Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/08 17:53:03
Subject: Rolling double ones for charge Is it auto fail?
|
 |
Waaagh! Ork Warboss on Warbike
Waiting at the Dark Tower steps..
|
Many people keep telling me that double ones is auto fail for charge even if you are two inches from the unit you want to charge. I looked through the book and can not find any information about this rule. So kinda asking Dakka to put it to rest I am totally convinced you can still charge but hey I could be wrong.
|
First rule of Avatars in a room is: you never call the mods. Second rule of Avatars in a room is: you never call the mods. -Tyler Durden |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/08 17:58:24
Subject: Re:Rolling double ones for charge Is it auto fail?
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
Ask them to point out the exact rule. They won't be able to (because it's not there). The only way to fail a 2" charge is if you are going through Difficult Terrain or some other effect (Grav-wave objective, etc.)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/08 17:59:12
Subject: Rolling double ones for charge Is it auto fail?
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
There is no universal rules that the roll of a one (or 'snake eyes' in the case of two dice) is an automatic failure.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/08 19:44:03
Subject: Rolling double ones for charge Is it auto fail?
|
 |
Willing Inquisitorial Excruciator
|
Unless you are charging through diffucult terrain, then it would be an auto fail.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/08 19:46:24
Subject: Rolling double ones for charge Is it auto fail?
|
 |
Rampaging Carnifex
|
pizzaguardian wrote:Unless you are charging through diffucult terrain, then it would be an auto fail.
Unless you have Move Through Cover, which negates the -2" of Difficult Terrain.... So many exceptions!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/08 19:50:11
Subject: Rolling double ones for charge Is it auto fail?
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
Zimko wrote: pizzaguardian wrote:Unless you are charging through diffucult terrain, then it would be an auto fail.
Unless you have Move Through Cover, which negates the -2" of Difficult Terrain.... So many exceptions!
Where I come from, a double one is an automatic win.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/08 22:57:39
Subject: Re:Rolling double ones for charge Is it auto fail?
|
 |
Waaagh! Ork Warboss on Warbike
Waiting at the Dark Tower steps..
|
Thanks for your time gentlemen I figured as much but still i have run into two or three people totally convinced you could not charge with double ones.
|
First rule of Avatars in a room is: you never call the mods. Second rule of Avatars in a room is: you never call the mods. -Tyler Durden |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/08 23:18:37
Subject: Re:Rolling double ones for charge Is it auto fail?
|
 |
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar
|
A couple of my buddies who have been playing 40k forever have said that in an older edition double ones used to be an auto-fail for the charge. Maybe that's where your buddy got it?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/09 00:54:35
Subject: Re:Rolling double ones for charge Is it auto fail?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Was the charge through difficult terrain? Then yes, it automatically fails.
DT subtracts your charge distance by 2, therefore failing the charge on a double 1.
In open terrain, you still charge 2 inches though.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/09/09 00:56:45
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/09 01:59:05
Subject: Re:Rolling double ones for charge Is it auto fail?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Homeskillet wrote:A couple of my buddies who have been playing 40k forever have said that in an older edition double ones used to be an auto-fail for the charge. Maybe that's where your buddy got it?
Your buddies were incorrect. This has never been a rule.
It's only from 6th edition that charging has been a random distance.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/09 09:55:39
Subject: Re:Rolling double ones for charge Is it auto fail?
|
 |
Nurgle Predator Driver with an Infestation
|
zombiekila707 wrote:Thanks for your time gentlemen I figured as much but still i have run into two or three people totally convinced you could not charge with double ones.
Tell them to show you in the rule book where it says that.
|
YOUR SUFFERING WILL BE LEGENDARY, EVEN IN HELL |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/13 02:37:26
Subject: Re:Rolling double ones for charge Is it auto fail?
|
 |
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar
|
insaniak wrote: Homeskillet wrote:A couple of my buddies who have been playing 40k forever have said that in an older edition double ones used to be an auto-fail for the charge. Maybe that's where your buddy got it?
Your buddies were incorrect. This has never been a rule.
It's only from 6th edition that charging has been a random distance.
Crazy old neckbeards.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/13 03:58:09
Subject: Re:Rolling double ones for charge Is it auto fail?
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
insaniak wrote: Homeskillet wrote:A couple of my buddies who have been playing 40k forever have said that in an older edition double ones used to be an auto-fail for the charge. Maybe that's where your buddy got it?
Your buddies were incorrect. This has never been a rule.
It's only from 6th edition that charging has been a random distance.
Technically older editions had random charge distances in the form of charging through terrain.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/13 09:54:05
Subject: Rolling double ones for charge Is it auto fail?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Which still didn't have a 'double 1 automatically fails' rule.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/13 14:10:50
Subject: Rolling double ones for charge Is it auto fail?
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
Netherlands
|
I had this discussion too some time ago.
For some reason a lot of people seem to believe that a 1 always fails.
But there are a lot of abilities that don't mention such a thing at all, technically it'd be possible to gain a 1+ FNP.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/13 15:44:32
Subject: Re:Rolling double ones for charge Is it auto fail?
|
 |
Abel
|
The only place I could find that talks about dice rolls as automatic pass or fail is on pg. 13 MWB (Medium White Book). It specifies Characteristic and Leadership tests. Nothing else.
|
Kara Sloan shoots through Time and Design Space for a Negative Play Experience |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/13 16:20:10
Subject: Rolling double ones for charge Is it auto fail?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Indeed,
Even those two do not support the '1's always fail' theory.
|
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
|