Killjoy00 wrote:
pg 6 - models cannot voluntarily move off the board.
general prohibition against fliers moving off the board
pg 81 - a Flyer making a Zoom move will leave the board, either deliberately or by accident. If that happens, the Flyer is said to have left combat airspace.
specific allowance for Flyer making a Zoom move to leave the board
pg 80 - In a turn in which the Flyer enters the board from reserve, it can do so facing any direction you wish, providing that the resulting move will not carry it off the board again.
even more specific provision prohibiting the Zoom move from allowing the flier to leave the turn it arrives
So - a Flyer can leave the board only under two conditions - a) it is making what is defined as a "Zoom move" and it is not a turn that it arrived from reserved.
p6- "Zooming Flyers" defy this rule
p81- Here we need a
FAQ and true definition of "zoom," "zooming," "zooming flyer," "zoom move," etc. As you pointed out yesterday, a "zoom move" has been defined. But it has not. Even under the rule listing, it says "...the flyer zooms..." It does not state, "A zoom move is..." Nothing there specifically defines a "zoom move;" it simply states that a flyer that "zooms" must move up to 18 and can move up to 36 inches. The section is entitled "Zoom," and it is described as "a special kind of move called Zoom." Furthermore, it does not include or exclude flat out from being part of a "zoom," as the flyer is considered "zooming."
p80- I have gotted clarification from the rule boys and
GW officials on this rule. The "resulting move" cannot take you off the table; meaning you have to go 18 to 36 inches in the movement phase and cannot leave the table. It does not say you cannot leave the table after that. This is so you can't cut the corner of the table with the plane, and gives AAA the opportunity to shoot at them. Call 1 800 394 4263 and ask. That's all we have until they release a
FAQ.
Automatically Appended Next Post: Ricter wrote:lordybarbo wrote:I do not agree with this interpretation. I have spoken with tournament judges, GW rules guys, store managers, other players, other forums, and we have all came up with the same conclusion. The root of the question is not necessarily a zoom or flat out question; it is can the flyer voluntarily leave the field and when. I know none of these listed sources are definitive or official or even right all the time, but I stand by my interpretation, backed with the analysis of others.
While I'm not sure without looking myself which interpretation I'd agree with, one thing I'd encourage you to realize is that rules are not a popularity contest. There have been many times in the past where groups were playing rules wrong, and it just took one individual to pick up on the mistake.
In the end, it only matters what the
TOs say anyways.
I completely agree.
We have a good example; in town, there is a game group that believes that a night scythe can't even carry infantry. They say that the entry does not specifically list infantry. I told them to look at page 78, and they still do not believe it.
Also, this same group claimed that 50% of the newcron infantry mounted (or phased) in their dedicated transports (night scythes) had to be deployed. Their reason? They said that the warrior squads count towards the 50%, even though the reserve rules on p124 clearly show that a
DT and its squad are considered one for reserve purposes.
So, you are quite right, and we must all be vigilant.