Switch Theme:

last deaths at the same time  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets






If you both ended the game with no models on the table, and an equal number of VPs, it is a draw. plain and simple.
   
Made in us
On a Canoptek Spyder's Waiting List




In the OP's example, I would look at the exploding vehicle happening at the same initiative step as the model who strikes it. When you roll to penetrate, you roll on a results table. On a 6, the vehicle explodes. After exploding, the model is then destroyed.

There's a sequence that takes place for the whole event. You don't roll on the results table, see that the vehicle explodes and then say "STOP! TURNS OVER! I WIN!". That's not how I see RAW.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




nosferatu1001 wrote:
 Super Ready wrote:
Acid Blood I can agree with. However, the original situation - the Chaplain exploding the tank - is as a direct result of the Chaplain's close combat attack, so it should still count as simultaneous there, right?

Why would it be? The explosion itself has an enforced sequence, that does result in the game ending conditions being met BEFORE the chaplain bites the dust.

You are told close combat attacks are simultaneous - nothing requires that *anything* within an I step is therefore simultaneous.


Perhaps you should reread the rule. It is very clear and states that the same I step is simultaneous.
   
Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal





Washington, USA

Oddly enough, both players wiped out their opponent's army so both are awarded a crushing victory. Says so right on p 122.


 
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





Eureka California

Super Ready wrote:Acid Blood I can agree with. However, the original situation - the Chaplain exploding the tank - is as a direct result of the Chaplain's close combat attack, so it should still count as simultaneous there, right?


The Acid blood effect is a direct result of the HT getting wounded. Explodes is a direct result of the vehicle getting pinned. I'm not sure why you believe the timing on these would be different.

Fragile wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
 Super Ready wrote:
Acid Blood I can agree with. However, the original situation - the Chaplain exploding the tank - is as a direct result of the Chaplain's close combat attack, so it should still count as simultaneous there, right?

Why would it be? The explosion itself has an enforced sequence, that does result in the game ending conditions being met BEFORE the chaplain bites the dust.

You are told close combat attacks are simultaneous - nothing requires that *anything* within an I step is therefore simultaneous.


Perhaps you should reread the rule. It is very clear and states that the same I step is simultaneous.


You still have yet to cite a rule that says everything in the step is simultaneous. Please do so as we have been asking for two pages now.

-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




I did on the first page. First Blood, pg 122.

If two or more units from opposing forces are removed simultaneously (for exarnple, at the same Initiative step in an Assault phase)


The same INI step is given as GW's example of simultaneous.
   
Made in gb
Tough Tyrant Guard





SHE-FI-ELD

Fragile wrote:
I did on the first page. First Blood, pg 122.

If two or more units from opposing forces are removed simultaneously (for exarnple, at the same Initiative step in an Assault phase)


The same INI step is given as GW's example of simultaneous.


Example being...
Controlling player rolls to hit, this is considered simultaneous to the Opposing players roll to hit (If it wasn't then you get all kinds of positioning problems...)
Controlling player rolls to wound, this is considered simultaneous to the Opposing players roll to wound, but not simultaneous to (either sides) rolls to hit.

This is what the rules say, the rules do not say all steps in a Innitiative step are simultaneous

It's my codex and I'll cry If I want to.

Tactical objectives are fantastic 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





 Nem wrote:
Fragile wrote:
I did on the first page. First Blood, pg 122.

If two or more units from opposing forces are removed simultaneously (for exarnple, at the same Initiative step in an Assault phase)


The same INI step is given as GW's example of simultaneous.


Example being...
Controlling player rolls to hit, this is considered simultaneous to the Opposing players roll to hit (If it wasn't then you get all kinds of positioning problems...)
Controlling player rolls to wound, this is considered simultaneous to the Opposing players roll to wound, but not simultaneous to (either sides) rolls to hit.

This is what the rules say, the rules do not say all steps in a Innitiative step are simultaneous


Are you claiming that captain and sergeant kill each other in combat the sergeant dies first because the captain has an invulnerable save? Because that really isn't what the rules say...

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





Eureka California

And again, it says CC attacks are simultaneous. One can extrapolate that wounds and casualties generated by those attacks can also be considered simultaneous which I do.

We are discussing the result of a CC attack and the result of 'Explodes!', which is not a CC attack. You are saying everything in the I step happens at the same time even beyond CC attacks and we are asking for your evidence.

A line that says two casualties in the same I step can be simultaneous does not mean all of them are.

-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




You can try to justify your position how you want for HIWPI. But until you have a FAQ stating otherwise, GW stated that casualties in the same INI Step are simultaneous.

Did the vehicle Explode during the I Step? Yes. Then by rule, it is simultaneous with any other casualty in that I step.
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





Eureka California

Fragile wrote:
You can try to justify your position how you want for HIWPI. But until you have a FAQ stating otherwise, GW stated that casualties in the same INI Step are simultaneous.

Did the vehicle Explode during the I Step? Yes. Then by rule, it is simultaneous with any other casualty in that I step.


No. The rule uses 'during the same I step' as an example of when two models are removed at the same time because most will be removed at the same time... from CC attacks. There are always exceptions though and the sequence of events in an I step, the order of operation for the 'explodes!' mechanic and precedence from similar effects all point to the fact that casualties from the explosion do not happen until after casualties from CC attacks.

You seem to be completely unwilling to see that so play as you like, I think we are done here.

-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. 
   
Made in us
Hooded Inquisitorial Interrogator





 tmo38 wrote:
so me and my freind were playing 1000 points eldar vs. dark angels and it ended with two models on the feild a war walker and my chaplin which then got into close combat i had managed to get a pin and blow it up but then the explosion killed me considering this made us tied in kill points how should we decide who won?


You both win this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v7WlyuI7xGI
   
Made in gb
Tough Tyrant Guard





SHE-FI-ELD

 FlingitNow wrote:
 Nem wrote:
Fragile wrote:
I did on the first page. First Blood, pg 122.

If two or more units from opposing forces are removed simultaneously (for exarnple, at the same Initiative step in an Assault phase)


The same INI step is given as GW's example of simultaneous.


Example being...
Controlling player rolls to hit, this is considered simultaneous to the Opposing players roll to hit (If it wasn't then you get all kinds of positioning problems...)
Controlling player rolls to wound, this is considered simultaneous to the Opposing players roll to wound, but not simultaneous to (either sides) rolls to hit.

This is what the rules say, the rules do not say all steps in a Innitiative step are simultaneous


Are you claiming that captain and sergeant kill each other in combat the sergeant dies first because the captain has an invulnerable save? Because that really isn't what the rules say...



Hmmm, Casualties are removed after saves. If you don't have a save I don't believe it stops that step existing, you are still removed at the 'Remove casualties step' if you do or do not get a save, which would be simultaneous, for both players in CC at that I step.

[edit] Sorry that was wrong, saves are inclusive in the Allocating wounds step, but the reasoning still applies

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/08/04 08:12:53


It's my codex and I'll cry If I want to.

Tactical objectives are fantastic 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: