Switch Theme:

A Tale of Two Coteaz  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Wraith






So since Codex Inquisition Coteaz now has different rules from Codex Grey Knights Coteaz, can you field both of them?


Shine on, Kaldor Dayglow!
Not Ken Lobb

 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

Is it that time of month already?
This question again?
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka



Chicago, Illinois

 grendel083 wrote:
Is it that time of month already?
This question again?


Are you not feeling fresh?


Kind of wondering this as well.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/04 02:04:10


If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. 
   
Made in ca
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller





Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

The rulebook states "you can only ever include one of each Unique model in an army"

And as he has the same name in each codex, and both are stated to be unique, I would say no you can not.

Although if your gaming group does not mind you can house rule that you can field one from each codex, and fluff it out as a warpstorm(which would be really funny with their names)

40k 7th Edition Record
11 Games played
5 Games Won 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

They are not the same unique character, since they have different rules, so RAW you can field both.

It would probably raise a few eyebrows though.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Mutilatin' Mad Dok





They must move toward each other at maximum speed, then fight in a challenge until one is dead. Once that happens, the other can behave normally.

/not intended to be a factual statement

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/04 03:36:10


 
   
Made in ca
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller





Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

 DeathReaper wrote:
They are not the same unique character, since they have different rules, so RAW you can field both.

It would probably raise a few eyebrows though.


What rules are different? They have the exact same rules, and statline. The only difference is which book they come from, and one of those books does not have an FAQ as of yet.

40k 7th Edition Record
11 Games played
5 Games Won 
   
Made in au
Thinking of Joining a Davinite Loge






 Bludbaff wrote:
They must move toward each other at maximum speed, then fight in a challenge until one is dead. Once that happens, the other can behave normally.

/not intended to be a factual statement


Why not? Destroy the impostor, let only the righteous triumph!

But no, I'd say that, since they both have the name 'Inquisitor Coteaz', that you can't. I'd be game for it, provided it was friendly and you gave me a heads up, but yeah.

My $0.02, which since 1992 has rounded to nothing. Take with salt.
Elysian Drop Troops, Dark Angels, 30K
Mercenaries, Retribution
Ten Thunders, Neverborn
 
   
Made in us
Mutilatin' Mad Dok





 Thaanos wrote:
What rules are different? They have the exact same rules, and statline.


Well, actually, they just FAQed his Codex: Inquisition version to no longer have the rule that no longer did anything as of 7th. He is very irate in another thread, because this interferes with the way he was pretending that it worked (namely that when it said your Elites were scoring, that now translated to Elites having Objective Secured, because of reasons).

Interestingly, since the text of the rules was already different (GK Coteaz makes your Henchmen troops, C:I Coteaz made them scoring), this should have already come up. But what it comes down to is that two models named Inquisitor Coteaz and possessing the Unique rule cannot be in the same army, regardless if one of them is a Grot that stole an Inquisitor's hat and the other is a Warlord Titan.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka



Chicago, Illinois

Hey, there are 10 trillion Human Beings in the Galaxy in 40k and the empire has what like at least 200 billion?

Out of 200 billion people you don't think at least 2 guys are gonna have the same name?


RAW you can have Coteaz in your army from Greyknights and Ally him in with Inquisition and if you can do this you most certainly should.

Here are some actual rules on it though


ARMY LIST ENTRIES IN DIFFERENT PUBLICATIONS

There are a few units whose Army List Entries are presented in more than one Games Workshop publication. Daemon Princes, for example,..... In these instances, the unit’s Faction is determined by whichever codex it was chosen from. Be sure to keep track of which is which if you decide to take one from more than one source.




Unique Models
...... are noted as being Unique in their Army List Entry. Unique models include named characters and extraordinary units or vehicles, of which there is only one known example in the whole galaxy. Because of this, you can only ever include one of each Unique model in an army.




This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/04 05:02:03


If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 Thaanos wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
They are not the same unique character, since they have different rules, so RAW you can field both.

It would probably raise a few eyebrows though.


What rules are different? They have the exact same rules, and statline. The only difference is which book they come from, and one of those books does not have an FAQ as of yet.

The Inquisition Coteaz has a set warlord trait, the GK Coteaz does not.

The Inquisition Coteaz does not have Frag Grenades, the GK Coteaz does.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in ca
Enigmatic Chaos Sorcerer





British Columbia

 DeathReaper wrote:
 Thaanos wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
They are not the same unique character, since they have different rules, so RAW you can field both.

It would probably raise a few eyebrows though.


What rules are different? They have the exact same rules, and statline. The only difference is which book they come from, and one of those books does not have an FAQ as of yet.

The Inquisition Coteaz has a set warlord trait, the GK Coteaz does not.

The Inquisition Coteaz does not have Frag Grenades, the GK Coteaz does.

The Inquisition Coteaz also doesn't have "Lord of Formosa"

 BlaxicanX wrote:
A young business man named Tom Kirby, who was a pupil of mine until he turned greedy, helped the capitalists hunt down and destroy the wargamers. He betrayed and murdered Games Workshop.


 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 Eldarain wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
 Thaanos wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
They are not the same unique character, since they have different rules, so RAW you can field both.

It would probably raise a few eyebrows though.


What rules are different? They have the exact same rules, and statline. The only difference is which book they come from, and one of those books does not have an FAQ as of yet.

The Inquisition Coteaz has a set warlord trait, the GK Coteaz does not.

The Inquisition Coteaz does not have Frag Grenades, the GK Coteaz does.

The Inquisition Coteaz also doesn't have "Lord of Formosa"


I am pretty sure he does. It is listed after I’ve Been Expecting You, and before Spy Network in the Inquisition Dataslate.

The two rules are worded differently though.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/07/04 05:08:15


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in ca
Enigmatic Chaos Sorcerer





British Columbia

 DeathReaper wrote:
 Eldarain wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
 Thaanos wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
They are not the same unique character, since they have different rules, so RAW you can field both.

It would probably raise a few eyebrows though.


What rules are different? They have the exact same rules, and statline. The only difference is which book they come from, and one of those books does not have an FAQ as of yet.

The Inquisition Coteaz has a set warlord trait, the GK Coteaz does not.

The Inquisition Coteaz does not have Frag Grenades, the GK Coteaz does.

The Inquisition Coteaz also doesn't have "Lord of Formosa"


I am pretty sure he does. It is listed after I’ve Been Expecting You, and before Spy Network in the Inquisition Dataslate.

They just removed it in an update.

 BlaxicanX wrote:
A young business man named Tom Kirby, who was a pupil of mine until he turned greedy, helped the capitalists hunt down and destroy the wargamers. He betrayed and murdered Games Workshop.


 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Okay then. I must need the update.

But that is another thing that is different, therefore they are not the same.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in fi
Longtime Dakkanaut




You can trust Games Workshop to come up with a rule to forbid two of the same uniquely named characters and then go out of their way to actually cause an issue by screwing up the updates/FAQs.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 DeathReaper wrote:
Okay then. I must need the update.

But that is another thing that is different, therefore they are not the same.


How do we know that? They are similarly named.

Unique models include named characters...

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/04 06:00:03


 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka



Chicago, Illinois

I feel if you do take both of them they have to be in the same squad just HIWPI. Just so you can maximize the annoyance,
" Okay I shoot at Coteaz"
" This Coteaz?"
" No the other Coteaz"
" Which one is that"
" This is Grey Knight Coteaz"
" Ok so you don't want to shoot at this Coteaz"
" Yes if he is the Grey Knight Coteaz"
" No this is the Inquisition Coteaz"
" Ugh I give up going home to drink".

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/04 06:02:58


If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Naw wrote:
You can trust Games Workshop to come up with a rule to forbid two of the same uniquely named characters and then go out of their way to actually cause an issue by screwing up the updates/FAQs.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 DeathReaper wrote:
Okay then. I must need the update.

But that is another thing that is different, therefore they are not the same.


How do we know that? They are similarly named.

Unique models include named characters...


We know that because you do not have two of the same unique character, the two are clearly different.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in fi
Longtime Dakkanaut




And that is said exactly where in the rules?
   
Made in us
Storm Trooper with Maglight






Georgia

I think having the same name is enough for unique to limit it.


Unique Models
...... are noted as being Unique in their Army List Entry. Unique models include named characters and extraordinary units or vehicles, of which there is only one known example in the whole galaxy. Because of this, you can only ever include one of each Unique model in an army.

There is only 1 Inq. Coteaz in the galaxy therefore you cannot have two in your army regardless of his other rules. I don't think people would let you do it in pick up games at a flgs but run it by your friends and maybe they'll let you do it.

My IG WIP log

40k is as exciting as riding a pony, which doesn't sound very exciting.......

But the pony is 300 feet tall and covered in CHAINSAWS! 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Naw wrote:
And that is said exactly where in the rules?

Right here:

"Because of this, you can only ever include one of each Unique model in an army." (Choosing your army chapter, Unique models section).

One of each Unique model = you can not have two of the same special character.

Since the Coteaz from the Inquisition book is different than the Coteaz from the Gk codex, they are not the same and if you include both in an army you do not have more than one of each Unique model, you have two different unique models.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in fi
Longtime Dakkanaut




Why don't you read what the previous poster wrote as he quoted the full rule?

Your interpretation is incorrect assumption not based on actual rules.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Naw wrote:
Why don't you read what the previous poster wrote as he quoted the full rule?

Your interpretation is incorrect assumption not based on actual rules.


My interpretation is RAW.

I read the previous post.

"Some models are noted as being Unique in their Army List Entry. Unique models include named characters and extraordinary units or vehicles, of which there is only one known example in the whole galaxy. Because of this, you can only ever include one of each Unique model in an army."

The quote is take direct from the Unique Models section..

The part where it says "one of each Unique model" means the models have to be the same to be disallowed from taking more than one.

 portugus wrote:
I think having the same name is enough for unique to limit it.


Unique Models
...... are noted as being Unique in their Army List Entry. Unique models include named characters and extraordinary units or vehicles, of which there is only one known example in the whole galaxy. Because of this, you can only ever include one of each Unique model in an army.

There is only 1 Inq. Coteaz in the galaxy therefore you cannot have two in your army regardless of his other rules. I don't think people would let you do it in pick up games at a flgs but run it by your friends and maybe they'll let you do it.

having the same name is not enough for unique to limit it, for the reasons I gave earlier in this post.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/07/04 07:37:53


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant





Plymouth

removed


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 DeathReaper wrote:


My interpretation is RAW.

I read the previous post.

"Some models are noted as being Unique in their Army List Entry. Unique models include named characters and extraordinary units or vehicles, of which there is only one known example in the whole galaxy. Because of this, you can only ever include one of each Unique model in an army."

The quote is take direct from the Unique Models section..

The part where it says "one of each Unique model" means the models have to be the same to be disallowed from taking more than one.


Re-read your logic sir, you yourself are providing a rule that clearly states being a unique NAMED CHARACTER is all that matters. in the rule you are directly quoting underlined and boldened, where does it state that unique = name and rules? it specififically states models with the unique rule are usually characters... AKA in this case Coteaz and extraordinary units and vehicles. And that you can only apply 1 of these models to yuour army.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2014/07/04 07:54:13


   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Eye of Terror

It's not legal.

My blog... http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com

Facebook...
https://m.facebook.com/Terminus6Est/

DT:60+S++++G++++M+++B+++I+++Pw40k89/d#++D+++A++++/eWD150R++++T(T)DM+++ 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

wargamer1985 wrote:
Re-read your logic sir, you yourself are providing a rule that clearly states being a unique NAMED CHARACTER is all that matters. in the rule you are directly quoting underlined and boldened, where does it state that unique = name and rules? it specififically states models with the unique rule are usually characters... AKA in this case Coteaz and extraordinary units and vehicles. And that you can only apply 1 of these models to yuour army.

(Emphasis mine)
You really need to re-read the quote Because it does not say what you claim. (Specifically what I underlined above).

"Some models are noted as being Unique in their Army List Entry. Unique models include named characters[/b][/u] and extraordinary units or vehicles, of which there is only one known example in the whole galaxy. Because of this, you can only ever include one of each Unique model in an army."

Unique = name and rules because it says "you can only ever include one of each Unique model in an army."

One of each means you can not take the same Unique character more than once.

If they are not the same you many have as many different special characters as you feel like having.
 Dozer Blades wrote:
It's not legal.

It actually is legal because of the rules quotes I gave above, not that many people will use two different Coteaz units.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/04 08:00:43


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant





Plymouth

Is this model Coteaz... yes

is that model Coteaz... yes

Are they BOTH Unique models... YES

sowhy are you fielding them both? well sir i am fielding both because they dont have identicle rules...


BUT wiat the BRB specifically states that uniques cannot be fielded more than once per army. You are trying to break the rules on a broken interpretation. The BRB does not state that unique means Name and rules it SPECIFICALLY states Unique is just that whether its a unit vehicle or named character.

Now please provide some actual rule s with page number paragraph and sentence number to back your claims as required by the tennents of this forum

   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

wargamer1985 wrote:
Is this model Coteaz... yes

is that model Coteaz... yes

Are they BOTH Unique models... YES

sowhy are you fielding them both? well sir i am fielding both because they dont have identicle rules...


BUT wiat the BRB specifically states that uniques cannot be fielded more than once per army. You are trying to break the rules on a broken interpretation. The BRB does not state that unique means Name and rules it SPECIFICALLY states Unique is just that whether its a unit vehicle or named character.

Now please provide some actual rule s with page number paragraph and sentence number to back your claims as required by the tennents [sic] of this forum
(Emphasis mine). Actually I have given quotes, you are the one not backing your claims as required by the tenets of this forum.

Your example could read:
Is this model Dante... yes

is that model Mephiston... yes

Are they BOTH Unique models... YES

So why are you fielding them both? well sir i am fielding both because they don't have identical rules...

and it would make just as much of an impact on this discussion as your example.

The underlined is not what the BRB says.

The BRB actually says "Some models are noted as being Unique in their Army List Entry. Unique models include named characters[/b][/u] and extraordinary units or vehicles, of which there is only one known example in the whole galaxy. Because of this, you can only ever include one of each Unique model in an army." (Choosing your army chapter, Unique models section).

It actually says "you can only ever include one of each Unique model in an army."

You can only field one of each unique, so if the unique is the same you an not field more than one. (this is what one of each means). If it is a different unique you can field more than one.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/04 08:35:16


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant





Plymouth

But that is not raw!!! raw is clear 1 coteaz end of story provide actual brb or faq rules to back your argument!!!

Your extrapolating things which do not exist withinj the rules set

   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

wargamer1985 wrote:
But that is not raw!!! raw is clear 1 coteaz end of story provide actual brb or faq rules to back your argument!!!

Your extrapolating things which do not exist withinj the rules set
I have proven it, look at the actual rules quotes I have provided.

RAW is clear.

The BRB actually says "Some models are noted as being Unique in their Army List Entry. Unique models include named characters[/b][/u] and extraordinary units or vehicles, of which there is only one known example in the whole galaxy. Because of this, you can only ever include one of each Unique model in an army." (Choosing your army chapter, Unique models section).

You can only field one of each unique, so if the unique is the same you an not field more than one. (this is what one of each means). If it is a different unique you can field more than one.

That is the RAW. 2 Coteaz. The RAW is clear end of story.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: