Take a look at the rules here:
http://www.blacklibrary.com/Downloads/Product/PDF/rules/Maleceptor-EN.pdf
Psychic Overload makes the target take a
LD test on a
3D6. If the test is failed, non-vehicle models take D3 wounds with no armor or cover saves allowed.
Now psychic overload is a focussed witchfire power. The
BRB says focussed witchfire means you CAN pick individual models of an enemy unit as your target. Focussed witchfire is a subtype of regular witchfire. Regular witchfire says you target the unit as a whole. Emphasis here on CAN. Which means you CAN also use a focussed witchpower power without picking a model, but the unit as a whole.
If you do it this way, psychic overload causes all models in the unit to take D3 wounds....thats D3 wounds per model.
Rules go on to say the Maleceptor can use this power three times each turn, but cannot target the same unit twice.
Where am I wrong? And isnt this awesome?