Switch Theme:

Skimmers hanging off the table edge  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot





Florida

We are arguing points not written on the page. That is going to always tie back to the unwritten framework of how the game works.

So, two lines of logic:

First: "It doesn't say I can't deploy the model partially, so I can."

Second: "It doesn't say that I must deploy the model fully, so I don't have to."

The definition of model doesn't help us here, the book only defines 'models' as: Citadel miniatures that is an individual playing piece with its own capabilities. No value to the question at hand in that.

The only way to answer which one is correct is to evaluate the mechanic everywhere it exists , and then apply a uniform behavior based on the the precedents.

The only other identical reference I see would be on table deployment in your deployment zone. Same mechanic, same language. You are told where to move your 'model'. Saying that models don't have to be completely on the table means you are also saying that models only have to be touching their deployment zone edge, they can be almost completely outside the zone, so long as some point of the model is inside. See the picture I posted previously.

This would be the second line of logic above, which would be to say "deployment doesn't say that I must deploy the model fully in my deployment zone, it just says I have to have the model in it. Since it doesn't say fully, it is legal to only be partially in". Good luck convincing your opponent that deployment works that way, that only the very backs of a model needs to be touching the front edge of your deployment zone.

   
Made in us
Sword-Bearing Inquisitorial Crusader






TheBog wrote:Thanks for the welcome. And this is a rather important issue. I'm wondering how it works out in tournament environments. I want to hear people's opinions..

Because whether or not a Vendetta can fire all 3 lascannons on the turn it comes in is a big influence on whether or not I want to buy any. Does the base need to move onto the table when outflanking (less than 6 inches, good to go), or does the entire model (more than 6 inches, booo). Does the long tail count? The wingspan? Or just the hull? Or just the base?


Well, one thing here, doesn't outflanking, deep strike or coming in from reserves count as having moved? In this case I think you'd only be able to fire one las cannon if you move at all. Am I correct in assuming this?

My Sisters Tactica http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/409339.page
Please read My Tactica if you're new to Sisters or thinking of starting them. For the Emperor!

3800 pts
3750 pts
1500 pts
700 pts
700 pts
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Deep Striking counts as moving Cruising Speed (so only 1 for the Fast vendetta), but outflanking and reserves just count as movement, so if they move Combat Speed, they get to fire all weapons, as they are fast vehicles.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Flashy Flashgitz





Southern California

If we leave part of our expensive models hanging over the edge of the table, we are flirt'n with disaster. If you can't see that, I suggest you bring some superglue.
   
Made in nz
Fresh-Faced New User




As has been stated, the rules are not clear in either situation.

It is not explicitly stated that 'within' means '100% within', for either deployment zones or the table edge. What this means is whichever interpretation you use, you can consider yourself using RAW. Two people could use different interpretations and both consider themselves using RAW, and both be right.

You could claim its illogical, that its obvious that you're meant to deploy 100% within your deployment zone, and you can't hang over the edge of the table, but remember that you're playing a game with a ruleset where Deamons aren't Deamons and Space Marine Terminators take up two slots in a Valkyrie, while Grey Knight Terminators, who are Space Marines, only take up one slot.

This is 'You Make Da Call', where we discuss RAW, not Rules As Common Sense Dictates, and in this case, the RAW are unclear, leaving you with two options:
1)Play it how you interpret it, and, if your opponent objects;
2)Discuss it with your opponent
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: