Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/31 14:34:08
Subject: Banner/Radius effects while embarked in transport
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Anyone know where Banner/Radius effects like Banner of Devastation or Shrouding Telepathy power is covered in the BRB 7ed? There is no mention of the power radiating from the hull of the transport vehicle, in fact the only mention I could find is psychic hoods only functioning for the embarked unit and its transport. This could have huge ramifications for LD bubbles like Ethereals, Commissars, etc..
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/31 22:10:26
Subject: Banner/Radius effects while embarked in transport
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
as far as I'm aware, area of effect things still are measured from the vehicles hull. so kustom force fields and ethereal extra shots still increase in range from vehicles.
oh, and until the next codex, orks have some new tricks there. I can cast the 9" nova power from my battlefortress now, and hit a quarter of the battlefield. bet you lot wish you had open topped now, eh?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/01 00:13:13
Subject: Banner/Radius effects while embarked in transport
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Glocknall wrote:Anyone know where Banner/Radius effects like Banner of Devastation or Shrouding Telepathy power is covered in the BRB 7ed? There is no mention of the power radiating from the hull of the transport vehicle, in fact the only mention I could find is psychic hoods only functioning for the embarked unit and its transport. This could have huge ramifications for LD bubbles like Ethereals, Commissars, etc..
You are correct, there is no permission to use the hull of a transport when measuring from an embarked model. RAW it seems that while the unit is embarked you cannot measure distances from it.
some bloke wrote:as far as I'm aware, area of effect things still are measured from the vehicles hull. so kustom force fields and ethereal extra shots still increase in range from vehicles.
oh, and until the next codex, orks have some new tricks there. I can cast the 9" nova power from my battlefortress now, and hit a quarter of the battlefield. bet you lot wish you had open topped now, eh?
Its a permissive ruleset. You need permission to measure from the hull and as far as I can tell there is none. You can manifest a nova from within a transport/building but you measure the range from the fire point. If you manifest a nova in an open-topped vehicle you pick a point on the hull and measure from there. I don't see how a 9" power can hit something more then 9" from the point it was fired.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2014/06/01 00:14:49
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/01 00:16:58
Subject: Banner/Radius effects while embarked in transport
|
 |
Never Forget Isstvan!
|
acctually you cant even use nova's if your embarked.
Only wichfires can be used while embarked now.
|
JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/01 00:28:06
Subject: Banner/Radius effects while embarked in transport
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Eihnlazer wrote:acctually you cant even use nova's if your embarked.
Only wichfires can be used while embarked now.
And Novas are a sub-type of Witchfires.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/01 00:45:05
Subject: Banner/Radius effects while embarked in transport
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
There is permission to use the hull.
From Embarking first paragraph, last few sentences: "When the unit embarks, remove it from the table and place it aside, making a note that the unit is being transported. If the players need to measure a range involving the embarked unit (except for its shooting), this range is measured to or from the vehicle’s hull."
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/01 00:51:00
Subject: Banner/Radius effects while embarked in transport
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
DJGietzen wrote:Glocknall wrote:Anyone know where Banner/Radius effects like Banner of Devastation or Shrouding Telepathy power is covered in the BRB 7ed? There is no mention of the power radiating from the hull of the transport vehicle, in fact the only mention I could find is psychic hoods only functioning for the embarked unit and its transport. This could have huge ramifications for LD bubbles like Ethereals, Commissars, etc..
You are correct, there is no permission to use the hull of a transport when measuring from an embarked model. RAW it seems that while the unit is embarked you cannot measure distances from it.
Under 'Embarking' they tell us to measure from the vehicle's hull if you need to measure anything involving the embarked unit.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/01 01:50:22
Subject: Re:Banner/Radius effects while embarked in transport
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
oh good. I'm glad I missed that.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/01 02:04:20
Subject: Banner/Radius effects while embarked in transport
|
 |
Killer Klaivex
Oceanside, CA
|
Happyjew wrote:Eihnlazer wrote:acctually you cant even use nova's if your embarked.
Only wichfires can be used while embarked now.
And Novas are a sub-type of Witchfires.
Wow, I totally missed that. So you can cast Beams and Novas, along with Focus Witchfires.
Interesting, that makes those dirt cheap daemon hunter psykers that much better.
So now the rhinos can flat out and still toss out an 18" line of S6 strikedown hits.
-Matt
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/01 03:06:54
Subject: Banner/Radius effects while embarked in transport
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
HawaiiMatt wrote: Happyjew wrote:Eihnlazer wrote:acctually you cant even use nova's if your embarked.
Only wichfires can be used while embarked now.
And Novas are a sub-type of Witchfires.
Wow, I totally missed that. So you can cast Beams and Novas, along with Focus Witchfires.
Interesting, that makes those dirt cheap daemon hunter psykers that much better.
So now the rhinos can flat out and still toss out an 18" line of S6 strikedown hits.
-Matt
No, they can't(exactly).
Beams and novas are shooting attacks that do not roll to hit, therefore cannot be made as Snap Shots(which witchfire powers do). So if your transport moves over 6" you cannot manifest a beam or Nova power.
Then they cannot move flat out and then manifest a power because the flat out movement happens in the shooting phase and the psychic phase comes before the movement phase(you may flat out after casting the power though)
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/03 14:24:15
Subject: Banner/Radius effects while embarked in transport
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
insaniak wrote: DJGietzen wrote:Glocknall wrote:Anyone know where Banner/Radius effects like Banner of Devastation or Shrouding Telepathy power is covered in the BRB 7ed? There is no mention of the power radiating from the hull of the transport vehicle, in fact the only mention I could find is psychic hoods only functioning for the embarked unit and its transport. This could have huge ramifications for LD bubbles like Ethereals, Commissars, etc..
You are correct, there is no permission to use the hull of a transport when measuring from an embarked model. RAW it seems that while the unit is embarked you cannot measure distances from it.
Under 'Embarking' they tell us to measure from the vehicle's hull if you need to measure anything involving the embarked unit.
Ah thank's for that find. Not worded expressly but its a hell of a lot better than nothing
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/03 14:32:38
Subject: Banner/Radius effects while embarked in transport
|
 |
Sadistic Inquisitorial Excruciator
|
Anyone know how big a Stormlord is?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/03 14:40:42
Subject: Banner/Radius effects while embarked in transport
|
 |
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration
|
Same size as a baneblade
|
------------------
"Why me?" Gideon begged, falling to his knees.
"Why not?" - Asdrubael Vect |
|
 |
 |
|