Switch Theme:

Can Zahndrekh use Counter Tactics from inside a Ghost Ark  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in nz
Regular Dakkanaut






Can Zahndrekh use Counter Tactics from inside a Ghost Ark

To use Counter Tactics Zahndrekh must choose a unit within LoS. A Ghost Ark is Open-Topped, so all passengers can fire out measuring LoS from any point on the hull. But Counter Tactics is not a shooting attack. Psykers embarked on transports can only manifest witchfire powers, but Counter Tactics is not a psychic power. I can't find anything in the BRB pointing either way. Thoughts?
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

unfassbarnathan wrote:
Can Zahndrekh use Counter Tactics from inside a Ghost Ark

To use Counter Tactics Zahndrekh must choose a unit within LoS. A Ghost Ark is Open-Topped, so all passengers can fire out measuring LoS from any point on the hull. But Counter Tactics is not a shooting attack. Psykers embarked on transports can only manifest witchfire powers, but Counter Tactics is not a psychic power. I can't find anything in the BRB pointing either way. Thoughts?


Passenger models are not on the table, and therefore you cannot draw line of sight from them except how the rules tell you to.

In the case of shooting or manifesting a witchfire power, the rules give you permission to check LOS using a fire point. The rules do not give you permission to use a fire point to draw line of sight for any other reason.

Therefore, you cannot use a fire point to draw line of sight for anything other than a shooting attack or witchfire power.


Or in short, Zandrekh cannot use Counter-Tactics while aboard a transport, because you are unable to check line of sight.




This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/24 00:18:16


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Or you can use the 6th edition precedent where Anrakyr was not permitted to use a fire point for his Mind in the Machine special rule.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in ca
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





Using an extent FAQ that no longer even exists isn't the best precedent so Yakface has the more compelling rules-argument; though of course you are both correct.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/25 17:40:59


 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

But it's still the same situation. Fire points only specifically allow them to be used for shooting or witchfires. Mind in the Machine is neither, and therefore not explicitly permitted to be used to draw line of sight for a special ability.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in ca
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





Indeed I am not arguing that you are incorrect, just using a rules-ambiguous example when a clearer one exists. Quoting a previous FAQ can speak to what RAI might be given the past precedent and what RAW was in a prior edition of course, however quoting current rules is the more compelling argument.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/07/25 17:54:40


 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Perhaps I misspoke in my first post. It's not a precedent, but an explanation of why you would not be able to use Mind in the Machine or any other special rule that requires line of sight while embarked in a vehicle that still holds true in 7th edition.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: