Switch Theme:

Does Possession still manifest if the caster dies due to perils, or is resurrected with Warp Tether?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Trustworthy Shas'vre






If a model attempting to manifest Possession kills itself via Perils of the Warp, does that stop Possession from successfully summoning a Greater Daemon?
Relevant rules:

7th Edition Rulebook wrote:Malefic Daemonology: 6 - Possession
Possession is a conjuration with a range of 6" that creates one of the following new units (your choice): 1 Bloodthirster, 1 Lord of Change, 1 Great Unclean One or 1 Keeper of Secrets. Rules for these units can be found in Codex: Chaos Daemons. If this power is successfully manifested, the Psyker is immediately removed as a casualty...


7th Edition Rulebook wrote:Manifesting Psychic Powers Sequence
5. Resolve Psychic Power. Assuming the Psychic test was passed and the power was not negated by a successful Deny the Witch test, it is now resolved.


7th Edition Rulebook wrote:Manifesting Psychic Powers Sequence
Note that suffering Perils of the Warp does not necessarily mean that a psychic power fails to manifest. Assuming that the Psychic test was successful and any Deny the Witch test failed, the psychic power still manifests, regardless of whether or not the Psyker in question suffers a Wound or is slain by Perils of the Warp


A possible interpretation is that, because the psyker is killed, the clause in Possession saying that the caster should be removed as a casualty cannot be fulfilled, therefore the new Greater Daemon cannot be summoned. Personally I think that these are two separate effects of the spell, rather than necessarily a requirement to be completed before the new Daemon can appear.


Also.
If a Daemon with the Exalted Gift 'Warp Tether' dies due to perils while manifesting possession, does it enter ongoing reserves?
Relevant rule,
Codex: Chaos Daemons wrote:Warp Tether
The first time the Daemon is slain it is not removed from play as a casualty, but instead is removed from the battlefield. [...]. The Daemon is then placed in ongoing reserve with a single Wound remaining. ...

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/05/26 14:34:02


 
   
Made in im
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot





all seems legit to me on the face value.

and incredibly over sighted!
   
Made in gb
Nasty Nob






I'm pretty sure that the psyker's death doesn't stop the greater daemon from showing up. Removing the psyker as a casualty happens after deploying the GD, so even if he's already dead, that step doesn't affect the conjuration.

Warp Tether should allow a model which is 'removed as a casualty' to come back. It doesn't specify 'reduced to 0 wounds' or anything similar, so it seems to apply to any effect which kills or removes the daemon.

   
Made in au
Trustworthy Shas'vre






Warp Tether does specify 'slain', which could be different than 'removed as a casualty'...
   
Made in us
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration





The way I read this:
Psyker conjures possession. New model is placed within 6" of the psyker. Psyker is then removed. Perils doesn't matter here because the psyker is already gone.

Possession doesn't say the new model takes the place of the psyker. Just that a new model appears. So perils doesn't impact it, just the now nonexistent psyker.

If that psyker has warp tether, then yes it goes into ongoing reserves instead of being completely toasted. The possesion rule says the psyker is removed as a causality. The tether rules says "instead of being removed as a causality".

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/05/26 18:29:34


------------------
"Why me?" Gideon begged, falling to his knees.
"Why not?" - Asdrubael Vect 
   
Made in us
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus





Perils resolves before the power, I would think if he dies due to peris before step 5, the power no longer has a valid target and doesnt go off.

3000
4000 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: