Switch Theme:

Charging from an infiltrated transport  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Poll
If a transport is given the Infiltrate special rule, can the embarked unit charge on turn 1?
Yes
No

View results
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
The Hive Mind





Ghazkuul wrote:
I would put it this way to end this argument.
1: If you tried playing this in a friendly game between people in your club they would most likely tell you no, RAI means that unit scouted. even thought it doesn't specifically state it, you can easily see that the point was never written because the rule designers didn't think people would try to push the bounds.

Incorrect. And they went out of their way to state it for Infiltrated units, but not Scout units. There's also a rule in the Ork supplement about not being able to charge from a Scouted vehicle using their special rule - which points to it actually being RAI that you normally can.
Perhaps if you'd read the thread you'd have realized this.

2: if you tried this in a real tournament I Guaranty you the judges would rule in favor of the terminator squad having counted as scouting.

Also incorrect. I can guarantee you're wrong.

Regardless this is one of those things that needs to be fixed by GW to put the question to bed. Props to you for finding a loop hole in that situation, I just wouldn't allow it in my games :-P

Cool. I won't allow shooting in my games. We're on equal footing as far as ignoring rules. Have fun!

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 Lobukia wrote:
They think they've found some clever loophole and aren't going to let it go. I've gotten philosophical on this one and am satisfied that I'll never ever see someone pull this off and any TO or club rules judge allow it when looking at the RAW. I suggest just letting it be.

1) it's not a loophole. Have you read the hazy supplement, for further proof you aren't even in safe RAI territory here?
2) I've seen both to and club judges allow it, because the raw is clear.

Houserule it all you like, but then I'll houserule that you cannot shoot. Fairs fair when we're arbitrarily changing rules.
   
Made in ca
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta




nosferatu1001 wrote:
 Lobukia wrote:
They think they've found some clever loophole and aren't going to let it go. I've gotten philosophical on this one and am satisfied that I'll never ever see someone pull this off and any TO or club rules judge allow it when looking at the RAW. I suggest just letting it be.

1) it's not a loophole. Have you read the hazy supplement, for further proof you aren't even in safe RAI territory here?
2) I've seen both to and club judges allow it, because the raw is clear.

Houserule it all you like, but then I'll houserule that you cannot shoot. Fairs fair when we're arbitrarily changing rules.


Have you read the deployment rules to see the 3 rules you are breaking, your clubs are breaking and those TO's are breaking.

Can you deploy a transport with a unit already in side it? NO
So how do you deploy something with a unit inside it? You can't.
If you try to deploy the transport with a unit in it, you are breaking the rules
If you try to deploy a unit into a transport that is outside the deployment zone, you are breaking the rules

The scout move allows you to re deploy your unit, but you still need to follow all the rules for deploying your army.

RAW for deploying your army is also clear and what you suggest violates many said rules.

 
   
Made in us
Krazed Killa Kan




Homestead, FL

you really don't have to get rude, im just telling you how I see it, and how my club would handle it. If you are playing this game to be super competitive then your doing it right, if your trying to have fun, your being kinda of a buzz kill. When in doubt ask your opponent, if he says go for it, then go for it.

I come in peace. I didn't bring artillery. But I'm pleading with you, with tears in my eyes: If you mess with me, I'll kill you all

Marine General James Mattis, to Iraqi tribal leaders 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Ghazkuul wrote:
you really don't have to get rude, im just telling you how I see it, and how my club would handle it. If you are playing this game to be super competitive then your doing it right, if your trying to have fun, your being kinda of a buzz kill. When in doubt ask your opponent, if he says go for it, then go for it.

I wasn't being rude. You made a statement that was factually incorrect - I corrected you.
Saying "I Guaranty (sic) you the judges would rule in favor of the terminator squad having counted as scouting" when you can't, in fact, guarantee that - and judges have ruled in favor of them not scouting - means you are not correct.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: