Switch Theme:

Righteous zeal and going to ground  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Poll
May a voluntarily gone to ground unit act normally after a RZ move?
Yes
No

View results
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

scubasteve04 wrote:Pinned is clearly defined in the Black Templar Codex FAQ, the only place where it really needs to be defined
That I must have missed. Which page--and does that mean they do not get +1 cover?

I see where it says they take pinning tests as normal, and some places that state the rolls should be taken, but I am totally missing where it defines pinned.

Editing to add:
I totally missed the letters "FAQ" in that post.



Carry on. There is nothing to see here.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/12/01 21:28:04


"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

bigdun, I finally see why you're hung up on the word pinned. Didn't know that the BT codex prohibited BT units that are 'pinned' from taking a test for Zeal. Gotcha. Given that, your arguments now actually make sense. If one accepts that 'pinned' exists as a separtate state from GtG. Which I would disagree with, given this FAQ:

Q: If I find a reference to a unit that is ‘pinned’, does it
mean a unit that has gone to ground? (p24)
A: Yes, ‘pinned’ is simply a short way of saying ‘gone to
ground by failing a pinning test’.

I read that as there is no state of being 'pinned', there is only GtG involuntarily due to a failed pinning test.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Jovial Plaguebearer of Nurgle





SF Bay Area, California

Wow, split opinions on this one. nuts.

   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

spireland wrote:Wow, split opinions on this one. nuts.


Heh, welcome to Dakka...............

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/12/01 23:44:04


Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






The Faq does define it.

"A Pinned unit is simply a unit that has failed it's pinning test and has gone to ground"

That would be the state of a "pinned unit".

Pinning does not need to be defined in the FAQ, you are correct on that.


This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Kommissar Kel wrote:The Faq does define it.

"A Pinned unit is simply a unit that has failed it's pinning test and has gone to ground"

That would be the state of a "pinned unit".

Pinning does not need to be defined in the FAQ, you are correct on that.



?? Is there another FAQ on this, cause the one I quoted above doesn't quite say what you said. Or were you paraphrasing, thereby getting a different meaning out of the statement?

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m1490287a_FAQ_BlackTemplars_2009.pdf

Third question in the right hand column.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/12/02 21:24:31


"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Wow, they can't even answer the same question the same way twice in writing.................

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

I did just about the same thing at the top of this page, don_mondo.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: