Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/28 19:07:05
Subject: Kharn Says FU Psychic Phase
|
 |
Horrific Howling Banshee
Barrie, ON
|
am I reading this right? Since he didn't get errata'd, he provides a 2+ board wide DtW to EVERYTHING? In the BRB it says you can't modify the 6 needed to DtW on anything that doesn't directly target you; but guess what, the RAW entry in the CSM codex isn't a modifier...
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2014/05/28 19:24:12
...that big sanction stamp of APPROVAL means it's OFFICIAL. No, I don't have to ask you for permission. D-cannons win games.
2000+
2000+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/28 19:29:53
Subject: Kharn Says FU Psychic Phase
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
LinkXx wrote:am I reading this right? Since he didn't get errata'd, he provides a 2+ board wide DtW to EVERYTHING?
No. He provides a 2+ DtW against psychic powers that target him. There is nothing that suggests that this would apply to powers that target a different unit, or that don't target a unit.
... the RAW entry in the CSM codex isn't a modifier...
Based on what?
It is modifying the result needed to succeed.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/28 19:34:27
Subject: Kharn Says FU Psychic Phase
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Actually on page 8 of the BRB under modifiers it does say that a set value is a modifier and if you are trying to deny a power you are not a target of you do not get any modifiers so Kharn still deny's blessing and conjurations on 6's
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/28 19:36:57
Subject: Kharn Says FU Psychic Phase
|
 |
Novice Knight Errant Pilot
|
Boy, what a guy, that Kharn!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/28 19:47:07
Subject: Kharn Says FU Psychic Phase
|
 |
Horrific Howling Banshee
Barrie, ON
|
Kaela_Mensha_Khaine wrote:Actually on page 8 of the BRB under modifiers it does say that a set value is a modifier and if you are trying to deny a power you are not a target of you do not get any modifiers so Kharn still deny's blessing and conjurations on 6's
thank the lawd! My buddy has the BRB, so I was just going with what I remembered from the short time I had with the book. Automatically Appended Next Post: insaniak wrote:LinkXx wrote:am I reading this right? Since he didn't get errata'd, he provides a 2+ board wide DtW to EVERYTHING?
No. He provides a 2+ DtW against psychic powers that target him. There is nothing that suggests that this would apply to powers that target a different unit, or that don't target a unit.
... the RAW entry in the CSM codex isn't a modifier...
Based on what?
It is modifying the result needed to succeed.
and if this hadn't been defined in the BRB already, I'd argue that it's not modifying, but rather replacing the number which is needed to succeed. Setting an entirely new value.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/05/28 19:53:02
...that big sanction stamp of APPROVAL means it's OFFICIAL. No, I don't have to ask you for permission. D-cannons win games.
2000+
2000+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/28 19:57:49
Subject: Kharn Says FU Psychic Phase
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
LinkXx wrote:and if this hadn't been defined in the BRB already, I'd argue that it's not modifying, but rather replacing the number which is needed to succeed. Setting an entirely new value.
If the value is now different to what it was, it has been modified.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/28 20:02:54
Subject: Re:Kharn Says FU Psychic Phase
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Set values are most definitley defined in the BRB as modifiers.
also there's a thread already on this subject:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/596975.page
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/28 20:07:32
Subject: Kharn Says FU Psychic Phase
|
 |
Nurgle Veteran Marine with the Flu
|
Kaela_Mensha_Khaine wrote:Actually on page 8 of the BRB under modifiers it does say that a set value is a modifier and if you are trying to deny a power you are not a target of you do not get any modifiers so Kharn still deny's blessing and conjurations on 6's
That section of the BRB is discussing Characteristic values. DTW is not a characteristic so that section of the rules does not support that Kharns 2+ DTW is a modifier.
However the BRB does also state that if the power does not target a unit no bonuses or modifiers can be used. Kharns 2+ DTW is a bonus from a special rule so you still need 6's to deny. Just like some Grey Knight units get a bonus to re-roll failed DTW from the Aegis special rule which they can't use when attempting to deny enemy blessings etc.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/28 20:12:34
Subject: Kharn Says FU Psychic Phase
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
Tonberry7 wrote:Kaela_Mensha_Khaine wrote:Actually on page 8 of the BRB under modifiers it does say that a set value is a modifier and if you are trying to deny a power you are not a target of you do not get any modifiers so Kharn still deny's blessing and conjurations on 6's
That section of the BRB is discussing Characteristic values. DTW is not a characteristic so that section of the rules does not support that Kharns 2+ DTW is a modifier.
However the BRB does also state that if the power does not target a unit no bonuses or modifiers can be used. Kharns 2+ DTW is a bonus from a special rule so you still need 6's to deny. Just like some Grey Knight units get a bonus to re-roll failed DTW from the Aegis special rule which they can't use when attempting to deny enemy blessings etc.
Does the blessing paragraph say bonuses and modifiers, or just modifiers?
|
3000
4000 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/28 20:12:53
Subject: Kharn Says FU Psychic Phase
|
 |
Rampaging Carnifex
|
Tonberry7 wrote:Kaela_Mensha_Khaine wrote:Actually on page 8 of the BRB under modifiers it does say that a set value is a modifier and if you are trying to deny a power you are not a target of you do not get any modifiers so Kharn still deny's blessing and conjurations on 6's
That section of the BRB is discussing Characteristic values. DTW is not a characteristic so that section of the rules does not support that Kharns 2+ DTW is a modifier.
However the BRB does also state that if the power does not target a unit no bonuses or modifiers can be used. Kharns 2+ DTW is a bonus from a special rule so you still need 6's to deny. Just like some Grey Knight units get a bonus to re-roll failed DTW from the Aegis special rule which they can't use when attempting to deny enemy blessings etc.
It does not say this. The BRB only states that modifiers can not be used.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/28 21:26:08
Subject: Kharn Says FU Psychic Phase
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
Kharn's rule states that he and his unit pass Deny tests on a 2+. The only permission we have for a specific unit to attempt a Deny test is if that unit is being targeted.
Kharn's unit isn't being targeted by Blessings and Conjurations, so he can't be the one to roll a Deny test.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/28 21:43:36
Subject: Kharn Says FU Psychic Phase
|
 |
Nurgle Veteran Marine with the Flu
|
Zimko wrote: Tonberry7 wrote:Kaela_Mensha_Khaine wrote:Actually on page 8 of the BRB under modifiers it does say that a set value is a modifier and if you are trying to deny a power you are not a target of you do not get any modifiers so Kharn still deny's blessing and conjurations on 6's
That section of the BRB is discussing Characteristic values. DTW is not a characteristic so that section of the rules does not support that Kharns 2+ DTW is a modifier.
However the BRB does also state that if the power does not target a unit no bonuses or modifiers can be used. Kharns 2+ DTW is a bonus from a special rule so you still need 6's to deny. Just like some Grey Knight units get a bonus to re-roll failed DTW from the Aegis special rule which they can't use when attempting to deny enemy blessings etc.
It does not say this. The BRB only states that modifiers can not be used.
The table entitled "Manifesting Psychic Powers Sequence" clearly states bonuses can't be used under Step 4 - Deny the Witch. I'd argue that special rules such as Blessing of the Blood God or the Aegis are giving you a clear bonus to your DTW attempt.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/28 21:44:39
Subject: Kharn Says FU Psychic Phase
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
So we have two conflicting rules then?
|
3000
4000 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/28 23:01:54
Subject: Kharn Says FU Psychic Phase
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/28 23:07:18
Subject: Kharn Says FU Psychic Phase
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
I think we do.
Within the rulebook, two quotes, we have "...but will not be able to use any bonuses."
another says "...but apply no modifiers to your dice rolls."
I'd describe the Aegis as a bonus, and Kharns rule as both a bonus and modifier.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/05/28 23:08:35
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/28 23:14:08
Subject: Kharn Says FU Psychic Phase
|
 |
Screaming Shining Spear
|
grendel083 wrote:I think we do.
Within the rulebook, two quotes, we have "...but will not be able to use any bonuses."
another says "...but apply no modifiers to your dice rolls."
I'd describe the Aegis as a bonus, and Kharns rule as both a bonus and modifier.
I still don't think it maters. Kharn only gets his rule if he (or his unit) is making the deny roll. That can only happen if he is first targeted, which a Blessing or Conjuration cannot do.
|
4000 points: Craftworld Mymeara |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/28 23:17:24
Subject: Kharn Says FU Psychic Phase
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
extremefreak17 wrote:I still don't think it maters. Kharn only gets his rule if he (or his unit) is making the deny roll. That can only happen if he is first targeted, which a Blessing or Conjuration cannot do.
Oh don't get me wrong, I totally agree there!
It would just be nice to have some consistency, and if it said "no bonuses" in all places, then there would be far less confusion and threads like this popping up.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/28 23:25:37
Subject: Kharn Says FU Psychic Phase
|
 |
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration
|
@grendel083: No, the confusion would go away if people would read the book. The psychic phase is one of the clearest bit of writing GW has done to date.
Regarding "bonuses" or "modifiers" GW plainly states in the beginning of the book that rules which set a value are "set modifiers". But, again, that doesn't even matter. Was Kharn targetted? No? Then he isn't the one denying the witch.
|
------------------
"Why me?" Gideon begged, falling to his knees.
"Why not?" - Asdrubael Vect |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/28 23:53:03
Subject: Kharn Says FU Psychic Phase
|
 |
Khorne Chosen Marine Riding a Juggernaut
|
extremefreak17 wrote: grendel083 wrote:I think we do.
Within the rulebook, two quotes, we have "...but will not be able to use any bonuses."
another says "...but apply no modifiers to your dice rolls."
I'd describe the Aegis as a bonus, and Kharns rule as both a bonus and modifier.
I still don't think it maters. Kharn only gets his rule if he (or his unit) is making the deny roll. That can only happen if he is first targeted, which a Blessing or Conjuration cannot do.
Kharn feels targeted and threaten by Conjurations and Blessings, they are bad bad stuff for Kharn, so Kharn denies them, and if you are not happy, Kharn denies your life with Gorechild, see?, works out perfectly well.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/29 13:00:56
Subject: Kharn Says FU Psychic Phase
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
clively wrote:@grendel083: No, the confusion would go away if people would read the book. The psychic phase is one of the clearest bit of writing GW has done to date.
HAHAHHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHA
Oh wait - were you serious?
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/01 15:17:59
Subject: Kharn Says FU Psychic Phase
|
 |
Mutated Chosen Chaos Marine
*bursts though room with axe* HEEEAAARRRS JHONNY!!!
|
Slayer le boucher wrote: extremefreak17 wrote: grendel083 wrote:I think we do.
Within the rulebook, two quotes, we have "...but will not be able to use any bonuses."
another says "...but apply no modifiers to your dice rolls."
I'd describe the Aegis as a bonus, and Kharns rule as both a bonus and modifier.
I still don't think it maters. Kharn only gets his rule if he (or his unit) is making the deny roll. That can only happen if he is first targeted, which a Blessing or Conjuration cannot do.
Kharn feels targeted and threaten by Conjurations and Blessings, they are bad bad stuff for Kharn, so Kharn denies them, and if you are not happy, Kharn denies your life with Gorechild, see?, works out perfectly well.
This.
|
Night Lords (40k): 3500pts
Klan Zaw Klan: 4000pts
Whatever you use.. It's Cheesy, broken and OP |
|
 |
 |
|