Switch Theme:

spell familiar in the 7th  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Just another on the long list of things that desperately need faq'd.
Csm spell familiar allows you to reroll failed psy tests...1/2 the people I know say only the dice you failed on. Other 1/2 say its all the dice....even the ones successful.
So say I need to generate 2 charges...I roll 4 dice. I is successful. Would I reroll all 4? Or just the 3 I failed on. Plus...if you roll a double 6....would you be able to roll 1 or both of those over...since it is technically a fail?
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

2+ 6's is not (necessarily) a failure. It is just Perils.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant





Plymouth

unless otherwise stated reroll's are pick it all up and reroll it, since the test requiring 3 4+'s and you rolled 2 4+'s vyou failed. wanna reroll pick iot up and rerolll it all

   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





East Coast, USA

Yeah, I think RaW, this is a pretty clear case of pick up all the dice and reroll them.

Perils are irrelevant to whether not you get a reroll.

Check out my website. Editorials! Tutorials! Fun Times To Be Had! - kriswallminis.com


https://www.thingiverse.com/KrisWall/about


Completed Trades With: ultraatma 
   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

I think it's supposed to be only the ones that actually failed, meaning you'd be stuck with your Perils.

Hasn't a piece of wargear from another codex that allowed you to reroll failed psy tests already been FAQ'ed in this manner?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/01 22:18:02


Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





 Jimsolo wrote:
I think it's supposed to be only the ones that actually failed, meaning you'd be stuck with your Perils.

Hasn't a piece of wargear from another codex that allowed you to reroll failed psy tests already been FAQ'ed in this manner?


Spell Familiar says reroll the test and a test includes both success and failures so you reroll all the dice
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Anacortes

Yes all the dice and on perils that are still successful dont get to reroll.

In a dog eat dog be a cat. 
   
Made in gb
Nurgle Veteran Marine with the Flu






Rules for re-rolls say pick up the dice you want and re-roll. Unless it is a 2D6 or 3D6 roll, when you must re-roll the lot. So if you're rolling 4+ dice you can pick and choose by RAW.
   
Made in gb
Been Around the Block




Glasgow, Scotland

Re-rolling the psychic test would be all the dice, a psychic test is successful if enough warp charge is harnessed for that power, so that's your 4+ rolls, if there has not been enough harnessed then it fails, then you reroll all dice.

The psychic test is wether enough warp charge has been harnessed for the power, not the 4+ to harness the warp charge IMO

 
   
Made in gr
Nurgle Veteran Marine with the Flu





Athens, Greece

Yes i think you are right. Rerolled failed test means reroll the whole lot of dices as in the BRB it states that, If the total number of harnessed warp charge points is greater than or equal to the warp charge cost stated in the psychic power's description, the psychic test is successful.
That means that if its not successful, it is failed, so you get to reroll the whole lot dices using spell familiar. :(

Killing is easy. Being politically correct is a pain in the ass...
My Chaos Space Marines showcase so far: http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/437151.page (too old - i will update it soon) 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 Tonberry7 wrote:
Rules for re-rolls say pick up the dice you want and re-roll. Unless it is a 2D6 or 3D6 roll, when you must re-roll the lot. So if you're rolling 4+ dice you can pick and choose by RAW.

Youre rerolling the *test*, not the dice involved in the test. So no, RAW you are wrong, it is all or nothing with the spell familiar.

If it states you can reroll failed *rolls*, e.g. for DtW, then you would be correct.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: