Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/13 20:02:05
Subject: Formations
|
 |
Bloodthirsty Bloodletter
Odessa, TX, USA
|
I apologize in advance given the 'FOC' question has been posed a lot, but what I'd like to know is if I can take multiple formations; ie Tyranids levithan vanguard. Could I take the lictors formation AND genestealer formation?
Isn't an army specific question, just wanting to make sure it's legal. And how I'd go about choosing my warlord.
Also, even troops in formations don't have objective secured, right?
Thanks!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/13 20:03:53
Subject: Formations
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Formations are a type of Detachment.
You many take any number and any type of Detachment.
Unless the Formation has some sort of restriction (includes Unique characters for example) there's nothing stopping you taking multiples.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/13 20:11:25
Subject: Formations
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
You can take whatever you want, provided that it is a legal load out (eg, Tyranid Prime has Boneswords is fine, Boneswords and Wings is not fine as it can't take Wings in the first place) and it fits within the points you have for a game.
You choose a Warlord as normal. Any characters from any of your formations can be a Warlord, but if you have at least one character model, one of the characters must be the Warlord. If the Warlord is a character, you get to roll for a Warlord trait, if not, you don't, but still counts as the Warlord for Slay the Warlord and Kingslayer (and other Warlord rules). Whichever formation your Warlord comes from will automatically determine that particular formation as your Primary Detachment (BRB, pg124).
Troops in formations don't have Objective Secured, unless the Formation rules grants it to them (such as Skyblight for Gargoyles).
Note that some tournaments are setting a limit on how many sources you can take (so while GW officially let you run infinite Lictor Forest Brood Formations, a tournament may set it to three sources, so you would only be allowed to use three Lictor Forest Broods and no other Detachments, including the BRB detachments, Codex Detachments and Formations).
|
YMDC = nightmare |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/13 20:38:12
Subject: Formations
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
|
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/14 01:01:06
Subject: Formations
|
 |
Bloodthirsty Bloodletter
Odessa, TX, USA
|
Ah, alright. Wanted to confirm my thoughts were correct.
Just one more, though.
As you CAN have an army of Formations, if you have Formations and want to include something outside of it, that means you have a 'regular FOC' and thus need to fulfill the mandatory 1 HQ and 2 Troop, correct?
In the example of Lictor Forest Brood and Manufactorum Genestealers, if I want, say, a Haruspex and anything else I'd essentially and effectively have 3 detachments; Primary and 2 Formations. The first of which I NEED 1 HQ and 2 Troops minimum.
I'm thinking correctly, right?
Thanks again!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/14 01:09:21
Subject: Formations
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Almost. Primary detachment is simply whichever detachment has the Warlord.
If you g ostraight Nids, you would have to take a CAD (or go unbound) if you want to include anything not in a Formation.
If however, you take an Inquisitor (remember there is no restriction on list building with alliances), and make him your Warlord, you could take an Allied Detachment instead of the CAD for the Nids (as your Primary Faction is Inquisitors).
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/14 01:09:35
Subject: Formations
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
I need to correct one minor thing: It would be a Combined Arms Detachment and two Formations, not a Primary Detachment and two Formations. The Primary Detachment is a title given to any Detachment which contains the Warlord, it isn't a proper Detachment and does not follow the Rules for such.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/11/14 01:17:02
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/14 02:30:08
Subject: Formations
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
As above, the Warlord could be chosen from one of the Formations, making that Formation the "Primary Detachment".
There's no such thing as a "Regular FOC" - FOC's are part of Detahments, a Combined Arms Detachment (CAD) is probably what you meant.
|
|
 |
 |
|