Switch Theme:

Post your 8th questions  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Bounding Dark Angels Assault Marine




crystal, mn

Does an imperial Stronghold count as 1 fortification or as 3 fortifications?

Asking cuz formation for fortifications says 3 fortifications max. is that 1 stronghold or three?
   
Made in us
Oozing Plague Marine Terminator





What was the deal with those Command Dice we saw leaked a while ago? They had Go To Ground, and I've seen others about GTG in the rule book.
Were these for SW:A or something I'm missing?
   
Made in ca
Bounding Assault Marine






 Nightlord1987 wrote:
Are regular flamers worth it on jump/fly units anymore?


i'm not sure on jump units as you'll be out of range when you land, but on regular units why ever take a flamer over a combo-flamer now. 2 more points and the ability to fire both, flamer auto hits anyway, so may as well fire both in close.

also, does anyone know if the abilities of a Captain to affect 'friendly' units within 6'' would affect him as well?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/06/02 16:04:31


 
   
Made in us
Horrific Howling Banshee






Charleston, South Carolina

 admironheart wrote:


In 8th edition when you deep strike you must stay 9" from enemy models......so if you have a horde army you could potentially block the enemy from coming inside your deployment zone?

2nd .....some versions ago there used to be 1st turn immunity to attack if you remained in your deployment zone. Is that still a thing or has it been gone for a while now and as well as 8th?


You must stay GREATER than 9" thus a charge distance of 8 will not get you 1" away. Thus only a 28% chance to successfully charge.

If you conga line your deployment zone, I suppose.

No first turn immunity. GW has unsuccessfully tried to deal with Alpha Strike for several editions. Night fighting rules, no charging from transports, or when first deployed, etc.

This edition does it by assigning high point values to methods used to alpha strike. There is also a subtle thing they have done. You deploy by alternating units and whoever finishes first gets to choose to go first or not.

So if you MSU and hold lots of units in reserve (only up to half) to drop in close to the enemy, you will likely be going second.



Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Nightlord1987 wrote:
Heres a question then,

If a transport is destroyed we disembark, roll for ones and remove vehicle, and THEN roll for explodes hitting the unit that just disembarked?


No, a rule says that things that happen at the same time are performed at the discretion of the active player. Kill your dudes if you like, but you can blow up the vehicle to hurt units around you, then place the occupants and roll for ones.

The death of the vehicle is what hurts people so I see no reason why the occupants have to take it twice.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Youn wrote:
The purpose is to push infantry to the forefront by making vehicles more expensive. We won't see until we play if it succeeds in doing that.

My army I am trying tomorrow evening at my FLGS is:

Spoiler:

Stormraven Gunship I [309]
Castellan Crowe [125]
Purifier Squad I (5 man) [177]
Purifier Squad II (5 man) [177}

Stormraven Gunship II [309]
Purifier Squad III (5 man) [177}
Inquisitor Livris (Hereticus) [79]

Nemesis Dreadknight I [245]
Nemesis Dreadknight II [245]
-- 1843 --


So, we will see how using a vehicle heavy army works against a mob force.


I played last night with eldar with Wave Serpent and Falcon, vs several combat squaded marines with melta and plasma plus a jump pack unit.
The transports acted like tanks. ie they tanked for my dudes very nicely and got them where they needed to be.
I think vehicles will find their place. They have lots of weapons and wounds and saves. You have to deal with them. That takes pressure off your troops.
If you are all troops, my seprents will sit in terrain with a 2+ save and pour shots into you.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Youn wrote:
It should be noted that you cannot set up a unit in reserves unless it says it can be set up in reserves. So, as my above army is designed. I must start with those Stormravens on the table to start.

The teleporters on the dreadknights do allow them to teleport in during the fight.


Seriously? There is no walking onto the board from reserve now?


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 admironheart wrote:
question that I have not seen answered.

So I have a unit inside a chimera. They move and then fire the tanks's lasguns. The chimera then charges and dies from overwatch.

Now the unit inside survives and is placed legally 3" away.

CAN I NOW CHARGE with the surviving unit?

thanks


I thought no, reread and can't find any wording that stops you, but I think it will be FAQ'd because it would allow the unit to benefit from the vehicle's movement which the disembark rule is specifically designed to not allow.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
I could be wrong, but didn't they say overwatch was a flat 6, no matter what? I'm pretty sure it isn't affected by modifiers.


Overwatch is a normal shooting attack except during the charge phase where all rules apply except a 6 is always required to hit irrespective of BS or modifiers.

This message was edited 8 times. Last update was at 2017/06/02 17:35:49


Innocence is no Excuse
15,000
8,000
9,000
Nids:5,000 
   
Made in us
Screaming Shining Spear





USA

what about flamers or other weapons that hit automatically ...on overwatch?

Do those weapons auto hit on overwatch???

 koooaei wrote:
We are rolling so many dice to have less time to realise that there is not much else to the game other than rolling so many dice.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Has anyone figured out what the various "make three hit rolls for each attack with this weapon, instead of one" actually do? Is it:

1. Make three attacks for each one you would normally make
2. Roll the die three times and add them together to see if you hit
3. Roll three times and if any of them succeed you hit

It's worded so awkwardly I'm not sure. The first feels right from the wording, but also weirdly powerful for what seem to be default melee attacks on giant units.

 admironheart wrote:
what about flamers or other weapons that hit automatically ...on overwatch?

Do those weapons auto hit on overwatch???


Yep, basically just rolling a d6 for overwatch hits, instead of the d3 you did last edition. A rather brutal buff for a weapon people already were fond of.
   
Made in ca
Bounding Assault Marine






SilverAlien wrote:
Has anyone figured out what the various "make three hit rolls for each attack with this weapon, instead of one" actually do? Is it:

1. Make three attacks for each one you would normally make
2. Roll the die three times and add them together to see if you hit
3. Roll three times and if any of them succeed you hit

It's worded so awkwardly I'm not sure. The first feels right from the wording, but also weirdly powerful for what seem to be default melee attacks on giant units.

 admironheart wrote:
what about flamers or other weapons that hit automatically ...on overwatch?

Do those weapons auto hit on overwatch???


Yep, basically just rolling a d6 for overwatch hits, instead of the d3 you did last edition. A rather brutal buff for a weapon people already were fond of.



Hm, I would interpret it as option 1, but I could see some people making a case for it being option 3 too. What unit is that?? lol. That's intense.

edit*
Can anyone please tell me if when utilizing detachments the 2 HQ slots used for the 'Battalion' Detachment can be used again (with 3 Heavy Support units) to fill the 'Spearhead' Detachment?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/06/03 14:04:04


 
   
Made in it
Wondering Why the Emperor Left




The Hague (NL)

A detachment needs to include units from the same faction.
What's the definition of a faction?
Is it a codex like Harlequins or is it a keyword like aeldari?
If it's the latter can I freely mix all eldar factions and keep all the special rules like battle focus and power from pain?
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




 benlac wrote:
SilverAlien wrote:
Has anyone figured out what the various "make three hit rolls for each attack with this weapon, instead of one" actually do? Is it:

1. Make three attacks for each one you would normally make
2. Roll the die three times and add them together to see if you hit
3. Roll three times and if any of them succeed you hit

It's worded so awkwardly I'm not sure. The first feels right from the wording, but also weirdly powerful for what seem to be default melee attacks on giant units.

 admironheart wrote:
what about flamers or other weapons that hit automatically ...on overwatch?

Do those weapons auto hit on overwatch???


Yep, basically just rolling a d6 for overwatch hits, instead of the d3 you did last edition. A rather brutal buff for a weapon people already were fond of.



Hm, I would interpret it as option 1, but I could see some people making a case for it being option 3 too. What unit is that?? lol. That's intense.

edit*
Can anyone please tell me if when utilizing detachments the 2 HQ slots used for the 'Battalion' Detachment can be used again (with 3 Heavy Support units) to fill the 'Spearhead' Detachment?



I'd go with 1, it is for either "special rules" for ranged weapons, or a way to illustrate a melee weapon gets multiple uses out of a single Atk use.

A unit uses up A detachment slot. That means singular, exclusive. In otherwords, no, if you want a battalion and a spearhead that's 3 HQ minimum. Else you could call your Battalion, a Batlaion, Spearhead, Vanguard, etc. and just stack up command points, which is rather silly don't you think?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/06/03 14:45:06


si vis pacem, para bellum 
   
Made in de
Fresh-Faced New User





Similiar to "6s always succeed?" question, can saves be reduced to nothing(aka 7+ 8+..) or will a save roll (if allowed) always succeed on a 6(and fail on 1)?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/06/03 14:47:56


 
   
Made in it
Wondering Why the Emperor Left




The Hague (NL)

Edit: explanation below is better

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/06/03 15:16:40


 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Kremling wrote:
Similiar to "6s always succeed?" question, can saves be reduced to nothing(aka 7+ 8+..) or will a save roll (if allowed) always succeed on a 6(and fail on 1)?


6 does not always succeed. All rolls are either greater than (number) or equal to or greater than (number)

Armour saves are not 7+ or 8+, AP modifiers are subtracted from the die roll. So if one of my Boyz with its 6+ armour save is hit by a AP-3 weapon, I cannot make the save, not even if I have cover. I roll a 6 and subtract 3, means I have a result of 3, that is not equal to or greater than 6, so the Boy takes a wound.

Mayk01, only need one Faction keyword to match up... So yes, just note most aura powers effect more specific keywords.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/06/03 15:15:18


si vis pacem, para bellum 
   
Made in us
Flashy Flashgitz




Armageddon

It says world eaters khorne berserkers are troop choices. Do all my <legion> keywords have to be the same in my detachment? Or can I have world eaters berserkers and death guard plague marines both as troop choices in the same list? Or does world eaters berserkers mean zerkers taken by a full world eaters army?

I mean, if they can be troop choices 100% of the time, why are they elites? just for the keyword buffs? I'm so confused.

"People say on their first meeting a Man and an Ork exchanged a long, hard look, didn't care much for what they saw, and shot each other dead." 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Depends, if you are playing a Chaos army, then yep, they are just elite choices. If you are playing a World Eater army, Berserkers are Troop choices while Plague Marines, Rubric Marines, etc. are elite choices.

There are buffs that only go into effect if the entire detachment has a certain keyword.

Basically if you want to play a single Legion, you can and you get their standard Marine as a troop. If you want to play just a mixed Chaos army you can and still get them as troops, RAW. Just like a Space Marine detachment can have Dark Angels, Space Wolves, Blood Angels, etc. along with Onagars, Imperial Knights, SoB, Assassins, Commissars all in it as well, course it would be called an Imperium detachment...

Quite silly if you ask me, but powergamers going to powergame

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/06/03 15:38:42


si vis pacem, para bellum 
   
Made in it
Wondering Why the Emperor Left




The Hague (NL)

Friend sent me the answer to my question.
Faction indeed refers to "Faction keywords" meaning Aeldari can mix between DE/E/H without having to go Ynnari.
   
Made in ca
Bounding Assault Marine






Pedroig wrote:
 benlac wrote:
SilverAlien wrote:
Has anyone figured out what the various "make three hit rolls for each attack with this weapon, instead of one" actually do? Is it:

1. Make three attacks for each one you would normally make
2. Roll the die three times and add them together to see if you hit
3. Roll three times and if any of them succeed you hit

It's worded so awkwardly I'm not sure. The first feels right from the wording, but also weirdly powerful for what seem to be default melee attacks on giant units.

 admironheart wrote:
what about flamers or other weapons that hit automatically ...on overwatch?

Do those weapons auto hit on overwatch???


Yep, basically just rolling a d6 for overwatch hits, instead of the d3 you did last edition. A rather brutal buff for a weapon people already were fond of.



Hm, I would interpret it as option 1, but I could see some people making a case for it being option 3 too. What unit is that?? lol. That's intense.

edit*
Can anyone please tell me if when utilizing detachments the 2 HQ slots used for the 'Battalion' Detachment can be used again (with 3 Heavy Support units) to fill the 'Spearhead' Detachment?



I'd go with 1, it is for either "special rules" for ranged weapons, or a way to illustrate a melee weapon gets multiple uses out of a single Atk use.

A unit uses up A detachment slot. That means singular, exclusive. In otherwords, no, if you want a battalion and a spearhead that's 3 HQ minimum. Else you could call your Battalion, a Batlaion, Spearhead, Vanguard, etc. and just stack up command points, which is rather silly don't you think?



Ah, thank you. Yeah, I'm glad it's not like that. I'm assuming most people will be running a Battalion size? Brigade seems pretty huge unless you're doing a massive game.

   
Made in us
Snivelling Workbot




SilverAlien wrote:


Yep, basically just rolling a d6 for overwatch hits, instead of the d3 you did last edition. A rather brutal buff for a weapon people already were fond of.


Yes but it appears the range limit still applies for flamers on overwatch. Cognis Flamers are even supposed to get to roll 2d6 and discard the lowest for number of overwatch hits, yet do nothing if the enemy starts charging through the entire range of the weapon from outside the range of the weapon.

Really the only thing in the new edition that has my knickers in a knot.
   
Made in ca
Bounding Assault Marine






steerpike92 wrote:
SilverAlien wrote:


Yep, basically just rolling a d6 for overwatch hits, instead of the d3 you did last edition. A rather brutal buff for a weapon people already were fond of.


Yes but it appears the range limit still applies for flamers on overwatch. Cognis Flamers are even supposed to get to roll 2d6 and discard the lowest for number of overwatch hits, yet do nothing if the enemy starts charging through the entire range of the weapon from outside the range of the weapon.

Really the only thing in the new edition that has my knickers in a knot.


Whatt.. that's lame. It's not like they wouldn't be moving in closer as you're shooting. Charging from 8+ inches is difficult, but still. Might have to house rule that one away.
   
Made in us
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain






A Protoss colony world

What does everyone think the new tournament standard points level is going to be in the new edition? In 7th it seems that 1850 is the most common point level, so about how many points will that be in 8th? I'm thinking it might be somewhere between 2000 and 2500, but what do more knowledgeable people think?

My armies (re-counted and updated on 11/7/24, including modeled wargear options):
Dark Angels: ~16000 Astra Militarum: ~1200 | Imperial Knights: ~2300 | Leagues of Votann: ~1300 | Tyranids: ~3400 | Stormcast Eternals: ~5000 | Kruleboyz: ~3500 | Lumineth Realm-Lords: ~700
Check out my P&M Blogs: ZergSmasher's P&M Blog | Imperial Knights blog | Board Games blog | Total models painted in 2024: 40 | Total models painted in 2025: 23 | Current main painting project: Tomb Kings
 Mad Doc Grotsnik wrote:
You need your bumps felt. With a patented, Grotsnik Corp Bump Feelerer 9,000.
The Grotsnik Corp Bump Feelerer 9,000. It only looks like several bricks crudely gaffer taped to a cricket bat.
Grotsnik Corp. Sorry, No Refunds.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






 ZergSmasher wrote:
What does everyone think the new tournament standard points level is going to be in the new edition? In 7th it seems that 1850 is the most common point level, so about how many points will that be in 8th? I'm thinking it might be somewhere between 2000 and 2500, but what do more knowledgeable people think?


I think we are going to see 2000 points be the start point for now. 2000 points seem to be around 1650-1750 pts of 7th edition lists. In some cases even less (free Gladius SM vehicals...im looking at you).

Tournaments have been struggling over the past couple of years to reduce the amount of time games were taking and many had moved to the 1650 point level. I think it will take a little time to see how things will level out. I think the point level will reflect 2-2.5 hour games that finish naturally.

 
   
Made in ca
Imperial Recruit in Training




 Lithlandis Stormcrow wrote:
 admironheart wrote:
question that I have not seen answered.

So I have a unit inside a chimera. They move and then fire the tanks's lasguns. The chimera then charges and dies from overwatch.

Now the unit inside survives and is placed legally 3" away.

CAN I NOW CHARGE with the surviving unit?

thanks


Nothing that I have read stops this from happening.


Actually it doesn't work, it's an order of operations thing that isn't intuitive if you're used to 7th.

Charge and Fight are two distinct phases.

In the charge phase you may charge units more than 1" away from your models.

In the Fight phase you DO get a 3" pile in, but ONLY if one of the unit's models is within 1" of an enemy model (which can't be possible if you legally disembarked.)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/06/04 05:52:53


 
   
Made in us
Trustworthy Shas'vre





Cobleskill

condon wrote:
In the Fight phase you DO get a 3" pile in, but ONLY if one of the unit's models is within 1" of an enemy model (which can't be possible if you legally disembarked.)


So you are saying that units can be too good at combat now? If a unit kills all enemy models within an inch of the unit's models, then it breaks combat? Can people choose not to swing in this edition?
   
Made in us
Virulent Space Marine dedicated to Nurgle




I feel like I'm missing a few pages. Like the ones that explain what the Vehicle keyword means (I see Transports as a sidebar entry though).

Or "Terminator" (shared across both regular termi's and their cataphractii brethren).

I ask this because barring something I've missed in the book, terminators and dreads cannot assault after firing rapidfire or heavy weapons right? Which seems silly for an edition that's about getting on in there and doing cool stuff faster.
   
Made in us
Pious Palatine




PoorGravitasHandling wrote:
I feel like I'm missing a few pages. Like the ones that explain what the Vehicle keyword means (I see Transports as a sidebar entry though).

Or "Terminator" (shared across both regular termi's and their cataphractii brethren).

I ask this because barring something I've missed in the book, terminators and dreads cannot assault after firing rapidfire or heavy weapons right? Which seems silly for an edition that's about getting on in there and doing cool stuff faster.


Did you read the rules for weapons? They don't prevent charging anymore, At All. And those keywords are for other rules interactions, they don't confer anything.


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





condon wrote:
 Lithlandis Stormcrow wrote:
 admironheart wrote:
question that I have not seen answered.

So I have a unit inside a chimera. They move and then fire the tanks's lasguns. The chimera then charges and dies from overwatch.

Now the unit inside survives and is placed legally 3" away.

CAN I NOW CHARGE with the surviving unit?

thanks


Nothing that I have read stops this from happening.


Actually it doesn't work, it's an order of operations thing that isn't intuitive if you're used to 7th.

Charge and Fight are two distinct phases.

In the charge phase you may charge units more than 1" away from your models.

In the Fight phase you DO get a 3" pile in, but ONLY if one of the unit's models is within 1" of an enemy model (which can't be possible if you legally disembarked.)

What you said as a reason is basically irrelevant.

Transport Vehicle with Boyz Charge during the Charge Phase
Overwatch happens, Destroying the Vehicle, Disembarking the Boyz
Boyz that just been forcibly disembarked Charge

*REDACTED*

Kremling wrote:
Similiar to "6s always succeed?" question, can saves be reduced to nothing(aka 7+ 8+..) or will a save roll (if allowed) always succeed on a 6(and fail on 1)?

Only Strength, Toughness, and Leadership can't be reduced to below 1. You can reduce everything else.

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2017/06/04 15:27:30


 
   
Made in ca
Imperial Recruit in Training




 carldooley wrote:
condon wrote:
In the Fight phase you DO get a 3" pile in, but ONLY if one of the unit's models is within 1" of an enemy model (which can't be possible if you legally disembarked.)


So you are saying that units can be too good at combat now? If a unit kills all enemy models within an inch of the unit's models, then it breaks combat? Can people choose not to swing in this edition?


You choose which units attack in which order, but as in Sigmar, you and your opponent take turns. The only variations are

1) All charging units go first, then the active player selects one non charging unit and alternation begins.
2) The reactive player may spend 2CP to attack after ANY charging unit has attacked, ignoring the normal order.

So in your scenario, you might choose to have your dubiously connected unit attack earlier, and leave the one who is really 'stuck in' and won't be torn out of combat go later.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Talamare wrote:
condon wrote:
 Lithlandis Stormcrow wrote:
 admironheart wrote:
question that I have not seen answered.

So I have a unit inside a chimera. They move and then fire the tanks's lasguns. The chimera then charges and dies from overwatch.

Now the unit inside survives and is placed legally 3" away.

CAN I NOW CHARGE with the surviving unit?

thanks


Nothing that I have read stops this from happening.


Actually it doesn't work, it's an order of operations thing that isn't intuitive if you're used to 7th.

Charge and Fight are two distinct phases.

In the charge phase you may charge units more than 1" away from your models.

In the Fight phase you DO get a 3" pile in, but ONLY if one of the unit's models is within 1" of an enemy model (which can't be possible if you legally disembarked.)

What you said as a reason is basically irrelevant.

Transport Vehicle with Boyz Charge during the Charge Phase
Overwatch happens, Destroying the Vehicle, Disembarking the Boyz
Boyz that just been forcibly disembarked Charge


Also, someone asked about Transports and the Double Whammy Explosion.
Technically, you would Disembark suffer the 1s, then suffer an Explosion. Since Disembarking says IMMEDIATELY, Explosion does not.
If that was not design intention, then another FAQ is needed.
Also, it would make some sense that someone inside a Vehicle that exploded would probably suffer more negative effects than someone who was outside of it.


You're right, I overlooked the word 'overwatch' in that scenario. I suppose it would be possible.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/06/04 15:22:25


 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




 Talamare wrote:

Also, someone asked about Transports and the Double Whammy Explosion.
Technically, you would Disembark suffer the 1s, then suffer an Explosion. Since Disembarking says IMMEDIATELY, Explosion does not.
If that was not design intention, then another FAQ is needed.
Also, it would make some sense that someone inside a Vehicle that exploded would probably suffer more negative effects than someone who was outside of it.


In the explosion rules on the datasheet(s) it specifically states that the explosion happens "before removing the model and before any embarked models disembark"
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Melonneko wrote:
 Talamare wrote:

Also, someone asked about Transports and the Double Whammy Explosion.
Technically, you would Disembark suffer the 1s, then suffer an Explosion. Since Disembarking says IMMEDIATELY, Explosion does not.
If that was not design intention, then another FAQ is needed.
Also, it would make some sense that someone inside a Vehicle that exploded would probably suffer more negative effects than someone who was outside of it.


In the explosion rules on the datasheet(s) it specifically states that the explosion happens "before removing the model and before any embarked models disembark"

My mistake came in because I didn't read the Explodes on a transport. I just read it on any tank. Opps
   
Made in us
Jovial Plaguebearer of Nurgle





North Carolina

Not happy with codex lay out. Points in back and not on data sheets.
Points question
for example the helbrute is armed with a multimelta and helbrute fist. do we have to add the cost for those weapons to the helbrute point cost or are they included?


"You can't convince a believer of anything; for their belief is not based on evidence, it's based on a deep-seated need to believe." - Carl Sagan - 
   
Made in ca
Imperial Recruit in Training




 Ineedvc2500 wrote:
Not happy with codex lay out. Points in back and not on data sheets.
Points question
for example the helbrute is armed with a multimelta and helbrute fist. do we have to add the cost for those weapons to the helbrute point cost or are they included?


You have to add ALL gear, regardless of it being automatically included. I thought it was a bit stupid at first, but it really makes it easier to unify and streamline gear cost. You write down your model, all the fixins (default and extras together, any changes etc) and then flip to the last page and add up the shopping list.

Always happy to be corrected. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K General Discussion
Go to: