Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/22 21:09:11
Subject: Sevrin Loth and Daemonology?
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
Wiltshire
|
Quick question:
How does the Loth-Meister interact with the daemonology disciplines? I know that his profile says "choose from the following disciplines", but isn't that what all the codices said pre-FAQ?
Short version: Can/Can't he use daemonology in any manner?
|
Note to the reader: my username is not arrogance. No, my name is taken from the most excellent of commanders: Lord Castellan Creed, of the Imperial Guar- I mean Astra Militarum - who has a special rule known only as "Tactical Genius"... Although nowhere near as awesome as before, it now allows some cool stuff for the Guar- Astra Militarum - player. FEAR ME AND MY TWO WARLORD TRAITS. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/22 21:19:36
Subject: Sevrin Loth and Daemonology?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Sevrin Loth is FW, right?
You'll need to ask FW. At least they'll answer questions.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/22 22:16:11
Subject: Sevrin Loth and Daemonology?
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
Wiltshire
|
I'm looking for more of a logical argument that I can use to a gaming group, as two of the group have asked FW and received different responses, so we're looking to figure out the RAW of the situation - help would be much appreciated.
|
Note to the reader: my username is not arrogance. No, my name is taken from the most excellent of commanders: Lord Castellan Creed, of the Imperial Guar- I mean Astra Militarum - who has a special rule known only as "Tactical Genius"... Although nowhere near as awesome as before, it now allows some cool stuff for the Guar- Astra Militarum - player. FEAR ME AND MY TWO WARLORD TRAITS. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/22 22:24:25
Subject: Sevrin Loth and Daemonology?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Wait...FW gave different answers? That's...not like them.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/22 22:57:13
Subject: Sevrin Loth and Daemonology?
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
Wiltshire
|
Yeah we were all surprised too... mind = blown... :/
|
Note to the reader: my username is not arrogance. No, my name is taken from the most excellent of commanders: Lord Castellan Creed, of the Imperial Guar- I mean Astra Militarum - who has a special rule known only as "Tactical Genius"... Although nowhere near as awesome as before, it now allows some cool stuff for the Guar- Astra Militarum - player. FEAR ME AND MY TWO WARLORD TRAITS. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/22 23:03:33
Subject: Sevrin Loth and Daemonology?
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
Right now the RAW is pretty clear that you choose from the disciplines listed. You could always house rule it otherwise though.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/22 23:44:04
Subject: Sevrin Loth and Daemonology?
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
Wiltshire
|
Ok, that's my stance, but I need to be able to counter this rule with logic, or the other side will win:
"Unless otherwise stated, all Psykers, other than those belonging to the Tyranids Faction, can generate powers from the Daemonology discipline."
The argument is that because Loth's profile does not "otherwise [state]", he can.
I then claimed that because it specifically states the disciplines, that is enough to be the "otherwise stated", but then he rightly pointed out that such a line of thought would render the tyranid line irrelevant?
I need to be able to counter that, so an explanation would be fantastic.
|
Note to the reader: my username is not arrogance. No, my name is taken from the most excellent of commanders: Lord Castellan Creed, of the Imperial Guar- I mean Astra Militarum - who has a special rule known only as "Tactical Genius"... Although nowhere near as awesome as before, it now allows some cool stuff for the Guar- Astra Militarum - player. FEAR ME AND MY TWO WARLORD TRAITS. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/22 23:57:17
Subject: Sevrin Loth and Daemonology?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
The outcome here will also determine if Fateweaver and Be'lakor can take Daemonology powers.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/23 00:01:04
Subject: Sevrin Loth and Daemonology?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
jy2, the problem with Fateweaver is not that he doesn't have access to Daemonology, it's that he rolls specific tables for each head.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/23 04:40:24
Subject: Sevrin Loth and Daemonology?
|
 |
Prophetic Blood Angel Librarian
|
If you read many of the 6th ed codicies it says which lores they can choose from. But 7th still allows them to pick from daemonology, so why not Loth? Why is it different for him? The only difference i see is that he chooses his powers rather than rolls for them. Not trying to be awkward, just trying to understand your stance.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/23 04:57:36
Subject: Sevrin Loth and Daemonology?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Tactical_Genius wrote::.
I then claimed that because it specifically states the disciplines, that is enough to be the "otherwise stated",...
It's not. Listing a bunch of other stuff you can use is not the same as stating that you can't use something.
Every psyker currently has access to Daemonology unless a rule specifically says that they don't.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/23 09:21:42
Subject: Sevrin Loth and Daemonology?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Poly Ranger wrote:If you read many of the 6th ed codicies it says which lores they can choose from. But 7th still allows them to pick from daemonology, so why not Loth? Why is it different for him? The only difference i see is that he chooses his powers rather than rolls for them. Not trying to be awkward, just trying to understand your stance.
Actually the main difference is that every codex has been amended to allow Daemonology to be rolled on. FW has not released an update allowing their Psykers to roll on Daemonology.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/23 10:40:11
Subject: Sevrin Loth and Daemonology?
|
 |
Prophetic Blood Angel Librarian
|
Happyjew wrote:Poly Ranger wrote:If you read many of the 6th ed codicies it says which lores they can choose from. But 7th still allows them to pick from daemonology, so why not Loth? Why is it different for him? The only difference i see is that he chooses his powers rather than rolls for them. Not trying to be awkward, just trying to understand your stance.
Actually the main difference is that every codex has been amended to allow Daemonology to be rolled on. FW has not released an update allowing their Psykers to roll on Daemonology.
Fair point. Automatically Appended Next Post: Thinking about that though (just playing devils advocate), FW SM characters are selected in an army using C: SM, characters in a C: SM have been granted the ability to use demonology. So it could be argued that this passes onto the SM characters fron FW as they are selected using C: SM rules.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/23 11:10:15
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/23 14:20:54
Subject: Sevrin Loth and Daemonology?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Poly Ranger wrote: Happyjew wrote:Poly Ranger wrote:If you read many of the 6th ed codicies it says which lores they can choose from. But 7th still allows them to pick from daemonology, so why not Loth? Why is it different for him? The only difference i see is that he chooses his powers rather than rolls for them. Not trying to be awkward, just trying to understand your stance.
Actually the main difference is that every codex has been amended to allow Daemonology to be rolled on. FW has not released an update allowing their Psykers to roll on Daemonology.
Fair point.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
Thinking about that though (just playing devils advocate), FW SM characters are selected in an army using C: SM, characters in a C: SM have been granted the ability to use demonology. So it could be argued that this passes onto the SM characters fron FW as they are selected using C: SM rules.
The BRB gives you permission to take Daemonology. The codexs have been updated to reflect 7th edition rules making them more specific. Has your FW source been updated to 7th edition yet?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/23 15:00:13
Subject: Sevrin Loth and Daemonology?
|
 |
Waaagh! Warbiker
|
I would say the seventh edition errata for all casters applies for the rules of the game, not just non FW models.
Forgeworld is a subset of GW and follows said rules.
I don't see why loth wouldn't be able to take deamonology considering his profile does not say "can't take deamonology" which would be the otherwise mentioned.
If the listing of powers prevented you from taking deamonology any book pre seventh BRB wouldn't have access to it since it didn't exist yet.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/23 19:13:53
Subject: Sevrin Loth and Daemonology?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Awfeel wrote:If the listing of powers prevented you from taking deamonology any book pre seventh BRB wouldn't have access to it since it didn't exist yet.
And you would be right except for one thing. Every codex that contains Psykers (except Nids) has been amended to add Daemonology to the lists of Disciplines Psykers can generate from.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/23 19:58:32
Subject: Sevrin Loth and Daemonology?
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
Wiltshire
|
Happyjew wrote: Awfeel wrote:If the listing of powers prevented you from taking deamonology any book pre seventh BRB wouldn't have access to it since it didn't exist yet.
And you would be right except for one thing. Every codex that contains Psykers (except Nids) has been amended to add Daemonology to the lists of Disciplines Psykers can generate from.
I also brought up this, but what is the purpose of the line about tyranids in the BRB, and GK and Daemons for that matter?
This needs an update
|
Note to the reader: my username is not arrogance. No, my name is taken from the most excellent of commanders: Lord Castellan Creed, of the Imperial Guar- I mean Astra Militarum - who has a special rule known only as "Tactical Genius"... Although nowhere near as awesome as before, it now allows some cool stuff for the Guar- Astra Militarum - player. FEAR ME AND MY TWO WARLORD TRAITS. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/23 20:03:39
Subject: Sevrin Loth and Daemonology?
|
 |
Speedy Swiftclaw Biker
Somewhere around fenris
|
sevrin loth had a faq a long time ago he can only choose one of 3 psychic disiplines
http://www.forgeworld.co.uk/Downloads/Product/PDF/B/badabupdate-v2.pdf
so that means no he cant take deamonology
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/23 20:09:12
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/23 20:52:03
Subject: Sevrin Loth and Daemonology?
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
Wiltshire
|
Question: did you read the thread? We are all aware of that update, and it does not answer the question.
|
Note to the reader: my username is not arrogance. No, my name is taken from the most excellent of commanders: Lord Castellan Creed, of the Imperial Guar- I mean Astra Militarum - who has a special rule known only as "Tactical Genius"... Although nowhere near as awesome as before, it now allows some cool stuff for the Guar- Astra Militarum - player. FEAR ME AND MY TWO WARLORD TRAITS. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/24 04:25:14
Subject: Sevrin Loth and Daemonology?
|
 |
Waaagh! Warbiker
|
My point is that he can be taken by space marines no?
ALL space marine psykers have access to deamonology as of the SEVENTH edition FAQ no?
Where is there a problem there?
Forgeworld = GW
Space Marine models follow rules for the army.
The army allows psykers to take daemonology.
EDITS**
http://www.blacklibrary.com/Downloads/Product/PDF/Warhammer-40k/7th-faq/Space_Marines_v1.0_May14.pdf
This exact publication, which is not even on the GW site, yet pertains to all models within that Faction or Army.
Note that the reference page on the (old 6th ed) FAQ is in reference to a BRB that is OUT OF PRINT. Therefore irrelevant.
" Sevrin Loth is a HQ choice for a Codex: Space Marines army or ..."
So he follows the rules for Psykers for that army then? So he knows deamonology.
|
This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2014/07/24 04:31:26
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/24 16:11:36
Subject: Sevrin Loth and Daemonology?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Awfeel wrote:My point is that he can be taken by space marines no?
ALL space marine psykers have access to deamonology as of the SEVENTH edition FAQ no?
Where is there a problem there?
Forgeworld = GW
Space Marine models follow rules for the army.
The army allows psykers to take daemonology.
EDITS**
http://www.blacklibrary.com/Downloads/Product/PDF/Warhammer-40k/7th-faq/Space_Marines_v1.0_May14.pdf
This exact publication, which is not even on the GW site, yet pertains to all models within that Faction or Army.
Note that the reference page on the (old 6th ed) FAQ is in reference to a BRB that is OUT OF PRINT. Therefore irrelevant.
" Sevrin Loth is a HQ choice for a Codex: Space Marines army or ..."
So he follows the rules for Psykers for that army then? So he knows deamonology.
The section of the document is an amendment to a particular document. You can't imply an amendment to a separate document. Amendments and errata must be explicit. Loth's "Master Psyker" rules state that he may choose his powers from among 3 disciplines. Even if you believe he has access to Daemonology, he may not choose which powers he has. He would need to roll for them. Providing an exclusive list means the others are excluded and would be "stating otherwise". Expressio unius est exclusio alterius. Therefore, until FW speaks up, Loth can't take Daemonology.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/24 16:11:56
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/24 19:52:08
Subject: Sevrin Loth and Daemonology?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Angelic wrote: Providing an exclusive list means the others are excluded and would be "stating otherwise".
No, it doesn't. It just means that there are two different places that list things that he can take.
Loth's entry doesn't say he can't take Daemonology powers (which is what would be required to satisfy the 'stating otherwise' requirement) - it just lists powers that he can take. The rulebook also grants Daemonology.
Something is not 'stated otherwise' unless it is actually stated otherwise. Being left off a list is not stating otherwise.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/24 20:59:56
Subject: Re:Sevrin Loth and Daemonology?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Severin Loth originally had limits on what disciplines he had/has access to, and still does.
His rules specifically state he has access to certain disciplines, therefore he has access to only those disciplines until FW updates his rules.
Furthermore, the fact that he had access to only 3 disciplines when librarians had access to 4 shows RAI that he was not meant to gain access to disciplines beyond those three.
Loths entry of course doesn't say he cannot take daemonology powers, it did not exist when his rules were written.
generally librarians have access to Biomancy,Pyromancy, Telekinesis, and telepathy, that he doesn't have access to all 4 shows that he was meant to have access to just the three he has access to.
and the wording for the faq/ammendment is
Any model with the psyker special rule may generate powers from the Daemonology discipline in addition to the others listed in their army entry.
so even if he had access to Daemonology he would have to generate them and not pick, but his rules specifically tell you to pick from the three has listed and additionaly the Faq states that they generate from daemonology in addition to the others listed. Severin doesn't generate powers, so he cannot pick those. The faq also says that being able to generate powers from daemonology is in addition to being able to generate from the others in their list. Severin does not generate powers therefore he has no access to Daemonology. Even if he had access to standard librarian powers including the faq then you consider him having a specific rule allowing him to pick you have to include that his specific rule forces him to pick from those three disciplines at the exclusion of the other discplines(s) normal librarians have access to.
There are no rules allow for Severin to generate powers, so the faq would not even apply to him to give him access should he magically get access to the discipline should he magically be allowed to generate powers during a game.
short answer, Loth does not have daemonology.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/24 21:05:26
Subject: Re:Sevrin Loth and Daemonology?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
blaktoof wrote:Furthermore, the fact that he had access to only 3 disciplines when librarians had access to 4 shows RAI that he was not meant to gain access to disciplines beyond those three.
RAI means nothing in this case. Clearly he wasn't originally intended to have access to Daemonology, because Daemonology didn't exist when his rules were written.
However, the 7th ed rules granted Daemonology to all psykers except those with a specific exception. Loth has no such exception.
There are no rules allow for Severin to generate powers, so the faq would not even apply to him to give him access should he magically get access to the discipline should he magically be allowed to generate powers during a game.
Having the psyker rule allows him to generate powers from any allowed disciplines.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/24 21:06:56
Subject: Sevrin Loth and Daemonology?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Generate is not the same as picking.
I can agree that under the psyker rule he is generally allowed to generate from 5 disciplines total.
But under his rules hes only allowed to pick from the three from a single discipline from his master psyker special rule and not the others as his rules state only those three.
the op wanted to know if he could pick from daemonology.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/07/24 21:09:10
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/24 21:08:08
Subject: Sevrin Loth and Daemonology?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
I didn't say it was.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/24 21:48:04
Subject: Sevrin Loth and Daemonology?
|
 |
Speedy Swiftclaw Biker
Somewhere around fenris
|
Tactical_Genius wrote:Question: did you read the thread? We are all aware of that update, and it does not answer the question.
I did read the tread and that file answers perfectly what sevrin can take in psychic powers. So unless people cant read a clear explained faq that he can only take biomancy, telepaty and telekenisis and nothing else he is quite a clear exception to the BL faq
odin
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/24 23:24:46
Subject: Sevrin Loth and Daemonology?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
odin wrote:So unless people cant read a clear explained faq that he can only take biomancy, telepaty and telekenisis and nothing else...
The word 'only' does not appear in his entry in the document you linked to.
It lists 3 disciplines that he can select powers from.
It does not state that he can not generate Daemonology powers.
He would therefore be covered by the general rule that says that psykers can generate Daemonology powers unless specified otherwise, because his entry doesn't specify otherwise.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/25 15:03:53
Subject: Sevrin Loth and Daemonology?
|
 |
Speedy Swiftclaw Biker
Somewhere around fenris
|
it states what tables he can use and deamonology isnt listed so no he cannot use it
he is not a regular psycher that would fall under that ruleing
becouse your logic would also claim he could use divination and thus making the faq void
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/07/25 17:29:16
Subject: Sevrin Loth and Daemonology?
|
 |
Nurgle Chosen Marine on a Palanquin
|
Happyjew wrote:jy2, the problem with Fateweaver is not that he doesn't have access to Daemonology, it's that he rolls specific tables for each head.
It is similar for be'lakor, it never states he is able to generate any powers. He just knows powers.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|