Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/01 06:11:02
Subject: Deathwing deployment interpretations.
|
 |
Armored Iron Breaker
Peachland BC
|
and as ive said before im willing to come the neutral ground where there is more or less conflict in the writing for example literally the line right after stating ic have rules saying they get none unless it says they do. as a player who plays dark angels and seek fair games with my Opponents, on this particular topic i would discuss and clarify with person accross the table beforehand thats all.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/01 06:19:46
Subject: Deathwing deployment interpretations.
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
rocksteadygreeny wrote:well then why did they bother with the special rules subsection in independent characters if not to clarify that IC cannot claim special rules unless the rule itself specifically states otherwords.
Because there are other rules which state they only apply to models with the rule, or models composed entirely of models with the rule etc.
Stubborn says it applies to a unit.
The CAD reference is irrelevant since the character can legally join a unit and it does not interfere with any of the rulings, but during deployment there are rules that still need to be adhered to.
Have you read the Combined Reserve Units part of the rules? Here, I'll quote it for you:
"During deployment, when deciding which units are kept as Reserves, you must specify if any of the Independent Characters in Reserve are joining a unit, in which case they must arrive together. Similarly, you must specify if any units in Reserve are embarked upon any Transport vehicles in Reserve, in which case they will arrive together. In either case, when making a Reserve Roll (see below) for a combined unit, roll a single dice for the unit and/or its Independent Character/Transport vehicle."
This tells us that an Independent Character can join a unit, and that they must arrive together. Joining an Independent Character to a Deathwing unit in our example doesn't interfere with this at all.
like the infiltrate example I gave, yes a charcter can a unit with infiltrate whether before or during the game thats fine but he cannot infiltrate if he doesnt have the rule.
This isn't the same, because the Independent Character rules explicitly tell us that an Independent Character without the Infiltrate special rule cannot join a unit with the Infiltrate special rule, or vice versa, during deployment.
a chaplin on a bike while during the game yes he could join units with the deepstrike rule, yes before th game start i can say hey hes joining my termies, that doesnt allow him to deepstrike though
That's because Deep Strike requires all models in the unit to have the rule. Your formation has no such requirement - it simply applies to units.
This is really simple stuff but you keep giving examples that don't work, because they're not the same as the situation we're discussing, or are completely irrelevant.
which leads me to the formation. deathwing assault does not confer to anyone only models apart of the formation have deathwing assault, the company master does not have it, the IC rules state he cannot claim the special rule if the rule itself doesnt state that it confers (which it doesn't-because he is not in the formation)
Deathwing Assault doesn't require any models in the unit to have the rule. It simply applies to certain units. The IC rules say no such thing about benefiting from the rule - they simply say the rule doesn't confer unless it says so, like Stubborn. And Stubborn apples to a unit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/01 06:57:27
Subject: Deathwing deployment interpretations.
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
rocksteadygreeny wrote:well then why did they bother with the special rules subsection in independent characters if not to clarify that IC cannot claim special rules unless the rule itself specifically states otherwords.
For two reasons:
1) The IC is not an original member of the unit. It is to prevent those rules which only affect models who possess them from granting them to joined ICs and vice-versa. That rule in which the IC counts as part of the unit for all rules purposes could be interpreted that they get the unit's rules for themselves since they are all part of the unit now.
2) Conversely, because there are some times a Special Rule (no matter the source) needs to be able to affect all the models in the unit because all the models in the unit will be engaged by the rule, even if not everyone has it.
Therefore, the default rule is they don't mix (this is even in the introduction of the Special Rules section), but in certain cases they can. These cases are allowed if they state "as in Stubborn".
rocksteadygreeny wrote:i have not used stubborn to support my arguement, as i said before its only come up because it is referenced in the independent characters subsection as an example of a rule that an IC can adopt (because it says in the rules models without it can take advantage as long as one model in the unit has stubborn)
You used one line from Stubborn to support your argument. One that some of us have seen posted in every discussion on this topic.
But again, that one line does not state that "models without it can take advantage as long as one model in the unit has it". It is only when Stubborn reflects back to saying "they" receive the benefit is it referring to the unit that has met its requirements. And it is only as a member of "they" that an IC without Stubborn can benefit from it while joined to a unit who does have it.
Counter Attack has this same line of " a unit with at least one model with this special rule". However, it later states, " every model with the Counter-attack special rule" is who gets to benefit.
rocksteadygreeny wrote:The CAD reference is irrelevant since the character can legally join a unit and it does not interfere with any of the rulings, but during deployment there are rules that still need to be adhered to. like the infiltrate example I gave, yes a charcter can a unit with infiltrate whether before or during the game thats fine but he cannot infiltrate if he doesnt have the rule. a chaplin on a bike while during the game yes he could join units with the deepstrike rule, yes before th game start i can say hey hes joining my termies, that doesnt allow him to deepstrike though which leads me to the formation. deathwing assault does not confer to anyone only models apart of the formation have deathwing assault, the company master does not have it, the IC rules state he cannot claim the special rule if the rule itself doesnt state that it confers (which it doesn't-because he is not in the formation)
Several problems with your assertions.
1) Why cannot an IC interfere with a CAD Command Benefit if they can with the Deathwing Detachments? If the IC is the closest one to the Objective, would not his own "unit" conflict with the Troops? The answer is, that the IC does not interfere with these rules because these rules do not set this as a condition.
2) Infiltrate has specific restrictions against non-Infiltrators and Infiltrators joining during Deployment. Neither of the Deathwing detachments' special rules have this restriction.
3) So, too, Deep Strike also has specific restrictions, just like Fleet. In order to voluntarily Deep Strike, all the models in the unit must have the Deep Strike Special Rule. Unlike Deep Strike or Fleet, the Deathwing detachments' special rules do not have this specification.
4) The Deathwing detachments confer rules to the units, which then confer them to the models. HOWEVER, the rules themselves of which we speak do not address models at all. They only address the units. The fact that one of the models may come from a different detachment is never stated as a problem in either rule any more than it is not stated in Stubborn.
You are clouding your own mind with this concept that units and models are equal. They are not any more equal than your left thumb is equal to you, and for the same reason. Your thumb is but one piece of you, just like when an IC joins a unit, it is considered one more piece of that unit they joined.
Also, you seem convinced that the IC is to be treated as a separate unit while joined to another unit. This is not factual in any sense, nor have you (nor anyone else) established that this is factual by any rule given in the rulebook or its supplements.
Also, you seem convinced that Detachment special rules, Formation or Command Benefit, operate to a different standard than the Universal Special Rules. Let me be quite clear on this, aside from the loss of Command Benefits by Unbound army building, there are no rules which make Detachment special rules any different from the Universal Special Rules, period. They all operate under the same restrictions and concepts.
Now, how a Detachment special rule is written differently is due to the fact that the Universal Special Rules is because USRs can be used by any unit or IC in any army. So, too, some Detachment Special Rules will be on ICs and units, but most are concerned only with the units inside them as so many of them now have no ICs in them whatsoever.
Now consider this, a Deathwing IC from a Deathwing detachment joins a Blood Angels Vanguard Jump Squad in Deep Strike. Do you think that we believe that this Detachment special rule will affect the Vanguards?
Let me put your mind at rest, that the answer is no, we do not believe this. Why? Because the Deathwing MODEL is in a Blood Angels UNIT, and the Blood Angels unit does not benefit from a detachment rule that only affects units from the Deathwing detachment.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/01 15:40:47
Subject: Deathwing deployment interpretations.
|
 |
Armored Iron Breaker
Peachland BC
|
see the one thing that i cannot agree with because on your aide of the arguement you are assuming a few things, the first being that "for all rules and purposes" include special rules, in my mind and how the book is setup and how most things interact with special rules this is not true. i say that because special rules have their own section entirely, and is not apart of the actual section of brb that gives us our general rules on everything "mundane" persay. and in that sense the IC description above rings true, he joins a unit he effectively becomes a member of that unit(cannot be singled put when shooting, consider his stats when taking tests, etc etc), thats fine but he does not have the special rules they have as noted shortly after in the special rules subsection. now as youve stated, command benefits work as USR which is all well and good, however look at every single rule "like" stubborn the ones that confer to the unit (preffered enemy, tank hunter etc) they all have pretty much the exsact description in how they interact with others "at least one model has x the unit gets it" obviously not copy and pasted but you all get what im saying, so if anything is to be assumed it would be unless a rule has that in the description it would not confer and deathwing assault yes say units but does not anything about there only needing to be a single model for the unit to benefit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/01 16:28:11
Subject: Deathwing deployment interpretations.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
All rules. Is all rules. Special rules are, by definition, rules.
It isn't an assumption. It's a fact.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/01 16:40:21
Subject: Deathwing deployment interpretations.
|
 |
Armored Iron Breaker
Peachland BC
|
i feel like they wouldnt have needed to create a subsection specific to addressing special rules then, and adding a small blurb about the IC not being able to adopt rules without them saying, instead they chose to have IC act like a member of a unit for all general purpose and then added the section about special rules to address them separately as the USR typically operate outside the normal rules and/or change them in their own way
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/01 18:47:59
Subject: Deathwing deployment interpretations.
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
rocksteadygreeny wrote:
The CAD reference is irrelevant since the character can legally join a unit and it does not interfere with any of the rulings, but during deployment there are rules that still need to be adhered to. like the infiltrate example I gave, yes a charcter can a unit with infiltrate whether before or during the game thats fine but he cannot infiltrate if he doesnt have the rule. a chaplin on a bike while during the game yes he could join units with the deepstrike rule, yes before th game start i can say hey hes joining my termies, that doesnt allow him to deepstrike though which leads me to the formation. deathwing assault does not confer to anyone only models apart of the formation have deathwing assault, the company master does not have it, the IC rules state he cannot claim the special rule if the rule itself doesnt state that it confers (which it doesn't-because he is not in the formation)
But he does have the rule. He has both Deathwing and terminator armor. The only part that's saying he doesn't have the rule is that he's not apart of the formation. But he becomes apart of the formation when he joins the unit that is apart of the formation so therefore so is he. Since that joining of the unit during deployment takes place after establishing your list for Demi and redemption he doesn't interfere with his original slot.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/01 19:03:56
Subject: Deathwing deployment interpretations.
|
 |
Armored Iron Breaker
Peachland BC
|
he cannot be apart of 2 formations though the formation rules state that no model/unit can be apart of 2 formations simultaneously Automatically Appended Next Post: 4th paragraph of detachments second bolded sentence to be more precise on the topic being in multiple formations.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/05/01 19:06:54
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/01 19:15:52
Subject: Deathwing deployment interpretations.
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
rocksteadygreeny wrote:he cannot be apart of 2 formations though the formation rules state that no model/unit can be apart of 2 formations simultaneously
Automatically Appended Next Post:
4th paragraph of detachments second bolded sentence to be more precise on the topic being in multiple formations.
He isn't. He's in Demi. Nothing is altering that. You established your formation during the first step of setting up the game. The second step being placing terrain. Third step being declaring deployment. So. Verbally it would go like this.
I hand my list to my opponent if asked
Who is who and what is what
Roll off terrain
Now I say. "I'm deploying this IC with this unit."
Since the unit benefits from the formation rule and he becomes apart of the unit for all rules purposes. He now has the same deployment rule
Since I've outfitted him the same as the unit I.E. He has terminator armor so can teleport with them. Even has the Deathwing rule inherent in his profile, there is nothing that can possibly stop him from deploying with them. Since by doing so he adopts the rules applied to the unit since he is effectively a member of the nut now he now gets the formation rule. Since all of this took place after establishing your list that you put a period at the end of that step and statement it does not change or alter in anyway his original list placement
Automatically Appended Next Post: The game is pretty literal
It is meant to be
You do everything by steps and phases
This deployment is taking place during a completely different step I think that's sort of allows it to happen honestly.
If you are searching for a more fluid visual of what the steps would look like if they were happening live let me help you
So on a strike cruiser the two formations Demi and Redemption are assembled and waiting to launch their attack.
One side of the room is the Demi and the other is redemption
The company master (in terminator armor) spies his old pal Belial from across the room and saunters over to say what's up
Belial says "yo man you got yer termie armor I see, wanna tele down with us and tag along?"
The company master being a good sport says "yeah man that's cool I'm down for whatever."
Then the battle begins.
Does that help?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/05/01 19:21:53
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/01 19:34:11
Subject: Deathwing deployment interpretations.
|
 |
Armored Iron Breaker
Peachland BC
|
im not argueing fluff wise, obviously a company master could do this im in no way saying he wouldn't/couldnt
and in the literal meaning of things , the formation rules dont allow non formation members do deepstrike this way it does not specifically say that anyone can so long as theres at least one model present like the IC rules suggest.
also in the order of steps. once you made your list your units receive their formation rules now that youve come to.deployment you can excerise the rules of your units, your units with deathwing assault can utilize this, but being a rule that doesnt specifically say that it confers (therefore by the IC rules he cannot adopt it) so realistically he cant use it. can he deepstrike of course thats built.in can he deathwing assault no he does not have it
Automatically Appended Next Post: and in the spirit of fluff this would not work all times. dark angels with dark angels yea even dark angels with marines i doubt it. or imp guard with deepstrike?
on that same page this would means the NSF from greyknights would allow the same thing, and from a fluff stand point i dont think the grey knights would share their "rites of teleportation" to a tag along commander no matter the chapter.
again this late chunk isnt any hard evidence and isnt meant to be to help justify my stance on the topic simply replying to thw fluff based comment
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/05/01 19:41:29
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 0100/05/03 19:43:03
Subject: Deathwing deployment interpretations.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
You're confusing having a rule and benefitting from it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/01 19:51:57
Subject: Deathwing deployment interpretations.
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Right exactly. You've already established formation and now your declare deployment and by deploying the IC with them he inherently picks up their rule without changing formations. Automatically Appended Next Post: I agree and don't really know anything about grey Knights. But I'm not trying to pull this off in an unbound or alliance. This is purely Lions blade strike force
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/05/01 19:57:39
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/01 23:43:23
Subject: Deathwing deployment interpretations.
|
 |
Armored Iron Breaker
Peachland BC
|
i know your talking about just dark angels i was giving an example because the GK formation is similiar in explanation involving deepstriking except it just allows deepstrike on turn one.
im not mixing up using a special rule and benefiting from one.
benefiting from a rule you dont have would be like "summon the deathwing" its a formation rule for a ravenwing force, the deathwing models dont have the rule but benefit from it by not scattering within 12" of a model with StD
using a special rule is much like what we are talking about, using a rule he does not possess (and by rule book/army book definition cant "adopt" via joining) and deepstriking out of sequence through deathwing assault
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/02 00:02:18
Subject: Deathwing deployment interpretations.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
No, I said having and benefitting.
He is benefitting from the rule. He never has the rule.
Same as stubborn. An IC attached to a stubborn UNIX never HAS the rule. They just BENEFIT from it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/02 04:08:07
Subject: Deathwing deployment interpretations.
|
 |
Armored Iron Breaker
Peachland BC
|
yes but stubborn states that it can benefit others, however deathwing assault is not formatted in the same way as Stubborn, in its actual wording
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/02 04:23:35
Subject: Deathwing deployment interpretations.
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
rocksteadygreeny wrote:see the one thing that i cannot agree with because on your aide of the arguement you are assuming a few things, the first being that "for all rules and purposes" include special rules, in my mind and how the book is setup and how most things interact with special rules this is not true. i say that because special rules have their own section entirely, and is not apart of the actual section of brb that gives us our general rules on everything "mundane" persay. and in that sense the IC description above rings true, he joins a unit he effectively becomes a member of that unit(cannot be singled put when shooting, consider his stats when taking tests, etc etc), thats fine but he does not have the special rules they have as noted shortly after in the special rules subsection.
First, paragraphs and capitalization, please use them. It makes it easier to digest your statements.
And, fine, do you have anything to support this? Do you have anything to state that Special Rules are not Rules? Do you have anything that states the IC rules on Joining a unit state for just "all general rules purposes"?
I do not see anything to suggest this other than an artifact of a mind searching for some obscure reason to deny this specific section any hold.
In addition, this would affect the rules like Stubborn and Zealot. If the IC does not count as a member for special rules, then Stubborn could not pass along their benefits from an IC to the unit, or from the unit to the IC.
This judgement starts breaking down any concept of potential unity and ignores the examples given in which the affects of a rule are noted as affecting the IC along with the unit.
rocksteadygreeny wrote:now as youve stated, command benefits work as USR which is all well and good, however look at every single rule "like" stubborn the ones that confer to the unit (preffered enemy, tank hunter etc) they all have pretty much the exsact description in how they interact with others "at least one model has x the unit gets it" obviously not copy and pasted but you all get what im saying, so if anything is to be assumed it would be unless a rule has that in the description it would not confer and deathwing assault yes say units but does not anything about there only needing to be a single model for the unit to benefit.
But that phrase passes nothing along and only indicates a level of possession, and that is part of the problem with relying solely on it. If that was the only key, than your Dark Angel Company Master which joined a Wolf Guard Terminator Squad would gain Counter-Attack's bonus along with the Wolf Guard. However, in so doing, you ignore the fact that only the models who actually have the rule gain the bonus.
In addition, can you find a single unit from the DWSF that does not have a model with Deathwing Assault? The rule knows this, so does not attach that statement unless any ICs from the DWSF were meant to pass it along to units outside the DWSF.
rocksteadygreeny wrote:and in the literal meaning of things , the formation rules dont allow non formation members do deepstrike this way it does not specifically say that anyone can so long as theres at least one model present like the IC rules suggest.
Units-wise, you are correct. Care to quote Deathwing Assault and highlight/underline the phrase that excludes any models not from the Formation?
rocksteadygreeny wrote:also in the order of steps. once you made your list your units receive their formation rules now that youve come to.deployment you can excerise the rules of your units, your units with deathwing assault can utilize this, but being a rule that doesnt specifically say that it confers (therefore by the IC rules he cannot adopt it) so realistically he cant use it. can he deepstrike of course thats built.in can he deathwing assault no he does not have it
Deathwing Assault is as specific as Stubborn is, and not as specific as Fleet is, nor is as specific as Relentless. Which standard should we use? You tell use we must use Fleet's or Relentless' standard, but cannot quote where Deathwing Assault is that restrictive (because it doesn't exist).
rocksteadygreeny wrote:
and in the spirit of fluff this would not work all times. dark angels with dark angels yea even dark angels with marines i doubt it. or imp guard with deepstrike?
Why not (provided you can get the Imp Guard to Deep Strike)? The only time this would be the case would be part of the Hunt of the Fallen, at which point, your army would only have Ravenwing and Deathwing elements at best.
rocksteadygreeny wrote:on that same page this would means the NSF from greyknights would allow the same thing, and from a fluff stand point i dont think the grey knights would share their "rites of teleportation" to a tag along commander no matter the chapter.
An assumption. What if that IC is the one who reported the incursion and wanted to get his own back? If he dies, no mind wipe needed. If he survives, they can mind wipe him later.
rocksteadygreeny wrote:again this late chunk isnt any hard evidence and isnt meant to be to help justify my stance on the topic simply replying to thw fluff based comment
Yet, that, aside from a random sense of balance, is the only thing you have to effectively fight with. None of the rules interpretations you have provided hold any water without the written rules to back them up.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
rocksteadygreeny wrote:yes but stubborn states that it can benefit others, however deathwing assault is not formatted in the same way as Stubborn, in its actual wording
Prove it. Where does Stubborn state it benefits others in a written format?
I know where it is, and it isn't where you think.
|
This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2016/05/02 04:27:28
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/02 06:57:02
Subject: Deathwing deployment interpretations.
|
 |
Armored Iron Breaker
Peachland BC
|
in stubborn, "if at least one model in a unit has stubborn"
in deathwing assault "ONLY units from this formation"
the format in which the rule for deathwing assault is written is blatantly restrictive in stating only units from the formation can deploy using deathwing assault.
you guys are the ones stating things to be as literal as possible and without DWA being written in a format similar to stubborn or prefer enemy or zealot stating one model distributes the rule amongst his unit (which DWS doesnt) how is the IC claiming this rule/benefit
regarding the IC adopting rules. yes it says he assumes rules and purposes. lets set aside trying distinguish whether the meaning is general rules or all encompassing with special rules (the only justification for that being, the section of the brb labeled "Rules" that is the meat and potatoes of the game that has no real mention of detail into the working of USR and later in the book after advanced rules, scenerios there is an entirely different section labeled special rules.
again though curbing that for now, we have the "IC assume all rules and purposes of the unit" or whatever the exsact wording is. directly after that a portion of what we just read is completely ommited in the special rules section, where it states (going back on what was just said) IC cannot claim ***SPECIAL*** rules from their units except in the circumstances in rules worded like stubborn (as the given example with the key phrase "as long as at least one model has X everyone gets it"
deathwing assault from the formation is more restrictive it does not say "as long as at least on model" it says only units in the formation. since the wording does not follow the example of stubborn which in turn does follow the parameters of the IC special rule section i would say no an ic cannot join the unit and adopt the rule.
at the end of the day, neither of us have sufficient evidence to fold the others arguements. im not saying the points youve made have not been valid and im not saying that mine havnt been either but given the inconsistancy in writing inparticular on the dark angel formation rule, a simple balck and white this is what it is cant be made. its a grey area that can be defended endlessly on both ends. the simple solution is that you are playing against a human. as someone who doesnt like to spring surprises on my Opponents*list wise* i would simply discuss it briefly with them before the game starts.
cheers all
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/02 14:39:09
Subject: Deathwing deployment interpretations.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
So when the IC joins, is the unit no longer from the formation?
Yes or no.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/02 17:11:54
Subject: Deathwing deployment interpretations.
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
So? Where does it state that this is what defines the condition any more than taking a Morale Check or Pinning Test? Where does this statement state it confers/gives/grants anything?
The statement that confers/gives/grants anything actually happens later in the sentence after all the conditions are stated. Look it up and deconstruct the sentence properly. Apply the verbs using basic English where they haven't been redefined by the rulebook.
rocksteadygreeny wrote:the format in which the rule for deathwing assault is written is blatantly restrictive in stating only units from the formation can deploy using deathwing assault.
And the IC is counting as part of one of those Deathwing detachment units, and not a DC unit. What's the problem?
If you can demonstrate that the joined IC is operating as a separate unit while joined to the Deathwing unit, why have you not presented it to us? But again, if they count as a separate unit, then Stubborn, Look Out Sir, etc, will not work, since they all are based on interactions of the unit.
OR you have to demonstrate that the unit that the IC joined is no longer part of the detachment. No one has presented a credible argument on this for the last dozen times I have seen it brought up.
rocksteadygreeny wrote:regarding the IC adopting rules. yes it says he assumes rules and purposes. lets set aside trying distinguish whether the meaning is general rules or all encompassing with special rules (the only justification for that being, the section of the brb labeled "Rules" that is the meat and potatoes of the game that has no real mention of detail into the working of USR and later in the book after advanced rules, scenerios there is an entirely different section labeled special rules.
No, it does not. It says, " While an Independent Character is part of a unit, he counts as part of the unit for all rules purposes, though he still follows the rules for characters." It then says, " Unless specified in the rule itself (as in the Stubborn special rule), the unit’s special rules are not conferred upon the Independent Character, and the Independent Character’s special rules are not conferred upon the unit."
So, a Blood Angel Librarian joins your Dark Angel Tactical Squad. The Tactical Squad Marines and Sergeant do not gain Furious Charge and the Blood Angel Librarian do not gain Stubborn. Furious Charge only affects the model with the rule. Stubborn affects the unit with a model with the rule.
Read the rules of Furious Charge, Stubborn, Fleet, and Counter-Attack. Note which level of restrictions and targets are they all looking at. Which one does Deathwing Assault resemble the most?
I am happy to leave aside your confusion regarding Rules vs Special Rules since the Rules are all one big book which carries the Special Rules section. You're the one that brought it up. The rules do differentiate the difference between Basic, Advanced, and Codex rules. But then, the IC Special Rules section does not state anything regarding the differences between these three levels of precedence.
rocksteadygreeny wrote:again though curbing that for now, we have the " IC assume all rules and purposes of the unit" or whatever the exsact wording is. directly after that a portion of what we just read is completely ommited in the special rules section, where it states (going back on what was just said) IC cannot claim ***SPECIAL*** rules from their units except in the circumstances in rules worded like stubborn (as the given example with the key phrase "as long as at least one model has X everyone gets it"
Again, not what is says. It says they "do not confer", it does not state anything regarding their ability to claim the rules. Nor is a model claiming those rules even required by Stubborn, Preferred Enemy, Zealot, Deathwing Assault, etc. It is required in rules like Relentless, Furious Charge, Counter Attack, Fleet, Fire Discipline, etc.
Your own inability to quote the rules properly at this point even when quoted to you several times means you should actually go back to the books and properly read the sections we have pointed out to you and present them properly when establishing your case.
rocksteadygreeny wrote:deathwing assault from the formation is more restrictive it does not say "as long as at least on model" it says only units in the formation. since the wording does not follow the example of stubborn which in turn does follow the parameters of the IC special rule section i would say no an ic cannot join the unit and adopt the rule.
It requires the unit to be from a Formation. That is it. It doesn't even require to have at least one model with this special rule (but of course, you need at least one model with this special rule to even start qualifying as a unit from this formation), nor does it require all models to have this special rule.
But at any rate, yes, it is only units in this Formation. You keep thinking that when an IC joins it retains and operates under its full unit identity at all times. This is not the case, nor can it be. After all this time, you have presented nothing to support this opinion of yours that the IC is still their own unit while joined to another.
rocksteadygreeny wrote:at the end of the day, neither of us have sufficient evidence to fold the others arguements. im not saying the points youve made have not been valid and im not saying that mine havnt been either but given the inconsistancy in writing inparticular on the dark angel formation rule, a simple balck and white this is what it is cant be made. its a grey area that can be defended endlessly on both ends. the simple solution is that you are playing against a human. as someone who doesnt like to spring surprises on my Opponents*list wise* i would simply discuss it briefly with them before the game starts.
I have sufficient evidence. Plugging your ears will not let it go away. You have addressed my statements with very broad statements and with zero support from the rules. Every case you have presented has been answered with the correctly quoted and referenced rules.
And again, capitalize your sentence starts. It helps tell where your thoughts start and end.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2016/05/02 17:15:41
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/04 18:12:31
Subject: Deathwing deployment interpretations.
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Whelp. Faq covered it. So that settles that. Can't deploy them on first turn. they used grey Knights as an example.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/04 19:15:33
Subject: Deathwing deployment interpretations.
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
Wagz86 wrote:Whelp. Faq covered it. So that settles that. Can't deploy them on first turn. they used grey Knights as an example.
Did you read the Comment they attacked to the image? It is rather amusing with this case.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/05/04 19:15:43
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/04 20:29:22
Subject: Deathwing deployment interpretations.
|
 |
Jinking Ravenwing Land Speeder Pilot
|
I just downloaded all the pics to read later. Can you please quote the comment for me?
|
"If you wait a few months, they'll pick one of the worst codexes and they'll nerf almost everything, its an abstract sort of balance, but it's the sort of balance gw likes...  " |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/04 21:07:06
Subject: Deathwing deployment interpretations.
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
jokerkd wrote:I just downloaded all the pics to read later. Can you please quote the comment for me?
Just that it says the exact opposite of the picture to the NSF question and following question than what the picture states.
In other words, the picture supports my position on this question, the commentary does not.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/04 23:33:16
Subject: Deathwing deployment interpretations.
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Oh yeah I see that now. It won't let me copy and paste to here on my phone. But yeah the picture says yes I can deploy my company master with the Deathwing squad and get first round deployment. But the text explanation says no.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/04 23:52:51
Subject: Deathwing deployment interpretations.
|
 |
Jinking Ravenwing Land Speeder Pilot
|
We'll just have to wait for the final version. I wont be changing anything until it comes out
|
"If you wait a few months, they'll pick one of the worst codexes and they'll nerf almost everything, its an abstract sort of balance, but it's the sort of balance gw likes...  " |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/05 00:41:49
Subject: Deathwing deployment interpretations.
|
 |
Liche Priest Hierophant
|
They've also said that the text version is the (current) correct version and the image is wrong.
Though as jokerkd said, they could still change it again for the final version.
|
|
 |
 |
|