Switch Theme:

Typhon tank cannon 24" if moved...but Super-Heavies always treated as stationary  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Guarding Guardian



San Diego, CA

I haven't found other threads asking this question. For me it is a clear answer, but I want to have a clear understanding before a big game I have this weekend.

The Typhon’s Dreadhammer cannon has a range of 24"/48". Text under the weapon states that if it moved in the preceding Movement phase range is 24". If it did not move, then 48".
Rulebook and GW Apocalypse book state that when shooting Super Heavy vehicles are treated as stationary.

Q. Does the Typhon always count as stationary, and thus the Dreadhammer Cannon always have a range of 48”?

So, now all of the research I have:
From ForgeWorld Imperial Armour 2 2nd edition. The Space Marine Super-Heavy tank, Typhon. Also in the FW Apocalypse 2013 book.
It has the Dreadhammer cannon has a range of 24"/48".
Text under the weapon states that if it moved in the preceding Movement phase range is 24". If it did not move, then 48"
This rule was is same in the IA 2 and IA Apocalypse 2013 book.

Rulebook p94 (and also the Apocalypse book) states that when shooting, a Super-Heavy vehicle is always treated as if it was stationary even if it did actually move.

The rule in the rulebook that allows specific rules to trump rulebook is on p13 'Basic vs Advanced'.
It pretty much specifies that Codex or Army List Entry rules take precedence.
I wish it said something like 'GW publications' instead to cover all expansions, ForgeWorld and possibly White Dwarf.
None of the GW, Forgeworld, NOVA open, or BAO FAQs addresses this rule either.

One other interesting time this comes up:
The Stormlord which is actually IN the GW Apocalypse book.
That book has the 'Super Heavy vehicles count as stationary' rule. But the vehicle has the 'All Power to Weapons' that allow it to fire the Vulcan Mega-Bolter twice if it didn't move.
Only difference is the Stormlord itself has that rule listed as a 'Special Rule', whereas for the Typhon the rule is just with the weapon.

I tend to look at release dates and consider the newer rule to apply (months are best guess based on net 'Book has been released' articles. But again that is not necessarily RAW.
July 2013 - Apocalypse 6th edition (this is where the Super-Heavies count as stationary when shooting rule first.
Aug 2013 - FW Apocalypse (Has the Typhon Tank with the Dreadhammer weapon 24"/48")
Nov 2013 - FW Imperial Armour Two, 2nd Edition. This has the Typhon and wording for the Dreadhammer cannon is unchanged from the FW APoc book.
May 2014 - 7th Edition rulebook.



So playing Devil's Advocate here and arguing the opposite point.

Rule book p94, Super Heavy Vehicles - Shooting: When making a shooting attack it is always treated as if it had remained stationary in the Movement Phase.
The Dreadhammer weapon says: If it moved in the preceding Movement phase then range is 24". If it did not move, then range is 48".

If the Rulebook rule makes the Typhon's Unit Type of Super-Heavy Vehicle always be treated as Stationary, then the weapon's range should be 48".

   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Super heavy vehicles have, since their introduction, had the stationary for firing rule. As in, from at least 4th edition.
   
Made in us
Ultramarine Librarian with Freaky Familiar





Southern California, USA

I think this is a case of where a specific rules overrides a general one.

Thought for the day: Hope is the first step on the road to disappointment.
30k Ultramarines: 2000 pts
Bolt Action Germans: ~1200 pts
AOS Stormcast: Just starting.
The Empire : ~60-70 models.
1500 pts
: My Salamanders painting blog 16 Infantry and 2 Vehicles done so far!  
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Anacortes

If you move it, your range is 24. If you don't move your range doubles. That's it.

In a dog eat dog be a cat. 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




SH rules would override. For the purposes of firing, it would count as stationary.
   
Made in gb
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot





The clause that the weapon itself has a 24" range if it moved is what you are looking here, therefore the typhon fires as if it is stationary, however the weapon it is firing now only has a 24" range. It doesnt matter if the model that had the weapon is relentless, because the weapon is what we are checking has moved, not the model. Ie, with a salvo weapon, if the model holding the weapon moves, it uses the lower profile, however if it has relentless it counts as stationary, thus fulfilling the salvo rules for being stationary, because the check is on the model not the weapon. With the dreadhammer, the check is on the weapon, not the model.
   
Made in us
Guarding Guardian



San Diego, CA

I feel that special rules over ride the rule book rules.
The rule book actually says that, but does specify Codex or Army List rules take precedence.

I think Bobug has it right that the vehicle/weapon rules.

However, I also emailed Forgeworld and they confirmed that the specific rule over rules the rulebook. And that if the Typhon moved, then the Dreadhammer's range is 24"
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: