Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/24 23:40:25
Subject: Question on Flyers
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
I would like to point out, that if GW did not want flyers to Zoom after a unit disembarked, they most likely would have worded it similar to the restriction on Flat Out, back in 5th (cannot disembark if the vehicle has or is going to move flat out).
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/25 02:20:00
Subject: Question on Flyers
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
|
DeathReaper wrote:It has been proven that the flyer was in hover mode last turn and stays that way until you declare movement for the flyer before the flyer moves this turn. Why can you not disembark and move normally?
If this has been proven, then is it not also true that a flyer was in zoom mode last turn and stays that way until you declare movement for the flyer before the flyer moves this turn?
|
"Ignorance is bliss, and I am a happy man."
"When you claim to be a purple unicorn, and I do not argue with you, it is not because I agree with you."
“If the iron is hot, I desire to believe it is hot, and if it is cool, I desire to believe it is cool.”
"Beware when you find yourself arguing that a policy is defensible rather than optimal; or that it has some benefit compared to the null action, rather than the best benefit of any action." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/25 02:55:20
Subject: Question on Flyers
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
foolishmortal wrote: DeathReaper wrote:It has been proven that the flyer was in hover mode last turn and stays that way until you declare movement for the flyer before the flyer moves this turn. Why can you not disembark and move normally?
If this has been proven, then is it not also true that a flyer was in zoom mode last turn and stays that way until you declare movement for the flyer before the flyer moves this turn?
Yes it has, by virtue of a previous post of mine. Nos and Mann's logic behind it is sound.
You declare Zoom in your previous turn and nothing revokes the Zooming until you declare Zoom or Hover for the vehicle in your next turn, so a hovering Flyer is Hovering until you declare Zoom or Hover in your next turn.
Likewise a Zooming flyer is Zooming until you declare zoom or hover in your next turn.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/25 12:16:35
Subject: Question on Flyers
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
The reason I don't think that option is available is that the rules use a continuing tense (yes I realise that's not the right name, I can't remember if it's the present participle).
So the flyer isn't zooming at the point the models bail out but when it zooms then the flyer has zoomed. Hence the models have disembarked from a zooming flyer that turn.
Zooming has benefits that last into the enemy's turn but does zooming's transporting benefits last into the next game turn?
I may be wrong but I doubt it's a big issue one way or the other as if you have a SR or a Valkyrie you hover and dump the troops in one go.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/12/25 12:32:33
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/25 17:00:31
Subject: Question on Flyers
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
liturgies of blood wrote:The reason I don't think that option is available is that the rules use a continuing tense (yes I realise that's not the right name, I can't remember if it's the present participle).
So the flyer isn't zooming at the point the models bail out but when it zooms then the flyer has zoomed. Hence the models have disembarked from a zooming flyer that turn.
The rules do not say that, they just say you can not disembark from a zooming flyer. The models in question did not disembark from a zooming flyer, as it was in hover mode when they disembarked.
liturgies of blood wrote:
Zooming has benefits that last into the enemy's turn but does zooming's transporting benefits last into the next game turn?
Zooming lasts until you declare zoom or hover before you move the vehicle, as proven previously, so it lasts into your turn as well.
liturgies of blood wrote:I may be wrong but I doubt it's a big issue one way or the other as if you have a SR or a Valkyrie you hover and dump the troops in one go.
Actually it will protect my dreadnought and assault marines, and give them extra movement.
I hover and fly 12, Flat out 12 giving it a 4+ jink save. Then if it is wrecked or exploded I put the dread down 24 inches from the transport's original spot. If not I disembark the units up to 6 inches away from said transport that now zooms away killing things, and I use the dread and assault marines to assault a squishy backfield unit.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/25 21:36:34
Subject: Question on Flyers
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
Well I prefer to take the risk and charge the zooming flyer forward the first turn it comes on and be in range to hover close to a target and drop the dread and something assaulty. Blast and run from there on out.
Sorry I wrote my previous post a bit quick, I was wondering is there support for counting as a skimmer lasting into the next game turn? Cos I don't see it.
As I said previously the rules say a "zooming flyer" not a "flyer that has zoomed", the first becomes a redundant statement then as you can never disembark from a flyer that has zoomed as it must have moved over 6" which is covered by the general restriction on disembarking.
That is where I am coming from.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/25 21:38:05
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/25 21:42:08
Subject: Question on Flyers
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
liturgies of blood wrote:Well I prefer to take the risk and charge the zooming flyer forward the first turn it comes on and be in range to hover close to a target and drop the dread and something assaulty. Blast and run from there on out.
well if a 24 inch move cant get you in range, then you use the zoom move to get in range. But that situation does not happen often.
liturgies of blood wrote:
Sorry I wrote my previous post a bit quick, I was wondering is there support for counting as a skimmer lasting into the next game turn? Cos I don't see it.
As I said previously the rules say a "zooming flyer" not a "flyer that has zoomed", the first becomes a redundant statement then as you can never disembark from a flyer that has zoomed as it must have moved over 6" which is covered by the general restriction on disembarking.
That is where I am coming from.
The support is on p.80-81. you declare Hover or zoom, then nothing revokes that state until you declare hover or zoom again.
We know this is true because a zooming flyer is still zooming on your opponents turn, and thus hard to hit.
And yes it is a redundant statement, as you can not disembark from a vehicle that has moved over 6 inches.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/25 21:46:21
Subject: Question on Flyers
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
I suppose I'm just going RAI and reading too much into the sentence.
36" first turn on board plus the two moves and charge on the 2nd turn should be enough to get anywhere on the board.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/25 21:54:05
Subject: Question on Flyers
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
And usually if you line things up right a 12 inch hover a 12 inch flat out when arriving from reserves then the 6 inch disembark next turn before the flyer moves + charge dice is usually enough to get you where you want to be.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/09 23:20:38
Subject: Question on Flyers
|
 |
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle
Alabama
|
liturgies of blood wrote:
36" first turn on board plus the two moves and charge on the 2nd turn should be enough to get anywhere on the board.
I assume you mean 36" on the first turn it is allowed on the board (2nd turn).
|
WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.
DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+
28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/10 01:23:59
Subject: Question on Flyers
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
puma713 wrote: liturgies of blood wrote:
36" first turn on board plus the two moves and charge on the 2nd turn should be enough to get anywhere on the board.
I assume you mean 36" on the first turn it is allowed on the board (2nd turn).
No, I mean the first turn it is on the board. (Whatever turn it shows up)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/10 03:09:18
Subject: Re:Question on Flyers
|
 |
Lieutenant Colonel
|
pg 80
"finally, models cannot embark upon, or disembark from, a zooming flyer"
So unless you have invasion beams or a similar special rule which trumps this, you cannot (dis)embark from a zooming flyer
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/10 03:10:34
Subject: Re:Question on Flyers
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
easysauce wrote:pg 80 "finally, models cannot embark upon, or disembark from, a zooming flyer" So unless you have invasion beams or a similar special rule which trumps this, you cannot (dis)embark from a zooming flyer
Most flying transports have rules that let you disembark even when zooming, or have Hover mode. There is even an FaQ about the Necron Flyer that does not have Hover to let models embark onto it even whilst zooming.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/10 03:11:27
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/10 03:13:58
Subject: Re:Question on Flyers
|
 |
Lieutenant Colonel
|
DeathReaper wrote:easysauce wrote:pg 80
"finally, models cannot embark upon, or disembark from, a zooming flyer"
So unless you have invasion beams or a similar special rule which trumps this, you cannot (dis)embark from a zooming flyer
Most flying transports have rules that let you disembark even when zooming, or have Hover mode.
There is even an FaQ about the Necron Flyer that does not have Hover to let models embark onto it even whilst zooming.
thats what I am saying... no disembark embark on flyers while zooming without special rules,
hover/skimmers follow normal transport rules (ie moved less then 6")
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/10 05:45:29
Subject: Question on Flyers
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Mannahnin wrote:So once you declare that they are Zooming, they remain Zooming until you declare that they are Hovering.
This, This, This! 1,000 times this!
Until you declare (at the start of one of your movement phases) that you are changing the flyer to Hover Mode it is assumed to be a zooming flyer.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/10 06:17:02
Subject: Question on Flyers
|
 |
Powerful Ushbati
|
Can a necron flyer enter play disembark models and leave play? Or likewise just come on and leave the board in the same turn?
|
TK - 2012 40K GT Record 18-5
4th in 2nd bracket Feast of Blades 2012 (IG/SoB); 4th Overall Midwest Massacre (IG/SW); 5th Overall Indy Open (IG); Final 16 Adepticon Open (IG)
TK - 2013 40K GT Record 24-4
Best General Indy Open (Crons/CSM)
Top 5! Bugeater GT (TauDar)
Final 4 Nova Invitational (Eldau)
Best Overall Midwest Massacre (Crons/CSM)
TK- 2014 to Date: http://www.torrentoffire.com/rankings |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/10 07:21:03
Subject: Question on Flyers
|
 |
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle
Alabama
|
Tomb King wrote:Can a necron flyer enter play disembark models and leave play? Or likewise just come on and leave the board in the same turn?
It would have to use Flat Out to do so. A flyer cannot come onto the board and leave in the movement phase.
|
WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.
DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+
28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/10 08:17:23
Subject: Question on Flyers
|
 |
Guardsman with Flashlight
|
Even without embarked unit, your point is also very appealing to destroy opponent Flyers.
Ex:
I go first and have a Vendetta, it arrives T2.
I know my opponent have a SR.
I move onto the board, leave with the Flat-out.
SR arrives T2, it can do the same but not playing an SR to avoid a Vendetta is a good trade for me.
If it stays on the table, Vendetta arrives T3 and killed the SR.
^^
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/17 03:48:28
Subject: Re:Question on Flyers
|
 |
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle
Alabama
|
Tomb King wrote:Can a necron flyer enter play disembark models and leave play? Or likewise just come on and leave the board in the same turn?
So, the FAQ clarified this. No leaving the table on a turn that a flier moved on from reserves/ongoing reserves.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/17 03:49:35
WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.
DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+
28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/17 04:05:56
Subject: Question on Flyers
|
 |
Twisting Tzeentch Horror
|
Tomb King wrote:Can a necron flyer enter play disembark models and leave play? Or likewise just come on and leave the board in the same turn?
No, the FAQ is very clear that it cannot leave the board the turn it comes on.
|
Mess with the best, Die like the rest. |
|
 |
 |
|