Switch Theme:

Emergency Disembark and placing models on top of the vehicle in question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot




Toronto (GTA), Ontario

Ghaz wrote:From page 11 of the Warhammer 40,000 5th edition rulebook:

A model may not move into or through the space occupied by another model...

This is what prevents you from disembarking onto the top of the vehicle. "Anywhere" does not mean "anywhere at all in spite of any other rules". You can't disembark within an inch of the enemy and you can't disembark on top of the vehicle.

As for the vehicle being 'terrain', it's not terrain until after the squad disembarks. There are no rules for disembarking from terrain.
If a vehicle is wrecked isn't it no longer a model in gaming purposes? And also isn't it Impassible terrain? If all the info is true and it says anywhere withing 2" then I would say it could be placed on top of the wrecked vehicle.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Ghaz wrote:Being placed on top IS occupying the same space. Placing models on top of each other means that they are occupying the same space on the table. It is clearly illegal.

And yet again, the vehicle does not become terrain until after you place your models. You can not disembark from terrain.
Actually the only way two models could truly occupy the same space would be to melt the plastic together. After reading the full argument I would say just roll a dice if the opponent argues that scenario 1 is right and doesn't drop the argument after I say it's not. Oh btw I say it's not legal. sorry for not fully reading the second page over

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/07/20 07:35:41


Dracos wrote:Codex does not override rulebook. Specific rules (generally those found in codex tend to be more specific) override general rules in case of conflict.
 
   
Made in us
Eternally-Stimulated Slaanesh Dreadnought






New York, NY

Hollis I wanted to agree with you but here is a whole that hurts your arg.

Everything has an order of operations. Examples besides that one that ends up killing your embarked squad are psychic powers taken at the beginning of the movement phase like GoI, or rolling for reserves at the beginning of the movement phase.

Although the player turn is described as having 3 phases (movement, shooting, assault) there is still an order of operation within those phases which per the rules must be abided by.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/07/20 19:45:21


I have a love /hate relationship with anything green. 
   
Made in us
Junior Officer with Laspistol






The eye of terror.

orkishlyorkish wrote:If a vehicle is wrecked isn't it no longer a model in gaming purposes? And also isn't it Impassible terrain? If all the info is true and it says anywhere withing 2" then I would say it could be placed on top of the wrecked vehicle.


The problem with this idea is that the rules specifically tell you that a transport which receives a "vehicle destroyed - wrecked" damage result does not become a wreck until after the unit inside performs its disembark, or is destroyed if it cannot disembark. While many things in 40k don't have defined orders of operation, this is one instance where the game gives you a specific order to perform things in.

So:

Before the unit disembarks the vehicle is still impassible terrain (which models may not be placed into).

After the unit disembarks the vehicle becomes a wreck, which is difficult and dangerous terrain which provides a cover save.

Why did the berzerker cross the road?
Gwar! wrote:Willydstyle has it correct
Gwar! wrote:Yup you're absolutely right

New to the game and can't win? Read this.

 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Hollis, bottom line, you are wrong. You cannot place models on top of another model, no matter whther they are moving, disembarking, teleporting, whatever. You simply cannot do it. At the time that the unit gets out of the vehicle (as posted already) the vehicle is not yet terrain. Give it up, you're just making yourse4lf look quite silly.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: