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Naw wrote: DeathReaper wrote:No you can not as the Techmarine Entry is referring to Space Marine HQ choices.
I am also wondering by what rule that is based on. It is not the GK book that offers the chance to have the techmarine, but the SM book that is not even used.
as many have said before
Primary detachments, BRB page 109, first bolded sentence.
Also, the Techmarine Entry, in the context of its own codex, is referring to Space Marine HQ choices.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/13 21:22:24
Subject: Techmarines and HQs
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
DeathReaper,
While the Author most likely intended it to be Codex specific, the use of the term Your Army was a poor decision as that term means the entire thing and not just one codex....
|
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/13 21:41:09
Subject: Techmarines and HQs
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
|
And while it does look like you'd have to take SM Allies to get any Techmarines at all, as soon as you do have SM Allies (ie. 1 HQ and 1 Troop), you can get at least two Techs--one for the Allied HQ, and one for the Primary HQ.
|
LVO 2017 - Best GK Player
The Grimdark Future 8500 1500  6000 2000 5000
"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/13 21:49:04
Subject: Techmarines and HQs
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Rorschach9 wrote:The Techmarine is from a different codex therefore it is from an allied detachment. Do you have the mandatory 1 HQ + 2 Troops for your allies? If not, then no, you cannot take a techmarine from the SM codex to use with your GK detachment.
There are multiple rules in play there.
Of course, this *may* all change in a couple of weeks with 7th edition.
Yes, pretty much by the 21st this will be a discussion about whether or not this composition counts as battle-forged or unbound.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/13 22:02:15
Subject: Techmarines and HQs
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Elric Greywolf wrote:And while it does look like you'd have to take SM Allies to get any Techmarines at all, as soon as you do have SM Allies (ie. 1 HQ and 1 Troop), you can get at least two Techs--one for the Allied HQ, and one for the Primary HQ.
That still doesn't fix them not being allowed to repair allied vehicles.
Technically if you took a marine-marine allied list you need to keep the techmarines separate as they cannot repair vehicles from the other FOC.
From the rule book FAQ:
Q: Can models from an Allied Detachment that have the ability to
repair Hull Points or Immobilised/Weapon Destroyed results from
the Vehicle Damage Table use this ability on Allied vehicles? (p112)
A: No.
Then again I guess technically it's the allied techmarine that can't repair vehicles from the main detachment. The techmarines in the main detachment can repair vehicles from the allied detachment. The restriction is only on "models from an Allied Detachment" and not from the primary detachment.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/13 23:00:41
Subject: Techmarines and HQs
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
JinxDragon wrote:DeathReaper,
While the Author most likely intended it to be Codex specific, the use of the term Your Army was a poor decision as that term means the entire thing and not just one codex....
Actually "Your Army" has two definitions.
In the Codexes they refer to "Your Army" as the one selected from that codex.
In the BRB "Your Army" is the combination of Primary and secondary detachments, and any allied or extra detachments such as The Inquisition extra detachment that may be present within the army.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/13 23:42:50
Subject: Techmarines and HQs
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Deathreaper, The Authors use the terminology of "Codex's Army' when Restricting certain Rules to models from a specific Codex. The strongest piece of evidence for this concept is within the Farsight Enclave Supplement, which under went errata specifically designed to replace 'Your Army' with 'A Far-sight Enclave' within certain Rules. As that is the only change they made to the Rules in question, it is really difficult to argue that the Authors intended for 'Your Army' and 'Codex's Army' to be interchangeable. One such Rule change reduced an 'Your Army' wide restriction to one Codex specific, allowing two otherwise illegal models to now be fielded within a Tau-Farsight allied combination.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2014/05/13 23:55:22
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/14 00:00:59
Subject: Re:Techmarines and HQs
|
 |
Hellish Haemonculus
|
In addition, the 6th ed FAQ for the Blood Angels codex altered some 'your army' rules to be codex-specific while leaving others as-is (in one case doing both on a single model's rules). That was the biggest indicator to me that 'your army' was not interchangeable with 'this codex.'
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/05/14 00:01:38
|
|
 |
 |
|