Uptopdownunder wrote:There is nothing anywhere that says that deployment and movement are different. I mean fair crack of the whip, if I'm being asked to cite things I think you need to as well. Deployment not equaling movement is a concept that has been introduced and it does have a certain degree of merit but it isn't something presented in the rules set.
Movement is defined - how and when it happens.
Deployment is defined - how and when it happens.
It's not possible to prove a negative. It should be possible to prove this positively if you could support your position with actual rules.
Since you've again failed to support your position, however, your position cannot be correct.
The preamble the the chapter dealing with the Movement phase makes it pretty clear that it is all about moving things. Yes there are other things that go on in the phase that aren't movement ()can't really think of one ATM) but I have no problem with going with the default that "happens in the movement phase, looks like movement" = movement.
So spawning Termagants, taking dangerous terrain tests, casting Blessings/Maledictions are all movement?
The battlements of a bastion are now clarified as being regarded as the upper levels of a ruin. The rules for ruin forbid artillery from occupying them.
That's incorrect. The actual ruins rules say Artillery cannot move on the upper levels of a Ruin. Unless i missed something.
I see what you are saying however and the important difference in the TFC example is that is the the path to the battlement that is impassable, not the battlement itself.
It's not impassable at all.
There seems to be a bit of confusion creeping in here, I am not saying that the act or repositioning the initial model to the point nominated by the scatter is movement, i.e. from the intended point to the end point. I'm sorry if I gave that impression. What I am saying is that whether deep strike is movement or not the act of deep striking ends the move of the model/unit and so therefore satisfies the requirement for the skimmer to be forced to end it's move. I do not agree that the ability for a skimmer to end it's move on impassable terrain or be moved off enemy units that it ends its move over is something that accrues at some nebulous moment in time.
The Deep Strike isn't finished until scatter is resolved. Correct?
Scatter isn't resolved until you figure out if the unit mishapped, correct?
Why are you saying the skimmers movement is over (remember, it's required to be forced to ends its movement there for the rule to trigger) before completing the scatter resolution?
A mishap occurs when a unit cannot be deployed, not sure what you are getting at with those last two things. I'm confident you know that Drop pods have the special rule that allows them to reduce their scatter distance to areas that they cannot be deployed in.
You've asserted that deployment and movement are equivilant. If they are, and we know models cannot move into impassable terrain, why would a model be able to scatter into impassable terrain?