Switch Theme:

The FAQ'ed range of wound pools  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






San Jose, CA

 Dakkafang Dreggrim wrote:
So from my understanding is that I should always put 1 or 2 mekboys with burna boys.

Say I am with in flamer range, but only 4 out of 10 models can be hit by my flamers. But the other 6 is in range of my mega blastas.

I do 20 wounds with flamers, 0 with the mega blastas. The entire 10 man unit can be killed if it fails enough saves, even though only 4 can actually be hit by the flamer template (since they are all withing the 24 inch range of the mega blastas) ??
Correct.

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes? 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 Dakkafang Dreggrim wrote:
So from my understanding is that I should always put 1 or 2 mekboys with burna boys.

Say I am with in flamer range, but only 4 out of 10 models can be hit by my flamers. But the other 6 is in range of my mega blastas.

I do 20 wounds with flamers, 0 with the mega blastas. The entire 10 man unit can be killed if it fails enough saves, even though only 4 can actually be hit by the flamer template (since they are all withing the 24 inch range of the mega blastas) ??

That is correct.

Only the enemy models that were not within range any of the shooting models when To Hit rolls were made are exempt from wound allocation.

If all 10 models were in range of the mega blastas, when To Hit rolls were made, then all 10 models can be allocated wounds.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
The Last Chancer Who Survived




United Kingdom

 Dakkafang Dreggrim wrote:
So from my understanding is that I should always put 1 or 2 mekboys with burna boys.

Say I am with in flamer range, but only 4 out of 10 models can be hit by my flamers. But the other 6 is in range of my mega blastas.

I do 20 wounds with flamers, 0 with the mega blastas. The entire 10 man unit can be killed if it fails enough saves, even though only 4 can actually be hit by the flamer template (since they are all withing the 24 inch range of the mega blastas) ??

Pretty much.

This is about as logical as 5th...
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Sorry to resurrect an old thread, but I just wanted to make sure I understand this since I've been away from the hobby, and I didn't want to create another thread.

Lets say I had 5 wraithguards that want to shoot at 4 space marines. The 5 shots of the 12in range of the wraithcannon only reaches up to 3 out of the 4 marines but they cause 4 wounds, does that mean only 3 will die because that's all that are in range, and that 4th wound is disregarded?

Another situation with D-scythes. 5 wraithguard with d-scythes come up on a unit of 10 guardsmen. The flame template reaches the front 4 but causes 8 wounds. So again, would that mean only the front 4 will die and the remaining 4 wounds get disregarded? Or do these wounds carry out through the targeted squad even though they are not in range?

I know it's been discussed before but just wasn't sure about this situation. Thanks again

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/22 22:26:22


 
   
Made in be
Kelne





That way,then left

adawoodi wrote:
Sorry to resurrect an old thread, but I just wanted to make sure I understand this since I've been away from the hobby, and I didn't want to create another thread.

Lets say I had 5 wraithguards that want to shoot at 4 space marines. The 5 shots of the 12in range of the wraithcannon only reaches up to 3 out of the 4 marines but they cause 4 wounds, does that mean only 3 will die because that's all that are in range, and that 4th wound is disregarded?

Another situation with D-scythes. 5 wraithguard with d-scythes come up on a unit of 10 guardsmen. The flame template reaches the front 4 but causes 8 wounds. So again, would that mean only the front 4 will die and the remaining 4 wounds get disregarded? Or do these wounds carry out through the targeted squad even though they are not in range?

I know it's been discussed before but just wasn't sure about this situation. Thanks again

You may only allocate wounds in range of weapons that shot. In both case only short ranged weapons (template or 12" ) were shot, so that's the maximal range of allocation. So 3 wounds in the first case and 4 in the other.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: