Switch Theme:

Ensuring a flyer enters legally...tracing lines from the wing?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Lieutenant Colonel






rigeld2 wrote:
easysauce wrote:you choose the angle of entry as per BRB, it says nothing about models not on the board yet pivoting,

It doesn't need to. They're allowed to make a normal move. Is a pivot an allowed part of a normal move? Is there anything denying the pivot?


yes, they can make a normal MOVE,

move =/= pivot as you keep saying

they can MOVE onto the board edge

pivot happens BEFORE they make a normal move, just because it happens in the movement phase, does not make it a "move" just like vector strike isnt a MOVE.

your MOVE is 18"+, end of story.

your move happens after your pivot,

you cannot pivot onto the board, you can only move onto the board.


 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





easysauce wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
Since it's considered to be "just off the board in the previous turn and moved as normal" (page 124) and you pivot around the centerpoint of the model (page 71) it's not hard to figure out.


again, you are asserting that pivoting = movement,

it is not,

Pivoting alone is not. Pivoting plus movement is.

you just like to interject Schrodinger into everything then?

Because I'm the one that brought that up?

[quoet]you assert:
pivoting is movement, because it allows me to move onto the board, and is allowed while in reserves
but it is not movement, because it does not take up the move distance, and is not calculated for move range, and it can be done from reserves.

Um. I'm not asserting that it's not movement, you are. It doesn't take up move distance or range because the rules say it doesn't.
It can be done when arriving from reserves because you're allowed to move normally onto the board.

so which is it rigel?

I'm pretty sure I've been entirely consistent...


you have not left reserves till you have MOVED onto the board,

And pivoting is part of movement...

since BRB states you simple CHOOSE the angle of ingress, not some intricate pivot while off the board

It does matter. Since you fancy geometry the starting point to measure 18" will be farther off the board if you pivot first than it would if you didn't.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
easysauce wrote:
move =/= pivot as you keep saying

No, I'm not saying that. Please quote where I have so I can correct my words or your misunderstanding.

A pivot alone is not movement.
A flyer is not pivoting alone. It is pivoting and moving.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/26 22:15:16


My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






rigeld2 wrote:
easysauce wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
Since it's considered to be "just off the board in the previous turn and moved as normal" (page 124) and you pivot around the centerpoint of the model (page 71) it's not hard to figure out.


again, you are asserting that pivoting = movement,

it is not,

Pivoting alone is not. Pivoting plus movement is.


You're just completely ignoring the fact that it states in the flyers rules that it IS pivoting on the spot and it IS before moving.

Pivoting on the spot is not moving. What is the flyer doing before it moves? And what must you do to be able to get onto the board from reserves?
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Kevin949 wrote:
So you just want to ignore the part of the flyer rules that explicitly say it's pivoting on the spot?

No. But it is not pivoting on the spot alone


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Kevin949 wrote:
Pivoting on the spot is not moving.

You're intentionally misstating the rule. Please stop doing so since it's been pointed out.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/26 22:16:46


My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






rigeld2 wrote:
 Kevin949 wrote:
So you just want to ignore the part of the flyer rules that explicitly say it's pivoting on the spot?

No. But it is not pivoting on the spot alone


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Kevin949 wrote:
Pivoting on the spot is not moving.

You're intentionally misstating the rule. Please stop doing so since it's been pointed out.


I'm not misstating the rule, you're misunderstanding the construction of the sentence. The word "alone" in there is simply solidifying that pivoting is not moving, regardless of whatever else you add. Otherwise pivoting after moving at all would count against your total movement allowance.

It's a poor choice of words but you're looking at the syntax incorrectly. Unfortunately I can't think of a better way to construct the sentence at the moment.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





If you do something alone, it counts as doing something else.

Which means that if you don't do it alone it doesn't count as that thing.

The word "alone" is before the "so" which means it is part of the first half of the sentence. Trying to ignore it is incorrect.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker




South Chicago burbs

 Kevin949 wrote:
So you just want to ignore the part of the flyer rules that explicitly say it's pivoting on the spot?

Yes, let's look at the whole sentence - Pivoting
on the spot alone does not count as moving, so a vehicle that
only pivots in the Movement phase counts as Stationary.

You see that word "so" there? That's used when imparting an example.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 BarBoBot wrote:
Making the text bigger doesn't stop you from being wrong Kevin.

It says pivoting on the spot alone does not count as moving.

If the flyer does anything besides "pivoting alone" then it IS par of the movement.

His can you type something out in such large font and not actually read it first?


Thinking I'm wrong doesn't make you right, so how about you contribute instead of berate.


I neve said you don't get an opinion, I said big font doesn't make you right.

Yelling isn't goin to prove anything, so you should relax, take a breath and make your case without the caps.

insaniak wrote:
YMDC has plenty of room for discussion veering away from the RAW, particularly in cases like this where what is being put forward as the RAW is absurd.

11k
4K
4k
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Premise 1: pivoting is included in a flyers movement.

Do we agree on Premise 1?

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Kevin949 wrote:
The word "alone" in there is simply solidifying that pivoting is not moving, regardless of whatever else you add. Otherwise pivoting after moving at all would count against your total movement allowance.

No, the sentence is literally saying what happens if you pivot alone.
Pivoting would never count against your movement distance as the rules for pivoting say that they don't.

It's a poor choice of words but you're looking at the syntax incorrectly. Unfortunately I can't think of a better way to construct the sentence at the moment.

If you can't reword the sentence to support your argument, perhaps it's not my reading that is incorrect.


Edit: A Flyer crashes if it moves. Would you agree with that sentence?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/03/26 22:56:33


My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Pg. 124. Each model's move is measured from the edge of the battlefield, as if they had been positioned just off the board in the previous turn and moved as normal.


Pg 80. In a turn in which a Flyer enters the board from reserve, it can do so facing any direcion you wish, providing that the resulting move will not caryr it off the board again.


There is no pivoting, or measuring hull or anything required. The rule states to measure from the board edge and the Flyer is allowed to come in at any angle. So you pick a point and measure 18" and then place your Flyer on the board.

   
Made in us
Numberless Necron Warrior





Ah... Dakkadakka... pure ridiculous. It's odd how I've never had a single argument or complaint from anybody at local gamestores or tourneys.

You start your movement at the edge of the board. You can make one 90 degree pivot. Onto the board you go. In most cases you can end up coming in at such an acute angle to the side of the board that your wing will be almost touching the side of the board.

Where is the problem with this?

You START your movement on the outside of the board.
You can make a 90 degree pivot in your MOVEMENT phase
You come in at a straight line to that angle.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/04/13 19:54:10


 
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






 Budikah wrote:
You START your movement on the outside of the board.
You can make a 90 degree pivot in your MOVEMENT phase
You come in at a straight line to that angle.

rigeld2 sounds like a blast to play against.

So you agree 100% with Rigeld on how the rule should be played, but you wouldn't want to play him?
That's an... interesting... philosophy you've got there.
   
Made in dk
Stormin' Stompa





I am not sure that he was being sarcastic...

-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."

18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000


 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





I actually am fun to play against. It's almost like arguing RAW has nothing to do with how I play.

Funny, that.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 Budikah wrote:
Ah... Dakkadakka... pure ridiculous. It's odd how I've never had a single argument or complaint from anybody at local gamestores or tourneys.

You start your movement at the edge of the board. You can make one 90 degree pivot. Onto the board you go. In most cases you can end up coming in at such an acute angle to the side of the board that your wing will be almost touching the side of the board.

Where is the problem with this?.



Technically its not, especially if you take into account Pg 124. If for some reason a model's maximum move is insufficient to fit the entire model onto the board, or it becomes Immobilised itself whilst moving onto the board, place the model so that its rear end is touching the board edge.

Which would allow almost a 0 degree angle .
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Not really - a Flyers maximum move is absolutely sufficient to have it fit on the board. You can't just choose not to be on the board and get a free bump.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Logically, absolutely. But what rulewise prevents you from doing that ?
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Fragile wrote:
Logically, absolutely. But what rulewise prevents you from doing that ?

Because there's no rule forcing you

Your movement is demonstrably sufficient to move onto the board.
The vehicle is not immobilized.

Therefore, no free bump.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Rogue Grot Kannon Gunna





Quanar wrote:
 Budikah wrote:
You START your movement on the outside of the board.
You can make a 90 degree pivot in your MOVEMENT phase
You come in at a straight line to that angle.

rigeld2 sounds like a blast to play against.

So you agree 100% with Rigeld on how the rule should be played, but you wouldn't want to play him?
That's an... interesting... philosophy you've got there.


Agreeing with someone on a specific point, does not mean that they agree with the tone or demeanor of the other person.

You and Charles Manson could agree that ice cream is tasty, doesn't mean that you want to hang out and have a cone together!
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 Idolator wrote:
You and Charles Manson could agree that ice cream is tasty, doesn't mean that you want to hang out and have a cone together!


Maybe...is he buying?
   
Made in us
Rogue Grot Kannon Gunna





 Happyjew wrote:
 Idolator wrote:
You and Charles Manson could agree that ice cream is tasty, doesn't mean that you want to hang out and have a cone together!


Maybe...is he buying?


Made me spit my drink. Good job.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: