Switch Theme:

Rolling double ones for charge Is it auto fail?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Waaagh! Ork Warboss on Warbike





Waiting at the Dark Tower steps..

Many people keep telling me that double ones is auto fail for charge even if you are two inches from the unit you want to charge. I looked through the book and can not find any information about this rule. So kinda asking Dakka to put it to rest I am totally convinced you can still charge but hey I could be wrong.


First rule of Avatars in a room is: you never call the mods. Second rule of Avatars in a room is: you never call the mods. -Tyler Durden 
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






Ask them to point out the exact rule. They won't be able to (because it's not there). The only way to fail a 2" charge is if you are going through Difficult Terrain or some other effect (Grav-wave objective, etc.)
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

There is no universal rules that the roll of a one (or 'snake eyes' in the case of two dice) is an automatic failure.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in tr
Willing Inquisitorial Excruciator





Unless you are charging through diffucult terrain, then it would be an auto fail.

Weyland-Yutani
Building Better Terrains

https://www.weyland-yutani-inc.com/

https://www.facebook.com/weylandyutaniinc/

 Grey Templar wrote:
The Riptide can't be a giant death robot, its completely lacking a sword or massive chainsaw. All giant death robots have swords or massive chainsaws.
 
   
Made in us
Rampaging Carnifex





Fredericksburg, Virginia

 pizzaguardian wrote:
Unless you are charging through diffucult terrain, then it would be an auto fail.


Unless you have Move Through Cover, which negates the -2" of Difficult Terrain.... So many exceptions!

6000+
2500
2000
2000
 
   
Made in gb
Infiltrating Broodlord




UK

Zimko wrote:
 pizzaguardian wrote:
Unless you are charging through diffucult terrain, then it would be an auto fail.


Unless you have Move Through Cover, which negates the -2" of Difficult Terrain.... So many exceptions!


Where I come from, a double one is an automatic win.
   
Made in us
Waaagh! Ork Warboss on Warbike





Waiting at the Dark Tower steps..

Thanks for your time gentlemen I figured as much but still i have run into two or three people totally convinced you could not charge with double ones.


First rule of Avatars in a room is: you never call the mods. Second rule of Avatars in a room is: you never call the mods. -Tyler Durden 
   
Made in us
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar






A couple of my buddies who have been playing 40k forever have said that in an older edition double ones used to be an auto-fail for the charge. Maybe that's where your buddy got it?


 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




Was the charge through difficult terrain? Then yes, it automatically fails.

DT subtracts your charge distance by 2, therefore failing the charge on a double 1.

In open terrain, you still charge 2 inches though.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/09/09 00:56:45


 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

 Homeskillet wrote:
A couple of my buddies who have been playing 40k forever have said that in an older edition double ones used to be an auto-fail for the charge. Maybe that's where your buddy got it?

Your buddies were incorrect. This has never been a rule.

It's only from 6th edition that charging has been a random distance.


 
   
Made in us
Nurgle Predator Driver with an Infestation





 zombiekila707 wrote:
Thanks for your time gentlemen I figured as much but still i have run into two or three people totally convinced you could not charge with double ones.

Tell them to show you in the rule book where it says that.

YOUR SUFFERING WILL BE LEGENDARY, EVEN IN HELL 
   
Made in us
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar






 insaniak wrote:
 Homeskillet wrote:
A couple of my buddies who have been playing 40k forever have said that in an older edition double ones used to be an auto-fail for the charge. Maybe that's where your buddy got it?

Your buddies were incorrect. This has never been a rule.

It's only from 6th edition that charging has been a random distance.



Crazy old neckbeards.


 
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





 insaniak wrote:
 Homeskillet wrote:
A couple of my buddies who have been playing 40k forever have said that in an older edition double ones used to be an auto-fail for the charge. Maybe that's where your buddy got it?

Your buddies were incorrect. This has never been a rule.

It's only from 6th edition that charging has been a random distance.


Technically older editions had random charge distances in the form of charging through terrain.
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Which still didn't have a 'double 1 automatically fails' rule.

 
   
Made in nl
Loyal Necron Lychguard



Netherlands

I had this discussion too some time ago.
For some reason a lot of people seem to believe that a 1 always fails.

But there are a lot of abilities that don't mention such a thing at all, technically it'd be possible to gain a 1+ FNP.
   
Made in us
Abel





Washington State

The only place I could find that talks about dice rolls as automatic pass or fail is on pg. 13 MWB (Medium White Book). It specifies Characteristic and Leadership tests. Nothing else.

Kara Sloan shoots through Time and Design Space for a Negative Play Experience  
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Indeed,
Even those two do not support the '1's always fail' theory.

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: