Switch Theme:

dangrous terrian and multiwound models  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Perfect Shot Dark Angels Predator Pilot






Texas

(Disclaimer: I know this is a horrifyingly long post, but do please read it all if you are going to discuss any part of it. It tool a LONG time to write and cite, so it would be much appreciated if you would be kind enough to read it and not scan for bits to pick out. I would give you the same courtesy. Thank you [and that is not just at ElCheezus])

ElCheezus wrote:
The steps are all there. The rules are clear enough to not need interpretation.


Cheezus, I feel that the fact the fact that this topic cannot be easily and convincingly answered indicative that the rules are not clear, and therefore do need interpretation (or at the very least intricate dissection). However, the problem with interpretation is that it is not uniform. You are perfectly welcome to interpret the rules in whichever way you wish, so long as that interpretation has convincing basis in the rulebook. You obviously feel that your interpretation does, so by all means do it your (and no doubt many other's) way. But since you asked for further evidence for my interpretation I will provide it. (I apologize if my over-siting and direct manner in this post is offensive, defensive, combative, or otherwise upsetting. Know now that none of these are my intent. I still view this a good-natured, healthy debate.)

[ ]

--Dangerous Terrain wording
ElCheezus wrote:
DT never specifies that it deviates from the Wounding rules. It just tells us the model suffers the wound,...

Page 14, 1st paragraph under Dangerous Terrain:
The Rulebook wrote:"Roll a D6 for every model that has entered, left, or moved through one or more areas of dangerous terrain during its move." It then, in the same paragraph, goes on to say the following: "On the roll of a 1, the model suffers a wound, with no armor or cover saves allowed (wounds and saves are explained in the next section)."


Note that is states "the model suffers a wound". Not the unit. This is important, and is the single word on which my interpretation hinges. Also, this is how DT specifies that it varies from how wounds on a unit of multi-wound models would normally be resolved.

I believe the distinction in the wording here can be cited because it is stated many times in the rulebook "units of models". They say it this way because units are made of a group of models. So if you are talking about something applying to the whole group it is written as 'unit', but if you are talking about something applying to only one mini in that unit your write 'model'.


--Reference for how to handle unsaved wounds on individual models
ElCheezus wrote:Where in the book does it tell you how to process unsaved wounds on individual models? I know the two answers to this, and they don't apply. Give me a reference if you find one that does.


The section that specifically covers the rules for how to handle wounds taken on models with multiple-wounds tells you how to process unsaved wounds on individual models.
Page 26, section titled 'Multiple-Wound Models':
The Rulebook wrote:"When such a multiple-wound model suffers an unsaved wound, it loses one Wound from its profile. Once the model has lost all of its Wounds, it is removed as a casualty (so a model with 3 Wounds would only be killed after it had been wounded three times). Keep track of how many wounds such models have suffered on a piece of scrap paper, or by placing a dice or marker next to them."


This section will directly apply because DT works on a model-by-model basis, which this section specifically covers.

--Allocation and why it doesn't apply
ElCheezus wrote:It just tells us the model suffers the wound, which is the same verbage as allocation (pg. 20 paragraph 3) "The wounds the unit has suffered must be allocated onto specific models. . ." i.e. unit suffering becomes model suffering through allocation.

As to the verbage, "On the roll of a 1, the model suffers a wound, with no armour or cover saves allowed." is not the same as "In these cases, we need to know exactly who has been wounded, and this requires an extra step in the shooting process. The wounds the unit has suffered must be allocated onto specific models before saving throws are taken." Also, what you said would be true if we were handling "unit suffering", but we are not. We start at model suffering.

As for 'allocation':
Page 15, in the box listing the steps of the shooting phase (we go here because we are directed to in the Dangerous Terrain paragraph):
The Rulebook wrote:"If the target unit includes different types of models, you will first have to allocate the wounds onto specific models."


In this situation the target unit does not include different types of models. Therefore, there will be no allocation.

I have shown in the previous point that allocation will not apply, but in the interest of fully covering all points of the debate here is the bit you are referring to (as you say, Page 20, paragraph 3 under 'Take Saving Throws'):
The Rulebook wrote:"On the other hand, it is common for units to include models with different weapons or wargear and characters with different profiles (and sometimes even different armour). In these cases we need to know exactly who has been wounded, and this requires an extra step in the shooting process. The wounds the unit has suffered must be allocated onto specific models before saving throws are taken. This extra step is explained after the basic rules (see page 25)."


Difficult Terrain has already stated that you must roll a D6 for every model, and that (in less words) the model that fails its test takes its wound. Allocation refers to how wounds are allocated throughout a unit after they have been wounded (in the case of a DT test on a 1), but before they are saved for. However, DT specifically states that a wound suffered by a failed test will be put on the model that failed the test, thereby stating specific 'allocation'. Besides, because DT is handled on a model basis only 1 wound is dealt with at a time. Even if allocation became an issue you cannot choose how to allocate one wound if you only have 1 target (which is the case in DT because you resolve each test one-at-a-time and model-by-model).

Also, remember that this bit applies to wounds the unit has suffered. For DT, this is not the case.

--Following the rules step-by-step
To continue step-by-step, you would then go to page 25 to the section labeled 'Complex Units'. It states:
The Rulebook wrote:"The rules for taking saving throws and removing casualties, as presented so far, assume that all the models in the target unit are identical in gaming terms. By this we mean they have the same profile of characteristics, the same special rules and the same weapons and wargear.
Of course many units include different models, and when this is the case an extra step is needed to determine which warriors have been hit by which weapons."(referring to allocation)


This section will not apply because of the bolded bit. Because all models in the unit are the same in game-terms, we are forced to assume that they follow the regular wounding process, except where DT specifically changes it (shown above).

--Why specifically the 'Funneling Clause' does not apply.
ElCheezus wrote:
Also, we have to follow the 'funneling rule', because that's the only process we have for dealing with wounds in units of multiple-wound models. Any other treatment of unsaved wounds in this case would be based on 'assumed' rules and not RAW. If you have a reference that contradicts this, I'd love to see it.


First, (I know this is getting old, but...) the 'funneling rule', by your own admission (and in the rulebook as cited below) is for dealing with wounds in units. This is not the case for DT. So...

We do NOT use the 'funneling rule' because it is in the section (also on Page 25) titled 'Units of Multiple-Wound Models'. However, because it is the crux of the debate, I will give my points as to why I believe it is not used. It states:
The Rulebook wrote:"Units consisting of models with multiple wounds on their profile, such as Tyranid Warriors and Ork Nobz, are quite rare. Working out how to allocate wounds and remove casualties from such units can be quite complex, so if you don’t have any in your army, feel free not to finish reading this page!
If a unit consists entirely of models that are identical in gaming terms and have multiple wounds, then take all the saves for the unit in one go. [this sentence can't really be used as evidence though unless the models have an invulnerable save, but then by that train of though this entire section cannot be used as evidence because it doesn't apply in the first place, but I digress...]
If the unit includes different models, first allocate the wounds suffered. Then take saves for identical models at the same time as normal. [this sentence especially won't apply since the models in question are not 'different models']
[Finally! Here is the 'funneling rule' (or clause?)] Once you have determined the number of unsaved wounds suffered by a group of identical multiple- wound models, you must remove whole models as casualties where possible. Wounds may not be ‘spread around’ to avoid removing models."


So, first this section will not apply as I said earlier. But secondly the 'funneling rule' will especially not apply because it specifically uses a very specific word: group. DT tests are not taken as a group, but instead are completely resolved (excluding invulnerable saves for like models) individualy.

[/ ] again.

I don't think I can get any more in-depth than that, so I really hope I've given the most conclusive 'arguments' for why I play the way I play.


The Fallen are the Dark Angel's most closely guarded secret. None but the trusted brothers of the Inner Circle even know of their existence. Share their burden by joining in their knowledge of that most terrible of truths: Summary of the Fallen
~2300pts Sons of Medusa - ~2000pts Black Templar
DT:90S+++G++M++B+I+Pw40k02++D++A+/areWD-R++++T(T)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Rough Rider with Boomstick




Champaign, IL

First off, I absolutely appreciate that you want people to read your whole post, and that you've put a lot of work into it. I've done much the same thing, so I'm all on board with well thought-out responses.

-Cypher- wrote:Note that is states "the model suffers a wound". Not the unit. This is important, and is the single word on which my interpretation hinges. Also, this is how DT specifies that it varies from how wounds on a unit of multi-wound models would normally be resolved.


In order to address the model vs. unit argument, we have to go back to a simpler example. This goes back to the other thread, actually. When we have a unit of single-wound models, we have to conclude that there's no functional difference between a model and a unit taking a wound, and that carries through to this discussion.

The reason we have to conclude that: there's no definition of how to handle wounds on single models. In the case of multi-wound models, the pg. 26 reference deals only with multi-wound models, so we can't use it for single-wound models. If we can't use it for single wound models, then we're left with the "unit" rules for removing casualties. In order to be consistent between single and multi wound models, we have to treat models suffering wounds the same way we would handle units suffering wounds.

My earlier challenge to find a place where it tells us how to handle "models" taking wounds was mainly left over from the previous thread. I forgot that since we're dealing with multi-wound models, there actually is a way to do it. However, we can't use these methods without creating inconsistency between the treatment of single- and multi- wound models.

--Allocation and why it doesn't apply
ElCheezus wrote:It just tells us the model suffers the wound, which is the same verbage as allocation (pg. 20 paragraph 3) "The wounds the unit has suffered must be allocated onto specific models. . ." i.e. unit suffering becomes model suffering through allocation.

As to the verbage, "On the roll of a 1, the model suffers a wound, with no armour or cover saves allowed." is not the same as "In these cases, we need to know exactly who has been wounded, and this requires an extra step in the shooting process. The wounds the unit has suffered must be allocated onto specific models before saving throws are taken." Also, what you said would be true if we were handling "unit suffering", but we are not. We start at model suffering.


I guess I left something out here, too. Unit suffering wounds becomes models suffering wounds through allocation. After saves are failed (or not taken), they become unit wounds again. This is mentioned on pg. 24 under "Remove Casualties": "For every model that fails its save, the unit suffers an unsaved wound."

I meant to illustrate that allocation transitions "unit" wound to "model" wounds. I equate DT's wording of "the model suffers a wound" to the process of allocating. In shooting, we need allocation to determine who makes the save against the wound. DT specifies the model, so we don't use allocation. So the step after allocation, making saves, is where DT wounds start. From there, when the saves are failed (or not allowed), they become "unit" wounds again, going on to the processes for removing casualties.

So I agree that we start at model suffering, I'm mainly attempting that both DT and regular allocation use the process of "models" taking wounds, which therefore transitions out of models back to units. This similarity and parallel in the process is part of why I think we keep following the same process for the treatment of unsaved wounds.

As for 'allocation':


We don't need allocation for DT at all, since it basically takes care of that for us. I think we're basically on the same page that we don't need to do any allocation.

We do NOT use the 'funneling rule' because it is in the section (also on Page 25) titled 'Units of Multiple-Wound Models'. However, because it is the crux of the debate, I will give my points as to why I believe it is not used. It states:
The Rulebook wrote:"Units consisting of models with multiple wounds on their profile, such as Tyranid Warriors and Ork Nobz, are quite rare. Working out how to allocate wounds and remove casualties from such units can be quite complex, so if you don’t have any in your army, feel free not to finish reading this page!
If a unit consists entirely of models that are identical in gaming terms and have multiple wounds, then take all the saves for the unit in one go. [this sentence can't really be used as evidence though unless the models have an invulnerable save, but then by that train of though this entire section cannot be used as evidence because it doesn't apply in the first place, but I digress...]
If the unit includes different models, first allocate the wounds suffered. Then take saves for identical models at the same time as normal. [this sentence especially won't apply since the models in question are not 'different models']
[Finally! Here is the 'funneling rule' (or clause?)] Once you have determined the number of unsaved wounds suffered by a group of identical multiple- wound models, you must remove whole models as casualties where possible. Wounds may not be ‘spread around’ to avoid removing models."


So, first this section will not apply as I said earlier. But secondly the 'funneling rule' will especially not apply because it specifically uses a very specific word: group. DT tests are not taken as a group, but instead are completely resolved (excluding invulnerable saves for like models) individualy.


So, I've addressed the part about why "unit" applies, so I'll move on.

It sounds like you're starting to make a case that since we're denied armour and cover saves, that any part about grouping identical models doesn't doesn't apply. I really don't think this makes sense. First off, that makes things work entirely different dependent on whether there's an invulnerable save involved. If a unit of Zoanthropes fails enough DT tests and Invuln saves, do we remove models for them, but not for models without a save?

In order for that inconsistency to be resolved, I consider taking an unsaved wound because you have no applicable save to be part of "taking a save." This not only resolves the inconsistency, but realizing that you have no save is covered within the section on saves.

DT tests are not taken as a group, but saves by identical models are, even if they have no saves to take. So, the unsaved (or unsavable) wounds from DT are still suffered by the group. The part about not spreading wounds around still applies.

So, of the three sections in this reply, the first shows why "models" and "units" suffering wounds should be treated the same. The second is just an example of the parallels between the process in the shooting phase post-allocation and the process after failing a DT test. The third describes why the grouping of identical models still applies even if there are no saves to take. I hope they make sense.

Look at your comment. Back to mine. Back to yours NOW BACK TO MINE. Sadly, it isn't mine. But if you stopped trolling and started posting legitimate crap it could LOOK like mine. Look down, back up, where are you? You're scrolling through comments, finding the ones that your comment could look like. Back at mine, what is it? It's a highly effective counter-troll. Look again, MY COMMENT IS NOW DIAMONDS.

Anything is possible when you think before you comment or post.

I'm on a computer. 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




I dont have the rulebook in front of me, but im pretty sure that in the Dangerous Terrain section right at the end it says to refer to the next section for wound allocations. The next section of the book covers allocating wounds on single wound models then covers allocating wounds on multiple wound models. So you would have to remove whole models ASAP. This actually came up in our local shop when an ork player tried to argue that his Nobz shouldnt die from assaulting my Venomthropes. He took 6 wounds so i understand why he was upset.
   
Made in us
Perfect Shot Dark Angels Predator Pilot






Texas

Warning: If you open this spoiler, an explosion of contradicting statements will greet you, not to mention a terrifyingly long wall of text. It is best not to do so, and instead simply read this:
I find this to be a broken rule because a model in effect failing more tests than it attempts to pass is just silly, but I will admit that according to the RAW I am wrong. Thanks ElCheezus.

I'll be continuing to play with RAIntended in this case, and after talking with my FLGS group it seems I won't find anyone objecting to that (considering they all do the same thing). However, once again, according to the RAW, this is wrong.


Also, after hours of working this over (that's just the kind of person I am, and though it drove me bonkers at times, it was also kind of enjoyable) I am forced to conclude that if you interpret the DT entry to mean "because you roll 1 D6 per model eligible that exactly translates to 'each model takes one wound'", then at best this seems to be an interpretation and not irrefutable fact.
Spoiler:
@ElCheezus:
You, sir, are very good at this. Once again you present fact-based arguments for your side that are very compelling. I honestly believe that if you and I made our separate spills to an independent third party who had no references it would be a toss-up as to who they would say is correct.


The thought-line:

However, there are a couple things I want to point out:

First you say:
ElCheezus wrote:In order to address the model vs. unit argument, we have to go back to a simpler example. This goes back to the other thread, actually. When we have a unit of single-wound models, we have to conclude that there's no functional difference between a model and a unit taking a wound, and that carries through to this discussion.


then you say:
ElCheezus wrote:My earlier challenge to find a place where it tells us how to handle "models" taking wounds was mainly left over from the previous thread. I forgot that since we're dealing with multi-wound models, there actually is a way to do it.


I've read these bits carefully, and in my opinion they could be seen to contradict each other. The first seems to say that the previous example is directly applicable to this example, while the second quote seems to say that there is a distinct separate way to handle wounds for multi-wound models.

As for:
ElCheezus wrote:we have to conclude that there's no functional difference between a model and a unit taking a wound...

I disagree. The very difference between how models and units take wounds is the thing being debated here.

I believe that because the Dangerous Terrain entry specifically states that it is handled on a model basis, then for the time in which you are you resolving the Dangerous Terrains tests the models in this example would in effect be 5 different units of 1. This seems odd, but if you say that DT states how to allocate its wounds by saying that the model that fails the test is the model which takes the wound then that is the end of the discussion. The reference to the next section made at the end of the DT entry is (IMHO) simply because they are introducing actually resolving taking a wound for the first time. It is not because DT will then directly follow the next section's guidelines. I believe this because everywhere else, if I am told specifically in an entry that said entry will act a certain way, then that is the way it will act regardless of how whatever that entry is talking about would normally happen.

Another bit of encouraging evidence for this way of thinking is that a model cannot fail more tests than it takes. For instance, in any situation in which you would use the 'funneling rule', the unsaved wounds you would be redistributing to kill off a whole model would have been rolled in one go. This is not the case for DT. It specifically states that the model suffers the wound.

You also say:
ElCheezus wrote:I guess I left something out here, too. Unit suffering wounds becomes models suffering wounds through allocation. After saves are failed (or not taken), they become unit wounds again. This is mentioned on pg. 24 under "Remove Casualties": "For every model that fails its save, the unit suffers an unsaved wound."

and you go on to say:
ElCheezus wrote:We don't need allocation for DT at all, since it basically takes care of that for us. I think we're basically on the same page that we don't need to do any allocation.


To look at the paragraph you reference:
ElCheezus wrote:For every model that fails its save, the unit suffers an unsaved wound. Of course this also includes wounds against which no save can be attempted, such as those from weapons with very high AP. Most models have a single Wound on their profile, in which case for each unsaved wound one model is immediately removed from the table as a casualty. As long as all the models in the unit have the same profile, special rules, weapons and wargear, the player who owns the unit can choose which of his models is removed.


Notice that the first sentence would be used for units, and for my side of the debate the models in the example are singular. Also note the last sentence. It refers to wound allocation, something that I have said, and you have kinda said, is not applied at all. And remember, DT wounds are allocated by DT itself and not the player, so for the player to then use a general (albeit a specific general rule [yes, the debate just reached that level of word specificality ]) rule (the 'funneling rule', which applies to multi-wound models that share the same characteristics in a unit) over a specific rule (the paragraph in which DT is specifically lined out) seems incorrect.

ElCheezus wrote:It sounds like you're starting to make a case that since we're denied armour and cover saves, that any part about grouping identical models doesn't apply.

That is exactly the case I'm making, but not because of denied saves. I'm saying that "any part about grouping identical models doesn't apply" because we aren't grouping identical models.

ElCheezus wrote:First off, that makes things work entirely different dependent on whether there's an invulnerable save involved. If a unit of Zoanthropes fails enough DT tests and Invuln saves, do we remove models for them, but not for models without a save?

It would go like this:
3 Zoanthropes are 2 inches away from DT. They move into the DT. You then assign (for expediency purposes) one D6 to each Zoanthrope using different-colored die. Let's say Z-1 is green, Z-2 is red, and Z-3 is blue. You now roll the 3 D6. If the green die is a 4, but the red and blue die are 1s the of course Z-1 is safe and left alone. Z-2 and Z-3 will then take their invulnerable save. If both fail that then they both take one wound each. The wounds will not be funneled into any one model in the unit that the player wishes to remove because DT states that the model that fails the test (and in this case also its invuln) will suffer the wound.

Now lets say that the unit from the OP's example does the exact same thing (only there are five). Aside from needing more colors and not taking invulnerability saves, the same thing would happen. 3 Shrikes will end up with 1 wound apiece, not 4 un-wounded models and 1 casualty.

So I'm not really understanding how there is inconsistency between models with or without an invulnerability save.


The 'epiphany':

WHAT YOU ARE SAYING JUST CLICKED! I will not be deleting what I have written above because it may be the very thought-line that led me to the 'epiphany'.

To dispel all debate do this:
Read the DT entry, which says:
The Rulebook wrote:As mentioned previously, some terrain features will be dangerous to move through. This is represented by the dangerous terrain test. Roll a D6 for every model that has entered, left or moved through one or more areas of dangerous terrain during its move. On the roll of a 1, the model suffers a wound, with no armour or cover saves allowed (wounds and saves are explained in the next section).

now go immediately to the section regarding units of multi-wound models:
The Rulebook wrote:Once you have determined the number of unsaved wounds suffered by a group of identical multiple- wound models, you must remove whole models as casualties where possible. Wounds may not be ‘spread around’ to avoid removing models. Track any excess wounds with a note or a marker as noted above. Multiple-wound models in the unit that are unique are rolled for individually and their unsaved wounds must be recorded separately.


Put it together (more-or-less) and it reads:
"As mentioned previously, some terrain features will be dangerous to move through. This is represented by the dangerous terrain test. Roll a D6 for every model that has entered, left or moved through one or more areas of dangerous terrain during its move. On the roll of a 1, the model suffers a wound, with no armour or cover saves allowed. Once you have determined the number of unsaved wounds suffered by a group of identical multiple- wound models, you must remove whole models as casualties where possible. Wounds may not be ‘spread around’ to avoid removing models."

I find this to be a broken rule because a model in effect failing more tests than it attempts to pass is just silly, but I will admit that according to the RAW I am wrong. Thanks ElCheezus.

I'll be continuing to play with RAInterpreted in this case, and after talking with my FLGS group it seems I won't find anyone objecting to that (considering they all do the same thing). However, once again, according to the RAW, this is wrong.

But now...?:

The question then moves to whether you think that the 'funneling rule' takes precedence over the fact that DT allocates its wounds on its own. Which is to say that DT states that you roll 1 D6 per model eligible for the DT test. In effect that means that each model is allocated one wound. According to allocation a model can only suffer wounds that are allocated against it prior to taking any saves. Now normally all potential wounds would be resolved for an all similar multi-wound-model unit at once with the potential wounds going into an ambiguous pool (meaning you don't know what happened to who until you interpret the dice rolls). However with DT, even though the models are similar, you know that there is only 1 wound allocated to each model.

If OP's example in the shooting phase then it would go like this: (to make this analogy fit, lets assume that whatever is shooting at him auto-hits, and wounds on a 6, so starting from the rolls to wound: )he would roll 5 dice. If he rolled 3 6s then one model would be removed and that would be that (because those 5 potential wounds are not assigned to individual models until after the die are rolled and read).

For DT though it goes like this: he rolls 5 dice for the test's potential wounds with the understanding that each model is allocated only 1 wound. If he rolls 3 1s then 3 individual models would then at that point be understood to have 1 wound each. Can you now use a rule (the 'funneling rule') that applies to ambiguous wounds on wounds that are specifically allocated? We seem to have 2 distinctly different rules for allocating these wounds. In the DT entry we are told that each model takes 1 wound. In the Multi-Wound section we are told that wounds must be allocated to remove whole models.

For the Zoanthropes (of which there are 3), if they took a DT test and rolled 2 1s then according to strict DT interpretation, 2 Zoanthropes would take one wound and then attempt to save it. If they fail they take the wound, if they pass then they don't.

The key:
We seem to have 2 distinctly different rules for determining where to place DT wounds. In the DT entry we are told that each model takes 1 wound (via "Roll a D6 for every model that has entered, left or moved through one or more areas of dangerous terrain during its move."). In the Multi-Wound section we are told that wounds must be placed in such a way as to remove whole models whenever possible (via "Wounds may not be ‘spread around’ to avoid removing models.").

So which takes preference? Just looking at the RAW one might think the 'funneling rule' because DT refers the reader to the next section. However, following that line then models can take wounds that were allocated to other models, which is not possible.

However, that may not be true seeing as there is nothing anywhere covering how to resolve individual wounds taken on equal multi-wound models.

But then all of that is only true if you interpret the DT entry to mean that because you roll 1 D6 per model eligible that exactly translates to "each model takes one wound". At best this seems to be an interpretation and not irrefutable fact.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/05/07 09:02:37



The Fallen are the Dark Angel's most closely guarded secret. None but the trusted brothers of the Inner Circle even know of their existence. Share their burden by joining in their knowledge of that most terrible of truths: Summary of the Fallen
~2300pts Sons of Medusa - ~2000pts Black Templar
DT:90S+++G++M++B+I+Pw40k02++D++A+/areWD-R++++T(T)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

Not to open an old wound, but the latest rulebook FAQ update;
http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m1830600a_40k_Rulebook_version_1_3.pdf

seems to have settled this issue once and for all;

Q: Are Wounds from Dangerous Terrain tests allocated
in the same way as shooting attacks? (p14)
A: No. Each model moving through dangerous terrain
must take a test. Each model that fails takes a Wound.

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in us
Rough Rider with Boomstick




Champaign, IL

I'll point out right away that this FAQ changes nothing about my interpretation of the way casualties are removed from DT. It is, however, nice that they reinforce the fact that you can't allocate the wound.

Look at your comment. Back to mine. Back to yours NOW BACK TO MINE. Sadly, it isn't mine. But if you stopped trolling and started posting legitimate crap it could LOOK like mine. Look down, back up, where are you? You're scrolling through comments, finding the ones that your comment could look like. Back at mine, what is it? It's a highly effective counter-troll. Look again, MY COMMENT IS NOW DIAMONDS.

Anything is possible when you think before you comment or post.

I'm on a computer. 
   
Made in us
Perfect Shot Dark Angels Predator Pilot






Texas

I agree with ElCheezus. Allocating the wound wasn't really where the issue stems from. Its whether or not those wounds (if taken on models that are equal in game terms) are then subject to being 'funneled' so as to remove whole models where possible.


The Fallen are the Dark Angel's most closely guarded secret. None but the trusted brothers of the Inner Circle even know of their existence. Share their burden by joining in their knowledge of that most terrible of truths: Summary of the Fallen
~2300pts Sons of Medusa - ~2000pts Black Templar
DT:90S+++G++M++B+I+Pw40k02++D++A+/areWD-R++++T(T)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

-Cypher- wrote:I agree with ElCheezus. Allocating the wound wasn't really where the issue stems from. Its whether or not those wounds (if taken on models that are equal in game terms) are then subject to being 'funneled' so as to remove whole models where possible.


If you are "funneling" wounds to remove whole models, then you are indeed allocating wounds as per the shooting rules.
The FAQ is very clear.
Each model that moves through the terrain takes a test.
Each model that fails takes a wound.

If you put that wound on any other model, you are allocating wounds instead of applying them.
And the FAQ starts by saying you do not allocate wounds from dangerous terrain tests.

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in us
Rough Rider with Boomstick




Champaign, IL

Allocation is a very specific term for a very specific process. Allocation happens after the number of wounds have been determined, before saves are taken. My interpretation has never wanted to allocate wounds. "Funelling" (or whatever you want to call it) takes place after allocation, after saves have been taken.

Look at your comment. Back to mine. Back to yours NOW BACK TO MINE. Sadly, it isn't mine. But if you stopped trolling and started posting legitimate crap it could LOOK like mine. Look down, back up, where are you? You're scrolling through comments, finding the ones that your comment could look like. Back at mine, what is it? It's a highly effective counter-troll. Look again, MY COMMENT IS NOW DIAMONDS.

Anything is possible when you think before you comment or post.

I'm on a computer. 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




And yet it states that only the models that take the test can take the wound caused by failure.

So no ability to remove any other model. As was said all along...
   
Made in us
Rough Rider with Boomstick




Champaign, IL

The wording of the FAQ is the same as the wording in the BRB. Nothing has changed since the initial postings on this thread. All of the arguments on both sides stand as they are. There's no point in starting into this all over again as if the FAQ changed anything. It didn't.

If there are new arguments, however, I'm game. This is one of my favourite discussions. :-D

Look at your comment. Back to mine. Back to yours NOW BACK TO MINE. Sadly, it isn't mine. But if you stopped trolling and started posting legitimate crap it could LOOK like mine. Look down, back up, where are you? You're scrolling through comments, finding the ones that your comment could look like. Back at mine, what is it? It's a highly effective counter-troll. Look again, MY COMMENT IS NOW DIAMONDS.

Anything is possible when you think before you comment or post.

I'm on a computer. 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

ElCheezus wrote:The wording of the FAQ is the same as the wording in the BRB. Nothing has changed since the initial postings on this thread. All of the arguments on both sides stand as they are. There's no point in starting into this all over again as if the FAQ changed anything. It didn't.


I can't fathom which part of "Each model that fails takes a Wound." you are failing to understand.



I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in us
Resentful Grot With a Plan





AL

From the Assault Section
Allocating wounds
After determining the number of wounds inflicted against a unit at a particular Initiative value, the unit takes saves and casualties are removed as detailed below , Just like in the Shooting phase, if all the models in the unit are the same in gaming terms, you can carry straight on and roll all the saves in one batch, Otherwise, wounds are allocated against the target unit by the controlling player, exactly like the fire of a single enemy unit during the Shooting phase


So the Assault Phase references the Shooting Phase to help know how and when to allocated, apply wounds. The DT section does not reference the Shooting Phase or any other similar section.

And the one section that really hits home that it is per model basis is the following:
ASSAULTING THROUGH COVER
If, following the rules for moving assaulting models (see page 25), any model in an assaulting unit will have to go through difficult or dangerous terrain as part of its assault move, the unit must take the relevant terrain test before moving. This has two disadvantages. The first and most obvious is that such tests might cause the assault to fail altogether if the closest model cannot make it into contact with the enemy. Note that if a model stopped 1" away from the enemy in the Movement or Shooting phase, it can Assault even if its unit rolls a double 1 on its difficult terrain test.

So if you have to move closest-to-closest when declaring an assault, and you happen to be moving through dangerous terrain to do so. If your closest model ends up getting a roll of 1 then that particular model dies. Hence you may not get the assault range with the models you have left.

*Some might say that it refers to the unit taking the relevant terrain test, and that it is unclear which tests are keeping the unit from making the assault, but that's how I read it, and I have to agree with the per model folks.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/06/14 00:39:15


   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





US

Q: Are Wounds from Dangerous Terrain tests allocated
in the same way as shooting attacks? (p14)
A: No. Each model moving through dangerous terrain
must take a test. Each model that fails takes a Wound.

I really can't see how this gets more black and white. If a model moves through dangerous terrain, it rolls a D6 on a 1 it takes a wound with no armor save allowed. The wound doesn't go to any other model since it can't be allocated.

Craftworld Uaire-Nem pics "Like shimmering daggers of light our fury shall rain down and cleanse this battlefield." Autarch of Uaire-Nem
BlueDagger's Nomad pics - "Morality, my friend, is merely a price tag." - BlueDagger, Contraband Dealer. Holo-recording played during the murder trial of an undercover PanOceania officer. Court Record 9002xaB, . Infinity Nomads - Come see what it's all about!
|Looking for War-gaming matches in the Colorado area? Colorado Infinity
 
   
Made in us
Rough Rider with Boomstick




Champaign, IL

When you have a unit of identical models (as in the original example), you never use any allocation. Allocation is simply a means of determining which models take the saves. If you're not extremely familiar with the allocation rules, you'll need to read up. This discussion is really detailed, and distinctions between allocation, taking saves, removing casualties, and keeping track of wounds are important.

So, allocation has you determine which model makes a save. You get shot at, take a Wound. Then you say "one of my chumps takes the save" and roll the die. DT doesn't let you say it's a chump that takes the save, DT says the guy that stepped in the river makes the save. That's what the FAQ is saying about allocation. DT skips the allocation step and does that work for you.

Now, after allocation, we take the save. When a model fails a save (or doesn't get to save at all), the unit suffers an unsaved wound. pg 24. Model fail save -> unit suffer wound.

For each unsaved wound, a model is removed from the table. This doesn't have to be the model that failed the save. pg 24.

Those are the basics. For units of multi-wound models, we look to pg. 26. "Once you have determined the number of unsaved wounds suffered by a group of identical multiple-wound models, you must remove whole models as casualties where possible." Track any excess wounds that are assigned to the group of identical models.

So, that's the only way we're given to deal with Unsaved Wounds. There's no other place in the book that tells you what to do if a model fails a save or can't take one. That's what the book means by "suffering a wound"; the whole process. Whether the Wounds came from shooting or not, you remove whole models when possible.

Also, there's no method of tracking wounds on individual models if they're in a group with other, identical, models. The wounds are tracked for the whole group at once, not individually.

So, in 2 am I'm-far-too-tired-for-this rambling, that's the basis of my arguments. Never in the process does allocation fall into play, so the FAQ reference provided changes nothing, and all of my old reasoning still stands. It's very, very, very important that you fully 100% understand exactly what allocation is and is not. If we want to start all of this back up again, like I said, I'm game. I'm 100% confident in my interpretation, and can reference anything you desire to help this make sense. However I'll be slow in posting, so it won't turn into 8 pages in a week like the last time.

Look at your comment. Back to mine. Back to yours NOW BACK TO MINE. Sadly, it isn't mine. But if you stopped trolling and started posting legitimate crap it could LOOK like mine. Look down, back up, where are you? You're scrolling through comments, finding the ones that your comment could look like. Back at mine, what is it? It's a highly effective counter-troll. Look again, MY COMMENT IS NOW DIAMONDS.

Anything is possible when you think before you comment or post.

I'm on a computer. 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Except you're hung up on "allocation", when I'm pointing you to "the model takes the wound", which further clarifies what they meant by "suffers"

If another model takes the wound, for any reason you can possibly think up, you have broken this utterly clear and 100% unambiguous rule.

This guy HERE, THIS guy and this guy ONLY failed his DT. He MUST take the wound from it. Noone else can.
   
Made in gr
Sneaky Lictor





Greece

New FAQ is out that fixes this !!!

Q: Are Wounds from Dangerous Terrain tests allocated
in the same way as shooting attacks? (p14)
A: No. Each model moving through dangerous terrain
must take a test. Each model that fails takes a Wound.

It seems so clear....

watch the language please !

reds8n

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/06/14 14:33:50


FaarisShazad wrote:The guy with the spiky dildo for a picture had a good point.

Ork Management Program
I take care of problems that need to be solved with violence  
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Snoz - we've already referenced and discussed this.

It does reaffirm that the guy that tripped over is the one who suffers the wound, not that El believes it does however.
   
Made in us
Warplord Titan Princeps of Tzeentch





nosferatu1001 wrote:Except you're hung up on "allocation", when I'm pointing you to "the model takes the wound", which further clarifies what they meant by "suffers"

If another model takes the wound, for any reason you can possibly think up, you have broken this utterly clear and 100% unambiguous rule.

This guy HERE, THIS guy and this guy ONLY failed his DT. He MUST take the wound from it. Noone else can.


Your analysis doesn't address how to deal with unsaved wounds.

I think even ElCheezus would agree that a model that fails a DT test takes a wound, since that's how the rule is written.

What you're not addressing is how the rules deal with unsaved wounds that is addressed on page 26, and only addressed on page 26 (for single wound models). Nowhere else is "removing casualties" addressed or even hinted at.

If the authors had wanted the model who fails a DT test to be removed as a casualty, they would have said "any model that fails its test is removed as a casualty."

text removed by Moderation team. 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

biccat wrote:
If the authors had wanted the model who fails a DT test to be removed as a casualty, they would have said "any model that fails its test is removed as a casualty."


If they said that, then a model with more than 1 wound would be removed if it failed a dangerous terrain test. It does not.

Any model that fails the dangerous terrain test takes a wound.

If it only has 1 wound, then it is removed.

If it has more than 1 wound, it takes a wound.

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





US

biccat wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:Except you're hung up on "allocation", when I'm pointing you to "the model takes the wound", which further clarifies what they meant by "suffers"

If another model takes the wound, for any reason you can possibly think up, you have broken this utterly clear and 100% unambiguous rule.

This guy HERE, THIS guy and this guy ONLY failed his DT. He MUST take the wound from it. Noone else can.


Your analysis doesn't address how to deal with unsaved wounds.

I think even ElCheezus would agree that a model that fails a DT test takes a wound, since that's how the rule is written.

What you're not addressing is how the rules deal with unsaved wounds that is addressed on page 26, and only addressed on page 26 (for single wound models). Nowhere else is "removing casualties" addressed or even hinted at.

If the authors had wanted the model who fails a DT test to be removed as a casualty, they would have said "any model that fails its test is removed as a casualty."


This

You are trying to dig WAAAAAAAY too deep here. EACH MODEL that fails takes a WOUND. You touch dangerous terrain the MODEL takes a test and if it fail the MODEL takes a WOUND. There is nothing about the unit, groups of similar models, etc. You simply place a wound on the model that failed the test.

Craftworld Uaire-Nem pics "Like shimmering daggers of light our fury shall rain down and cleanse this battlefield." Autarch of Uaire-Nem
BlueDagger's Nomad pics - "Morality, my friend, is merely a price tag." - BlueDagger, Contraband Dealer. Holo-recording played during the murder trial of an undercover PanOceania officer. Court Record 9002xaB, . Infinity Nomads - Come see what it's all about!
|Looking for War-gaming matches in the Colorado area? Colorado Infinity
 
   
Made in us
Warplord Titan Princeps of Tzeentch





BlueDagger wrote:You are trying to dig WAAAAAAAY too deep here. EACH MODEL that fails takes a WOUND. You touch dangerous terrain the MODEL takes a test and if it fail the MODEL takes a WOUND. There is nothing about the unit, groups of similar models, etc. You simply place a wound on the model that failed the test.

I'm not "digging" deep, I'm simply applying the rules.

Model takes a wound.
Model makes a save (or the wound is unsaveable).
For every model that failed its save, the unit suffers an unsaved wound.
For every unsaved wound one identical model must be removed.

This is how the rules work. It's not terribly complicated.

text removed by Moderation team. 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





US

That is standard wound allocation.

This is not standard wound allocation.

This is the model takes a wound, not the unit.

Are Wounds from Dangerous Terrain tests allocated
in the same way as shooting attacks? (p14)
A: No.

Craftworld Uaire-Nem pics "Like shimmering daggers of light our fury shall rain down and cleanse this battlefield." Autarch of Uaire-Nem
BlueDagger's Nomad pics - "Morality, my friend, is merely a price tag." - BlueDagger, Contraband Dealer. Holo-recording played during the murder trial of an undercover PanOceania officer. Court Record 9002xaB, . Infinity Nomads - Come see what it's all about!
|Looking for War-gaming matches in the Colorado area? Colorado Infinity
 
   
Made in us
Warplord Titan Princeps of Tzeentch





BlueDagger wrote:That is standard wound allocation.

This is not standard wound allocation.

This is the model takes a wound, not the unit.

Are Wounds from Dangerous Terrain tests allocated
in the same way as shooting attacks? (p14)
A: No.

That's not wound allocation.

Standard wound allocation is as follows:
Unit suffers N wounds.
Each model is allocated 1 wound.
Once each model is allocated 1 wound, each model may be allocated another wound.
Repeat until you reach N.
Take saves in groups of identical wound models.

As has been pointed out many times before, the standard method of resolving hits & wounds is as follows:
1 - Roll to hit
2 - Roll to wound
3 - Allocate wounds
4 - Take Saves
5 - Remove casualties

Everyone agrees that steps 1-3 are supplanted by the Dangerous Terrain rules. Steps 4 & 5 remain.

Unless there is some other method of removing casualties that hasn't been raised, the only way to resolve the situation (consistent with the rules) is that a model identical (in game terms) to the model that failed the DT test may be removed as a casualty.

text removed by Moderation team. 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





US

????

Dangerous Terrain test
1 - Roll to hit - Doesn't exist in DT test
2 - Roll to wound - Dangerous terrain test, a 1 wounds the model as per FAQ
3 - Allocate wounds - Wounds are allocated to the model that failed only as per FAQ
4 - Take Saves - DT test allows for Invulnerable save by the model
5 - Remove casualties - If the model fails and only had one wound it is removed, if not it just takes a wound.



Automatically Appended Next Post:
Once again you are assuming that the unit is taking a wound, when in this case only the model is taking a wound. There is similar abilities that already exist in the games such as Mindwar where the MODEL takes the wounds, not the unit, so the wounds can not be put on a different model.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/06/14 15:12:14


Craftworld Uaire-Nem pics "Like shimmering daggers of light our fury shall rain down and cleanse this battlefield." Autarch of Uaire-Nem
BlueDagger's Nomad pics - "Morality, my friend, is merely a price tag." - BlueDagger, Contraband Dealer. Holo-recording played during the murder trial of an undercover PanOceania officer. Court Record 9002xaB, . Infinity Nomads - Come see what it's all about!
|Looking for War-gaming matches in the Colorado area? Colorado Infinity
 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

biccat wrote:4 - Take Saves
5 - Remove casualties

Everyone agrees that steps 1-3 are supplanted by the Dangerous Terrain rules. Steps 4 & 5 remain.

Unless there is some other method of removing casualties that hasn't been raised, the only way to resolve the situation (consistent with the rules) is that a model identical (in game terms) to the model that failed the DT test may be removed as a casualty.


4 - Take Saves

Look at page 25 BRB, under Taking Saving Throws, the stage you say we are at after failing the dangerous terrain test, first and second sentence, "Having allocated the wounds, all of the models in the unit that are identical in gaming terms take their saving throws at the same time, in one batch. Casualties can then be chosen by the owning player from amongst these identical models." {emphasis mine}

The FAQ states in clear and simple language,
"Q: Are Wounds from Dangerous Terrain tests allocated
in the same way as shooting attacks? (p14)
A: No."

So you cannot allocate the wounds. Only the model that fails the test suffers a wound. Only that model can now take a saving throw if it has one. If it fails that, then only that model can take a wound, as per the FAQ and backed up by the rule on page 25.

Since you cannot allocate the wound as per the FAQ, you cannot place that wound on any other identical model in the unit as per page 25 because it is only after you allocate wounds, "...only then..." can you choose casualties from amongst identical models. And you cannot get to that point by failing dangerous terrain tests because the FAQ affirms that you cannot allocate wounds the same way as shooting attacks.

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in de
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






Agree to time wizard, without allocation, wound groups are never formed, so you can never remove models from that group. The FAQ actually did change something.

7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. 
   
Made in us
Warplord Titan Princeps of Tzeentch





time wizard wrote:Since you cannot allocate the wound as per the FAQ, you cannot place that wound on any other identical model in the unit as per page 25 because it is only after you allocate wounds, "...only then..." can you choose casualties from amongst identical models. And you cannot get to that point by failing dangerous terrain tests because the FAQ affirms that you cannot allocate wounds the same way as shooting attacks.

OK, so you give a wound to the model. That model suffers a wound. Whichever way you want to say it.

What now?

What rule tells you how to remove a model that suffers a wound as you have described? Page 26 allows you to remove identical models when a unit suffers an unsaved wound.

Please provide a page number and quote in your answer.

text removed by Moderation team. 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Maryland

Didn't we just do this one a while ago? It's pretty clear that it targets individual models. The fact that it's multi-wound makes no difference.

Suppose you had 3 single wound models out of a 5 model unit enter DT and fail their tests. Those are the 3 that die, you can't allocate onto the ones that didn't enter. Likewise you can't move around wounds suffered from DT in a unit of multi wound models.

On top of all that, specific beats general rules in case of conflict ya? This is a specific type of wounding, and the multi wound rules are general purpose.

5000 points (Blue rods are better than green!)
5000 points (Black Legion & Pre-heresy Sons of Horus) 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Apparetly "take a wound" means something different to Biccat and El than it does to everyone else.

Did another model take the wound? Then you have broken a rule. Simple, easy to understand, and consistent with the last two editions that have worked exactly the same.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: