Switch Theme:

Deepstrike from ongoing reserves?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in be
Longtime Dakkanaut




I was playing a game against someone and he was playing Tau.

He used Farsight with 7 bodyguards and deepstruck them near my land raider. My landraider got wrecked because most of them had fusion blasters.
I tried to kill the entire squad but only managed to kill 4 of them. The 3 remaining suits and farsight jumped of the table and into ongoing reserves.

The turn after that, he wanted to deepstrike again with the same unit, is this even allowed? I don't find any ruling restricting this so I went with it, but it seems overly powerful. It makes keeping units to the side of the board stupidly unviable because you're essentially giving your opponent double deepstrike opportunity.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/08/19 19:10:06


You don't have to be happy when you lose, just don't make winning the condition of your happiness.  
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





Only Flyers and FMCs have permission to move off the table and go into ongoing reserves.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





DaPino wrote:
The 3 remaining suits and farsight jumped of the table and into ongoing reserves.

Using what rules? He's not allowed to just jump off the table any time he wants without a rule allowing it, and I'm not aware of one.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Member of a Lodge? I Can't Say



UK

in the small rule book the only thing it mentions being able to do that is flyers but i think that's just an example.

I think I've heard that swooping hawks can do it as well.

I've never read of any rule or unit or seen any unit ever return to reserves apart from those mentioned above


"That's how a Luna Wolf fights."
"If you can't keep up, go and join the Death Guard"
"It had often been said that Space Marines knew no fear, but when Angron charged, he ran" 
   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





East Coast, USA

Swooping Hawks from Codex: Eldar have a special rule allowing this.

Commander Farsight and crew most certainly do not.

Check out my website. Editorials! Tutorials! Fun Times To Be Had! - kriswallminis.com


https://www.thingiverse.com/KrisWall/about


Completed Trades With: ultraatma 
   
Made in us
Raging Ravener




All over the place

Yeah your buddy cheated hard on that one...

6000 4000 3500 3000 4000
"Our crops will wither, our children will die piteous deaths and the sun will be swept from the sky." - Tom Kirby
Successful Trades: HokieHWT, Physh, rothrich, ProjectOneGaming, revackey, chaos0xomega, Redfinger, Kavik_Whitescar 
   
Made in gb
Nurgle Veteran Marine with the Flu






Flyers, FMCs and Swooping Hawks can leave the board voluntarily and enter Ongoing Reserves. Any of these units can re-enter play by DS providing they have the DS rule and were placed in DS Reserve at the start of he game.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: