Switch Theme:

Heldrake Arc of Fire  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Apprehensive Inquisitorial Apprentice




Columbia SC

 Kommissar Kel wrote:
 Slayer le boucher wrote:
It doesn't mean that the drake can't shoot in a 360 arc.


Q: How do I determine the Arc of Sight for a Heldrake’s ranged
weapon? (p52)
A: Treat the Heldrake’s ranged weapon as a Turret
Mounted Weapon
, measuring all ranges from the edge of
the Heldrake’s base nearest to the target unit.


Your underlined is not what matters, the half of the sentence after it does.

Just being a turreted weapon does not mean it has a 360* arc of fire; the Arc of fire is determined by turning the gun towards its target, or where it looks like the gun would be capable of turning, or in this case following the directions given to you to use the edge of the base nearest the target(giving it a 360* arc with a bit further range fore and aft).

It is a simple case of reading the actual rules that will help you understand this: Ignore the pretty pictures on that page, they are not the rules.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 grendel083 wrote:
 deviantduck wrote:
 Kommissar Kel wrote:
Obscured by hull means that it has less than a 360* arc of Fire now doesn't it?


It still has a 360* arc. It just has some of the arc's line of sight blocked.
Thgere's a difference between the Hull Obscuring the weapon, and the hull stopping the weapon from physically rotating. The Land Raider turret physically cannot rotate 360*.


And the Heavy Bolter turret on the Baneblade cannot.

And the Turret Ball mount of the Night Scythe does not look like it can traverse more than 45*

The turret on the Storm Raven cannot traverse 360*

What is your point?

Or do I need to go on?

Deviant Duck: The Arc Of fire is the LOS



Why would you get worked up over the semantics of turrets and their AoF? Then you question someone's ability to understand the rules when you clearly do not understand how the shooting phase properly works yourself.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/02 22:10:51


 
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

 grendel083 wrote:
 BlackTalos wrote:
My bad, i just knew we had decided it was not a turret.
Because someone 3 years ago from 5th Edition said it wasn't?

It most certainly is a turret.


I would disagree by quoting a definition from a dictionary: Turret - 3. a domelike structure, usu. revolving horizontally, in which a gun is mounted, as on an armored vehicle, ship, or aircraft.
It needs to be just like the Predator, Leman russ and Stormraven turrets: a relatively large block-like structure possibly housing a Gunner.

Not an assault cannon on a stick, which is closer to the chimera HB or Leman Russ LasCannon (both Hull-mounted weapons).
Also if you check your older codexes, the LandRaider weapon was previously RaW Hull-mounted (even if it no longer applies, why would that change)

My 2 cents...

On the Hellturkey subject, the FAQ is pretty clear:
Spoiler:
Chaos Space Marines v1.2 APRIL13 FAQ wrote:Q: How do I determine the Arc of Sight for a Heldrake’s ranged
weapon? (p52)
A: Treat the Heldrake’sranged weapon as a Turret
Mounted Weapon, measuring allranges from the edge of
the Heldrake’s base nearest to the target unit.

DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

 BlackTalos wrote:
 grendel083 wrote:
 BlackTalos wrote:
My bad, i just knew we had decided it was not a turret.
Because someone 3 years ago from 5th Edition said it wasn't?

It most certainly is a turret.
I would disagree by quoting a definition from a dictionary: Turret - 3. a domelike structure, usu. revolving horizontally, in which a gun is mounted, as on an armored vehicle, ship, or aircraft.
The Land Raider turrets fits that description perfectly.
It needs to be just like the Predator, Leman russ and Stormraven turrets: a relatively large block-like structure possibly housing a Gunner.
Size isn't everything dude.
And the definition doesn't call for a gunner.

Edit: Bare in mind the the mounting in question is the EXACT SAME one used for the Razorback. Are you saying this is also Hull Mounted?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/02 23:42:42


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Erm, no, the turret assault cannon is nothing like the lascannon on a chimera. One is affixed to the hull and cannot move, the other is on a rotating, turret-like structure.
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Bottom line the weapon has to be able to point at the target.

If it is glued in place but could have pointed at the target it can still shoot.

Helldrake is FAQ'd so no point in even discussing it further.

So if when properly assembled it's not possible to rotate the weapon to point at the target it cannot shoot at the target.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: