Switch Theme:

FW Dread Mob Deff Dread Troops and Objective Secured  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




UK

Ok so, I'm fairly sure this must have come up somewhere before, probably under a different army that has non-scoring troops, but as I dont know what they might be offhand it's made it very difficult to aim my google-fu.

So I thought I would put it up here and see if there was a quick answer, or if its one of those questions thats still under debate

Deff Dreads in a FW dread mob army are troops, but they still have a line in their specific rules that says they "do not count as scoring units".

However, if I then play them in a CAD, the special rules for CAD says that "ALL troops units have objective secured".

So... whats does this mean for the dreads?



To me, it sounds like they can't score an objective themselves, but if they are on an objective they can prevent the opponent from scoring unless he uses troops with obsec.
   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





East Coast, USA

You are exactly correct. They can't score, but they can prevent enemy units from scoring as they do, in fact, have the Objective Secured rule.

Check out my website. Editorials! Tutorials! Fun Times To Be Had! - kriswallminis.com


https://www.thingiverse.com/KrisWall/about


Completed Trades With: ultraatma 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

 Kriswall wrote:
You are exactly correct. They can't score, but they can prevent enemy units from scoring as they do, in fact, have the Objective Secured rule.
Not so.

ObjSec lets them control, even if another unit's closer, but their rule prevents them controlling.
They prevent by controlling, which means they do exactly nothing as they can't control.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




UK

 grendel083 wrote:
 Kriswall wrote:
You are exactly correct. They can't score, but they can prevent enemy units from scoring as they do, in fact, have the Objective Secured rule.
Not so.

ObjSec lets them control, even if another unit's closer, but their rule prevents them controlling.
They prevent by controlling, which means they do exactly nothing as they can't control.


Hmm, well the rule says they can't score, it doesn't mention anything about being unable to prevent scoring. They dont prevent scoring by "control" (which I dont think is a term in the rulebook), they prevent it by having the ObSec rule and being on the objective.

This is how it seems to read anyway.
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

See "Controlling Objectives".
You need to be Scoring to do so, hence the use of the term "control".

You can't prevent Scoring. You can only prevent a unit controlling an objective.
An ObjSec unit prevents a unit controlling an objective, by controlling it themselves. Somthing the unit in question cannot do.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/12/24 18:17:43


 
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





 grendel083 wrote:
See "Controlling Objectives".
You need to be Scoring to do so, hence the use of the term "control".

You can't prevent Scoring. You can only prevent a unit controlling an objective.
An ObjSec unit prevents a unit controlling an objective, by controlling it themselves. Somthing the unit in question cannot do.

That doesn't make any sense. By that logic opposing units with both ObjSec would both control the objective
   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





East Coast, USA

Actually, I reread the rules in question. I agree with Grendel. I didn't realize you had to be scoring to be able to control. I thought the Dredds could control, but simply wouldn't score from being in control.

Check out my website. Editorials! Tutorials! Fun Times To Be Had! - kriswallminis.com


https://www.thingiverse.com/KrisWall/about


Completed Trades With: ultraatma 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: