Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/28 00:04:41
Subject: Deathwing banner question
|
 |
Lead-Footed Trukkboy Driver
|
Hi all,
Today, my brother raised an interesting rules query.
He had a deathwing command squad and a squad of normal terminators very close to each other.
His deathwing command squad had some kind of banner that gave every friendly model within 6" a bonus attack, including some guys in his other terminator squad.
I charged both units in the same turn with a mob of boyz each.
We played out the combat against his command squad first and I wiped them out - including the guy with the banner.
Now, my brother's query was this: obviously, these combats are supposed to be running simultaneously, and the only reason we resolve each one separately is for the sake of convenience. So did this mean that the terminators in his second squad still benefited from the bonus attack from his deathwing banner for that turn, even though I had already killed the guy?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/28 01:28:06
Subject: Deathwing banner question
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
They do not benefit, as Rules are resolved sequentially for more reasons then just convenience. This situation could be used as a typical example as to why, as the Rule in question requires us to measure to a particular point to show that Models are within X inches of it. Any action which changes the location of said point will greatly change the outcome of such a test, which can only be addressed by accepting the new location or 'resetting' it back to the original location. Given that the instructions do not tell us we can do anything to assume the original location of the point is kept, we are forced to utilize it's new location in order to proceed. Should this new location be impossible to measure to, then it is impossible to prove that Models are within X so they can not benefit or be penalized from the Rule in question. Therefore, the order which we resolve the Rules is very important.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/09/28 16:19:46
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/28 07:21:52
Subject: Re:Deathwing banner question
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
Backing up Jinx, the attacks at the same Initiative step are simultaneous within one combat, but each combat needs to be completely resolved before moving onto the next - and the Controlling player (player who's turn it is) chooses the order (page 48).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/29 02:35:43
Subject: Deathwing banner question
|
 |
Stubborn Dark Angels Veteran Sergeant
|
Yes, they still benefit.... for that combat.
|
Wyzilla wrote:
Because Plague Marines have the evasion abilities of a drunk elephant.
Burn the Heretic
Kill the mutant
Purge the Unclean |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/29 07:09:07
Subject: Deathwing banner question
|
 |
Poisonous Kroot Headhunter
|
I would have personally thought they would have still benefitted as they are already engaged in the assault. That's HIWPI anyway.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/29 08:49:04
Subject: Deathwing banner question
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
PastelAvenger wrote:I would have personally thought they would have still benefitted as they are already engaged in the assault. That's HIWPI anyway.
I believe the OP's example was:
Termy V Boys Combat 1
a little further away,
Command Termy V Boys Combat 2
As Quanar says perfectly: The player who's Turn it is (Orks in this Case) would decide whether he completes Combat 1 or Combat 2 first. As pointed out by Jinx above, he would be better off resolving Combat 2 first, and therefore denying the banner boost to Combat 1.
This would also be beneficial if Combat 2 had a Warlord with a power affecting 12".
I play Adepta Sororitas, and there is a Martyrdom special rule if you slay the Warlord: All Ld Tests are successful. In the example above you would have to then decide what you want affecting the other Unit, and ultimately decide which combat to resolve first...
|
DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage. Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/29 11:44:14
Subject: Deathwing banner question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
It was two separate combats, so no, it wouldn't.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/29 13:36:13
Subject: Deathwing banner question
|
 |
Eternally-Stimulated Slaanesh Dreadnought
|
There are no rules, as far i know, that dictate which CC engagements you play out first. Therefore anyone using the "rules sequence" as a factor for determining the terminators would not benefit are wrong. I would play it as if the banner was still in range.
|
I have a love /hate relationship with anything green. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/29 14:29:40
Subject: Deathwing banner question
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
The player whos' turn it is Decides the order of combats. You can only play it as "the banner was still in range" if you select Combat 1 before Combat 2 on my example above.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/09/29 14:30:33
DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage. Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/29 14:37:47
Subject: Deathwing banner question
|
 |
Eternally-Stimulated Slaanesh Dreadnought
|
BlackTalos wrote:The player whos' turn it is Decides the order of combats.
You can only play it as "the banner was still in range" if you select Combat 1 before Combat 2 on my example above.
Rulebook citation please? I presume it is at the beginning of the Close Combat section but if not a cite would help.
|
I have a love /hate relationship with anything green. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/29 15:09:02
Subject: Re:Deathwing banner question
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
CHOOSE A COMBAT
There may be several separate assaults being fought at the same time in different parts of the battlefield. If this is the case, the player whose turn it is chooses the order to resolve the combats, completing each combat before moving on to the next one, and so on until all combats are resolved.
|
DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage. Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/29 16:12:01
Subject: Re:Deathwing banner question
|
 |
Poisonous Kroot Headhunter
|
BlackTalos wrote:CHOOSE A COMBAT
There may be several separate assaults being fought at the same time in different parts of the battlefield. If this is the case, the player whose turn it is chooses the order to resolve the combats, completing each combat before moving on to the next one, and so on until all combats are resolved.
This doesn't really say anywhere that the banner wouldn't effect the other unit more don't try and resolve every combat at once. I would still let a opponent gain the benefit as they are all engaged in CC in the same assault phase.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/29 16:16:21
Subject: Deathwing banner question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yet when you tried to measure to the banner, you cannot do so
The phase is sequential, not simultaneous
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/29 16:18:44
Subject: Re:Deathwing banner question
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
PastelAvenger wrote:This doesn't really say anywhere that the banner wouldn't effect the other unit more don't try and resolve every combat at once. I would still let a opponent gain the benefit as they are all engaged in CC in the same assault phase.
Say you're in just the one combat, banner bearer gets killed at the I5 step, would you still give the bonus in the I4 step? How would you measure to the banner model? Pile-Ins will have already forced some movement, so "leave it in place" isn't really an option.
If you had two combats and resolved the combat with the banner first (with the banner surviving) and then used the unit's consolidation move to get more friendly models in the bubble, would you force the player to only count the range from where the banner was rather than where it is?
The instruction tells us to do combats one at a time, in an order chosen by the controlling player.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/29 16:19:57
Subject: Deathwing banner question
|
 |
Poisonous Kroot Headhunter
|
All battles are supposed to happen simultaneously though but we resolve them sequentially for ease.
Does anyone have the exact wording of the Deathwing Banner? if it doesn't say at the start of the assault phase then I suppose I am wrong.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/29 16:23:40
Subject: Deathwing banner question
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
PastelAvenger wrote:All battles are supposed to happen simultaneously though but we resolve them sequentially for ease.
That's just not true at all. If I lose my Synapse in one combat, my hormagaunts are going to run away if they lose their combat - they're not still Fearless.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/29 16:27:09
Subject: Deathwing banner question
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
"All friendly models with the Inner Circle special rule within 6" of the model bearing this banner gain +1 attack."
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/29 16:40:33
Subject: Deathwing banner question
|
 |
Poisonous Kroot Headhunter
|
If that's the wording then no is a stronger case.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/29 16:47:07
Subject: Deathwing banner question
|
 |
Eternally-Stimulated Slaanesh Dreadnought
|
Deuce11 wrote: BlackTalos wrote:The player whos' turn it is Decides the order of combats.
You can only play it as "the banner was still in range" if you select Combat 1 before Combat 2 on my example above.
Rulebook citation please? I presume it is at the beginning of the Close Combat section but if not a cite would help.
BlackTalos wrote:CHOOSE A COMBAT
There may be several separate assaults being fought at the same time in different parts of the battlefield. If this is the case, the player whose turn it is chooses the order to resolve the combats, completing each combat before moving on to the next one, and so on until all combats are resolved.
nosferatu1001 wrote:Yet when you tried to measure to the banner, you cannot do so
The phase is sequential, not simultaneous
I have changed my position based on the above (assuming it is accurate as I have not checked the rule book myself at this time)
|
I have a love /hate relationship with anything green. |
|
 |
 |
|