Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/14 07:20:01
Subject: Re:heavy 2, blast
|
 |
Ship's Officer
|
I won't speak for other folks, but from what I understand the opposing viewpoint is that in the blast weapon rules it specifically states that you "do not roll to hit" (which is Step 3 on pg.15) but mentions nothing about replacing the "check range" aspect (which is Step 2).
By that understanding, even if you're shooting a blast weapon, you must follow that order of operations which starts with "Check LOS and pick a target", then "Check range" thence the rest of the blast weapon instructions on pg.30.
Personally, I disagree, but I'm sure Nosferatu can explain it better than I.
DoW
|
"War. War never changes." - Fallout
4000pts
3000pts
1000pts
2500pts |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/14 07:33:37
Subject: heavy 2, blast
|
 |
Tail Gunner
|
seems to me like it's a replacement ruleset intended for blast weapons.
1. Check Line of Sight/Pick a target - Choose a visible model and Place the Blast Template
2. Check Range - Measure from your model to the Template to determine if you're in range
3. Roll to Hit - Blasts do not roll to hit, instead roll the scatter die to determine the blast's final location and models affected
4. Roll to Wound - Determine wounds caused at the Template's final location
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/02/14 07:34:09
Armies:
~1k Pts Catachan Jungle Fighters
~2k Pts Ordo Malleus Inquisition |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/14 08:40:43
Subject: Re:heavy 2, blast
|
 |
Grovelin' Grot
|
I'm trying to figure out what the problem is here. The rulebook clearly says under blast that you
1. Pick the target ("model"as written)
2. Place the blast over the model's base
3. Check if the model is in range of the blast
4. Roll to Scatter and tally wounds
On the same page it further goes on to say you repeat this if you have more than one blast weapon, then fire all other weapons.
Could someone explain wherein the confusion lies?
As solles said the rules say
...If a unit is firing more than one blast weapon (for
example, four Space Marine Devastators fire four frag
missiles at an enemy), resolve each shot, one at the
time, as described above ...
So,more than one blast weapon, not one weapon with more blasts...
I always assumed that you go trough steps 1-3 once and 4 multiple times (one for blast) but I am beginning to think I was orribly wrong..
Bye!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/14 08:52:14
Subject: heavy 2, blast
|
 |
Tail Gunner
|
Upon further research and understanding of the circumstances (referring to the OP, not the discussion that's spawned since), I would assume since the two shots are coming from a single weapon, you begin the two blasts at the same point, and scatter for each one of them
The best example i can think of as a comparison for this line of thinking is - say for a moment the vindicare assassin's exitus rifle is heavy2 instead of 1 (i pick the vindicare because he can designate the model he fires at, just like a blast can). You would pick the one model he fires at, and the two shots would go at that target, you wouldn't fire one shot at guy A and then nominate another target for the second shot at guy B
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/02/14 09:41:18
Armies:
~1k Pts Catachan Jungle Fighters
~2k Pts Ordo Malleus Inquisition |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/14 10:20:59
Subject: heavy 2, blast
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
that was exactly my point - it does not replace step 1 and 2 because it does not TELL you it does.
It tells you it replaces "roll to hit", which is step 3.
If it replaced step 1 and 2 "implicitly", then you are no longer restricted to firing at a single target unit - you are only targetting models in the blast rules, and not units - as this is found in step 1. This was denied, therefore Blast does not replace step 1 - yet, for some reason, it does still replace step 2, despite the same "implicit" reasoning requiring this to be an inconsistent viewpoint.
Re: template. You are told to place the template to cover sa many as possible. You are not told this is the ONLY time you can do this.
You are also told to measure the range, which you can do - with the template. the only way to measure the range of the template is with the template, which gives you explicit permission to place the template. (see the measuring rules)
the fact you can simultaneously resolve step 2 and part of the replacement step 3 is irrelevant and does not contradict either rule.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/14 21:08:23
Subject: Re:heavy 2, blast
|
 |
Willing Inquisitorial Excruciator
|
I have to agree with Nos on this one. Here is the wording from the BRB
"When firing a blast weapon, models do not roll to hit, instead pick one enemy model......"
This says to me that, for a blast weapon you replace the roll to hit with the following process. After the paragraphs detailing the process that replaces the "roll to hit", the rules then tell you to roll for wounds normally. I think the fact that the phrase "roll to hit" is then immediately followed by a comma and the word INSTEAD, it is telling you to replace the roll to hit with the following process.
I think that it is clear that you follow this process.
1. Check LOS and pick a target
2. Check Range to closest model in the unit
3. Roll to hit. (when firing a blast weapon, models do not roll to hit, instead pick one enemy model......)
4. Roll to Wound
5. Take Saves
6. Remove Casualties.
For Templates, you perform the same process, as it has the same wording. "Instead of rolling to hit, place the template...."
For the check Range step, you can not place the template, but you can still use it to check range. What I think it is saying to do is that you check range using only the LENGTH of the template, not the AREA. To do this you either need a ruler marking out 1 template length OR you use the EDGE of the template to see if there is a model in range for you to hit. Again, you check range to the closest model, but you place the template over the unit to get the most hits.
Example: there are two enemy units, one in front of the other. You chose to shoot the rear unit with a template weapon. LOS is fine. You take you template out and use the edge to see if any of the models from the rear unit are in range, and they are not. As such, the template "misses" and can not be used on the closer unit.
I know that these conclusions are not the most streamlined, especially for the template, but I do not see how the Template or Blast rules allow you to skip or replace either Step 1 or 2.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/02/14 21:15:47
40k: 2500 pts. All Built, Mostly Painted Pics: 1 -- 2 -- 3
BFG: 1500 pts. Mostly built, half painted Pics: 1
Blood Bowl: Complete! Pics: 1
Fantasy: Daemons, just starting Pic: 1 |
|
 |
 |
|
|