Switch Theme:

Icon of Chaos while embarked in Land Raider?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Savage Khorne Berserker Biker





Battle brothers can now embark in each other's transports.

Scenario: A unit of daemons, let's say Bloodletters, are equipped with an Icon of Chaos and embarked in the Land Raider of a CSM allied detachment.

Question: Does the Icon of Chaos work while they are embarked?

Daemons Codex p.64:

...if the first model from a friendly unit arriving by Deep Strike is placed within 6" of at least one model with an Icon of Chaos, the following rules apply...


Since the model with the icon is embarked in the transport, I would argue (as the Daemon player, so obviously) that the effect is in play and deep striking daemons of the same alignment can pop down without scattering.

The rule doesn't specify that the effect is nullified if the wielder is embarked in a transport. However, at the time this codex was written, Daemons didn't have the option of being embarked in non-apocalypse games. The word "model" must be specified, because it is not the unit wielding the icon, but a single model of the unit.

Is the model not still "there" where the transport is, philosophically? If we were able, we would open the Land Raider door, shove in 10 models, and then move the transport around the table.

Thanks for your consideration. I hope I formatted this post properly and provided the right details. Please let me know what you think.

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2014/06/01 16:10:48


 
   
Made in ca
Enigmatic Chaos Sorcerer





British Columbia

I think it works as we are told to measure from the hull for effects from the embarked unit other than shooting.

The only point of contention would be as you said the fact this wasn't a possibility when the book was written. So without a FaQ specifically detailing any exceptions it looks fine to me.

 BlaxicanX wrote:
A young business man named Tom Kirby, who was a pupil of mine until he turned greedy, helped the capitalists hunt down and destroy the wargamers. He betrayed and murdered Games Workshop.


 
   
Made in be
Longtime Dakkanaut




I don't know where exactly, but I do remember there being a rule that deamons can never embark on transports from other armies.

You don't have to be happy when you lose, just don't make winning the condition of your happiness.  
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Not that I am aware of.
   
Made in us
Savage Khorne Berserker Biker





The only prohibitive rule that I'm aware of us "Daemonic Alignment" which states:

Daemons can only join units that are composed entirely of Daemons of the same alignment as themselves.


I'm relatively certain that embarking on a transport is not the same thing as "joining a unit."
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: