Switch Theme:

[STAW] Weyoun/Varel semi nerf and other changes  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Stubborn Prosecutor





USA

(http://www.wizkidseventsystem.com/bb/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=2008)

Varel's ability can only be used once per round. Kinds makes the whole Li Nalis, Crusher, Phlox thing pointless. This is a very positive move.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/11/18 14:16:15


It's time to go full Skeletor  
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





I have seen nothing but positive news from their rulings today. Should make the game more fun and less cheesy.
   
Made in ie
Regular Dakkanaut





I have hope for this game again :-)
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Mostly, on my phone.

I think crucially this is a rules fix rather than a card errata. Makes a lot of sense too.

Theophony"... and there's strippers in terminator armor and lovecraftian shenanigans afoot."
Solar_Lion: "Man this sums up your blog nicely."

Anpu-adom: "being Geek is about Love. Some love broadly. Some love deeply. And then there are people like Graven.  
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Nevermind; Spock can only be used once per turn now. Now I'm just going to get confused
   
Made in us
Stubborn Prosecutor





USA

csimian wrote:
Nevermind; Spock can only be used once per turn now. Now I'm just going to get confused


Along with Boheeka and Breen aid. I think overall this is good for the game. Cutting downnon brokenness is always good in my book. But it also makes cards like Paris and Cyrano Jones more valuable because they say "each time you..."

It's time to go full Skeletor  
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





 Mr. S Baldrick wrote:
csimian wrote:
Nevermind; Spock can only be used once per turn now. Now I'm just going to get confused


Along with Boheeka and Breen aid. I think overall this is good for the game. Cutting downnon brokenness is always good in my book. But it also makes cards like Paris and Cyrano Jones more valuable because they say "each time you..."


I agree. It will just take some adjustment. TO's need to be proactive on informing players about these rulings. Else you may have some really PO'd players.
   
Made in us
Stubborn Prosecutor





USA

Yeah one of my TOs kinds relies on me to pass these things on to him. I think I will have to bring a stack of print outs with me this weekend.

It's time to go full Skeletor  
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





I was going to start using glass beads to place on my cards when I use their optional ability to keep track of things. Then I came across Elizabeth Shelby's text and gave up:

During the Modify Defense Dice step of the Combat Phase, you may re-roll one of your blank results.
If you are defending against an attack from a Borg ship, you roll +1 defense die during the Roll Defense Dice step and you may re-roll all of your blank results during the Modify Defense Dice Step.



Does that mean if my ship is attacked by a Borg ship I can re-roll all my blank dice one time this turn. If I am attacked a second time, do I still get the +1 defense? Can I just re-roll one of my blank results? Or do I just get a +1 to defense and no re-rolls?
   
Made in gb
Been Around the Block





Shelby does both effects when attacked by borg
   
Made in us
Stubborn Prosecutor





USA

pwnsummer wrote:
Shelby does both effects when attacked by borg


The problem is with the new ruling any card with "may" is optional and the ruling is that optional abilities can only be used once per game. Though from reading Shelby it looks like her reroll will be once per round BUT the +1 defense die is against every attack. Though we will have to wait and see if that holds up. Someone on BGG said they had asked for clarification on Shelby.


In all I am liking these rulings. We are moving away from the infinite combo deck building game back towards a space combat game w/bonuses.

It's time to go full Skeletor  
   
Made in gb
Been Around the Block





Yea re roll is once per turn but the +1 dice is from borg attack so if it was a borg attack you would get +1 dice and option to re roll if had not been used
   
Made in us
Stubborn Prosecutor





USA

This ruling really effects the Janeway/USS Enterprise builds. She won't be able to double down multiple actions. No double BS and double evade, just double one and a single on the other.

The Advanced Hull plating from the NX is affected as well. Honestly I think it needed this ruling. I went to a Enterprise - ST6 era tournament last week and that NX is near indestructible.

It's time to go full Skeletor  
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





I also asked for clarification on Shelby and the Klingon Flagship Resource (does it affect all attacks with each ship?)
   
Made in us
Stubborn Prosecutor





USA

I edited the title so we could discuss other changes here instead of making multiple threads.


Automatically Appended Next Post:



Ok from the latest statement on Captain Kerla
(http://www.wizkidseventsystem.com/bb/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=1848)

Well it looks as if the word "may" trumps everything and the ability can only be used once per round even if it says "Each time". Not sure I agree with it but I definitely understand where they are coming from. Also they say the FAQ will be updated soon.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/11/18 14:31:22


It's time to go full Skeletor  
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Wow. I don't agree with that ruling as it will cause more confusion in the general player base (and trying to read the cards in general). I guess that means the Klingon Flagship can only help one other ship each turn (by that logic)
   
Made in us
Stubborn Prosecutor





USA

I think the best way to interpret the flagship is that each ship will be able to convert a blank on 1 attack only. So if a ship in the pack is using something like ONCE MORE UNTO THE BREACH or COUNTER ATTACK, they have to choose which attack to use the reroll.

It's time to go full Skeletor  
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





That's how I would like to interpret it, but after Kerla, who knows?
   
Made in us
Stubborn Prosecutor





USA

That is for sure, however after the Koss/Dispersion Field ruling I have a lot of hope for the game.

(http://www.wizkidseventsystem.com/bb/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=2365&sid=8545bd3408866fb8d0a5378caa0616cc)

They are being eratta, they now have to be discarded after they are used

It was the rules teams wording that I found to be the shining light "this interaction was not intentional. And these cards are not thematic of the Star Trek universe"

Things may be confusing now in the first few days, but this is a sign of good things to come.


It's time to go full Skeletor  
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Klingon Flagship works once for each eligible ship.

They changed the "Each time" again.
   
Made in us
Stubborn Prosecutor





USA

Ok it looks like things are now consistent.

(http://www.wizkidseventsystem.com/bb/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=2008&start=20)

Passive things that say "Each time..." are continuous and work each time in the round, ie Koloth, Gul Evek

Cards that are passive and only say "you may..." are once per round, ie Varel, Li Nalis, half of Shelby

An ACTION such as Sulu is not affected and can be used each time.


Captain Kerla has also been updated to fall in line with this linenof thinking.

(http://www.wizkidseventsystem.com/bb/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=1848)

May take a little while to get used to, but things are coming into focus. Honestly I am pretty excited, it really seems like there is a concentrated effort to streamline things and down grade abusive combos. This week will be rough, but I think we are getting a huge improvement here.

It's time to go full Skeletor  
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





http://www.wizkidseventsystem.com/bb/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=1880

Only one "after you move" effect may activate its ability after you move.
   
Made in us
Stubborn Prosecutor





USA

I find it interesting they felt the need to address this, but not surprised. It falls in line with only one effect triggering off of a token or action. In this case an effect triggering off the move. So sorry no Riker and Martok 8 together.

It's time to go full Skeletor  
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Keep in mind they are also addressing the cards that are in the pipeline; cards that are beyond the point of changing before production. So some of their rulings may be taking those into account
   
Made in us
Stubborn Prosecutor





USA

That is very true. We do have monthly releases now to June or July. A lot of this could be to prepare us for things to come. It is a much more streamline way of grouping card types and effect types, which was needed as new things roll out each month.

It's time to go full Skeletor  
   
Made in gb
Fixture of Dakka







So, basically... The NX's Polarized Hull Plating can add 2 evade results in total for a turn, right?

To be honest, I kinda feel a bit sad about that. I was having a hilarious time on Monday night annoying bigger ships with the NX who didn't want to turn their big 5+ attack dice shots onto the ship.
   
Made in us
Crafty Bray Shaman




NOVA

While I love that they are being proactive and fixing a lot of what's wrong with the game, I'm afraid there's far too much going on for me to apply any ruling not in the actual FAQ. I just can't keep up. They've been updating that pretty regularly it seems, so hopefully that will be enough.

 
   
Made in ca
Lieutenant Colonel






 Compel wrote:
So, basically... The NX's Polarized Hull Plating can add 2 evade results in total for a turn, right?

To be honest, I kinda feel a bit sad about that. I was having a hilarious time on Monday night annoying bigger ships with the NX who didn't want to turn their big 5+ attack dice shots onto the ship.


no, you can 100% use the polarized hull plating each time you defend

from WK official "Cards that state "Each time you defend" OR "Each time you attack" are continuous effects which would affect all attacks or defense rolls.

The Akorem may use it's ability more than 1 time per turn."


so its very convoluted, but basically:

if something says you may do it, you get to do it once per turn

if it says you may do it "each time you ______" you may do it each time you ______ (ie defend or attack)


Automatically Appended Next Post:
frick, but hten they say

" No, Enhanced Hull Plating may only be used once per round."

wtf.. that makes no sense to me

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/11/20 21:07:24


 
   
Made in us
Stubborn Prosecutor





USA

 easysauce wrote:
 Compel wrote:
So, basically... The NX's Polarized Hull Plating can add 2 evade results in total for a turn, right?

To be honest, I kinda feel a bit sad about that. I was having a hilarious time on Monday night annoying bigger ships with the NX who didn't want to turn their big 5+ attack dice shots onto the ship.


no, you can 100% use the polarized hull plating each time you defend

from WK official "Cards that state "Each time you defend" OR "Each time you attack" are continuous effects which would affect all attacks or defense rolls.

The Akorem may use it's ability more than 1 time per turn."


so its very convoluted, but basically:

if something says you may do it, you get to do it once per turn

if it says you may do it "each time you ______" you may do it each time you ______ (ie defend or attack)


Automatically Appended Next Post:
frick, but hten they say

" No, Enhanced Hull Plating may only be used once per round."

wtf.. that makes no sense to me


It does make sense. Enhanced Hull Plating does NOT contain the words "Each time". So it's not a continuous effect therefore it can only be used once per turn.

It's time to go full Skeletor  
   
Made in gb
Fixture of Dakka







Well the plating doesn't say 'each time' it just says 'during the roll defence dice step'

So that's consistent but complicated.

What seems inconsistent though is the 'just once' I figured up to twice depending on if you just took the one token
   
 
Forum Index » Other Sci-Fi Miniatures Games
Go to: