Switch Theme:

Embarking on Night Scythe  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gr
Deadly Dire Avenger





In the RAW it is mentioned that "unless otherwise stated, models cannot embark upon, or voluntarily disembark from, a Zooming Flyer. "

Now, the night scythe has the Invasion Beams rule that allow units to disembark from it, but there is no mention at all about embarking. Do the beams scoop up necrons or they just deposit them ?

I am not a bastard. I am the Bastard and its Mr. Bastard to you! 
   
Made in us
Rampaging Carnifex





Fredericksburg, Virginia

It does what it says, it only allows units to disembark. No embarking on Nightscythes mid-game.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/09/03 14:05:44


6000+
2500
2000
2000
 
   
Made in be
Pile of Necron Spare Parts




The previous FAQ (6th edition) allowed units to re-embark on a Nightscythe, however that FAQ was lost in the warp it seems.

There is still some discussion about this, because in the Necron Codex and in Death from the Skies there is mentioning of embarking and it has already lead to a big discussion on this forum.

See these these threads if you want to read it :

http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/603043.page

http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/605369.page

Anyway to answer your question, RAW and to avoid discussion with your opponent : No, you can't re-embark on a Night Scythe because it is a Zooming Flyer.

We can only hope it will be clarified again in the new Necron Codex, but I guess we aren't the only army that needs better rules for 7th edition.

   
Made in gr
Deadly Dire Avenger





Well Necrons definitely need a new codex! There is also an entry in the errata " Page 51 — Night Scythes, Access Points
Change to ‘l (the base of the model) ’."

So that means that the whole section about access points in the codex gets scrapped and that is the place that embarking is mentioned.

I am not a bastard. I am the Bastard and its Mr. Bastard to you! 
   
Made in us
Rampaging Carnifex





Fredericksburg, Virginia

It's a 5th edition codex. 5th edition didn't have flyers so embarking into a Night Scythe was possible without a special rule. So it's perfectly normal for the codex to refer to embarking onto a Night Scythe as if it is able to do so despite not being able to do so now.

6000+
2500
2000
2000
 
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





Zimko wrote:
It's a 5th edition codex. 5th edition didn't have flyers so embarking into a Night Scythe was possible without a special rule. So it's perfectly normal for the codex to refer to embarking onto a Night Scythe as if it is able to do so despite not being able to do so now.
and the codex has been FAQed for 7ed and that entry is still there unchanged so is still valid as is.
   
Made in us
Rampaging Carnifex





Fredericksburg, Virginia

 CrownAxe wrote:
Zimko wrote:
It's a 5th edition codex. 5th edition didn't have flyers so embarking into a Night Scythe was possible without a special rule. So it's perfectly normal for the codex to refer to embarking onto a Night Scythe as if it is able to do so despite not being able to do so now.
and the codex has been FAQed for 7ed and that entry is still there unchanged so is still valid as is.


Now I'm confused. Are you saying models should be able to re-embark on a Night Scythe?

6000+
2500
2000
2000
 
   
Made in gr
Deadly Dire Avenger





 CrownAxe wrote:
Zimko wrote:
It's a 5th edition codex. 5th edition didn't have flyers so embarking into a Night Scythe was possible without a special rule. So it's perfectly normal for the codex to refer to embarking onto a Night Scythe as if it is able to do so despite not being able to do so now.
and the codex has been FAQed for 7ed and that entry is still there unchanged so is still valid as is.


No it's not. It is replaced with "Night Scythes, Access Points Change to ‘l (the base of the model) ’. "

I am not a bastard. I am the Bastard and its Mr. Bastard to you! 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yes, and? There is still no ability to embark.

New codex due shortly, anyway, rendering this mostly moot....
   
Made in gr
Deadly Dire Avenger





That's what I am saying! there is no embarking mentioned anywere!

I am not a bastard. I am the Bastard and its Mr. Bastard to you! 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yes, bvecause you CANNOT embark on a NS outside of deployment.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: