Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/26 04:59:19
Subject: Disembarking from a Transport, Walker that is Currently in Melee Combat
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
New York, USA
|
Ok. Very clunky title, but the question comes down to GW creating a new troop type not fleshing out the rules for it (again).
Here we have the Morkanaut / Gorkanaut: Vehicle (Walker, Transport), and actually also the Stompa: Super-heavy Walker. If either still has troops inside and gets assaulted can it still disgorge its cargo? Since it's locked in combat, I would say no, but this is GW after all. Similarly, what about FW's monstrous / gargantuan creatures such as Heirophant with incubation chambers and the two squiggoths.
Not going to start on whether orks disembarking from a 'naut could then join the fray or not since for some reason they are not assault vehicles.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/26 05:02:26
Subject: Disembarking from a Transport, Walker that is Currently in Melee Combat
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
Nothing in the assault rules or transport rules prevent disembarking in this situation.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/26 05:07:20
Subject: Disembarking from a Transport, Walker that is Currently in Melee Combat
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
In fact this is a bit of a long running nid tactic with the Trevigon. It gets in assault then pops tarpits.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/26 05:25:15
Subject: Disembarking from a Transport, Walker that is Currently in Melee Combat
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
New York, USA
|
CrownAxe wrote:Nothing in the assault rules or transport rules prevent disembarking in this situation.
I was pretty sure I hadn't seen anything regarding this kind of situation, but that doesn't mean that GW didn't just forget to include a rule.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/26 05:25:20
Subject: Disembarking from a Transport, Walker that is Currently in Melee Combat
|
 |
Slaanesh Chosen Marine Riding a Fiend
Maine
|
It would seem they could, but only if they can get 1" away from the enemy models without moving further than the disembark movement, which might be impossible depending on the unit the Naught is fighting, as it's ONLY access point is its stomach.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/26 05:29:54
Subject: Disembarking from a Transport, Walker that is Currently in Melee Combat
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
OomieCrusha wrote: CrownAxe wrote:Nothing in the assault rules or transport rules prevent disembarking in this situation.
I was pretty sure I hadn't seen anything regarding this kind of situation, but that doesn't mean that GW didn't just forget to include a rule.
Exactly. There is nothing in the rules about this situation so we look at what do have which is that you can disembark if the vehicles doesn't move more then 6" and then nothing in the transport or assault rules preventing that in this situation. And even if GW had forgotten such a rule, it doesn't exist so there is no way to use it.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/12/26 05:30:45
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/26 05:47:11
Subject: Disembarking from a Transport, Walker that is Currently in Melee Combat
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
barnowl wrote:In fact this is a bit of a long running nid tactic with the Trevigon. It gets in assault then pops tarpits.
Tervigon isn't a transport so not a good comparison.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/26 06:18:15
Subject: Disembarking from a Transport, Walker that is Currently in Melee Combat
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
New York, USA
|
rigeld2 wrote:barnowl wrote:In fact this is a bit of a long running nid tactic with the Trevigon. It gets in assault then pops tarpits.
Tervigon isn't a transport so not a good comparison.
I was wondering about that too.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/26 07:26:11
Subject: Disembarking from a Transport, Walker that is Currently in Melee Combat
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Melevolence wrote:It would seem they could, but only if they can get 1" away from the enemy models without moving further than the disembark movement, ...
More specifically, they would have to be able to disembark without coming within 1" of enemy models during the disembark process. Remember you have to place the models outside the vehicle first before moving them out to 6".
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/26 15:47:16
Subject: Disembarking from a Transport, Walker that is Currently in Melee Combat
|
 |
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity
|
And any models that can't be placed are removed as casualties? Don't have my rules handy.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/26 16:23:22
Subject: Disembarking from a Transport, Walker that is Currently in Melee Combat
|
 |
Furious Fire Dragon
|
Kriswall wrote:And any models that can't be placed are removed as casualties? Don't have my rules handy.
If the unit is making an Emergency Disembarkation (<-- real word?) due to enemy models making it impossible to legally place your models in contact with an access point before moving them OR because disembarking would put your models in Impassible Terrain, then either the whole unit gets out, or the whole unit stays in ( BRB 81).
In the case of an Emergency Disembarkation (due to your vehicle being wrecked and surrounded), any model that cannot legally complete the move is removed as a casualty ( BRB 82).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/26 19:54:21
Subject: Disembarking from a Transport, Walker that is Currently in Melee Combat
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
New York, USA
|
DCannon4Life wrote:
If the unit is making an Emergency Disembarkation (<-- real word?) due to enemy models making it impossible to legally place your models in contact with an access point before moving them OR because disembarking would put your models in Impassible Terrain, then either the whole unit gets out, or the whole unit stays in ( BRB 81).
In the case of an Emergency Disembarkation (due to your vehicle being wrecked and surrounded), any model that cannot legally complete the move is removed as a casualty ( BRB 82).
It gets even more fun when models are trying to disembark from an exploding vehicle. Stop, drop, and roll just doesn't cut it.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/12/26 19:54:52
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/26 20:31:05
Subject: Disembarking from a Transport, Walker that is Currently in Melee Combat
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
right, the way I'm reading the rules, you can't embark or disembark from a gorkanaught or a morkanaught.
step one:
"Place the first model in base contact with one of the vehicles access points" (Placing disembarked Models, page 81)
But the GorkaMorkanaught is on a base.
over to page 18:
"...and can never move through another model (Friend or foe) at any time. To move past, they must go around." (Models in the Way, page 18)
so you place the model in base contact with the access point, then move it, which you can't do as it moves over the 'naughts base.
so the only similar thing we have is fliers. it does state that you treat a fliers base as an access point. should a 'naughts base be treated the same?
also noticed another stipulation that renders 'naughts terrible (well, more terrible) than they were - if you move, then disembark, the 'naught can't run or assault. (Disembarking, page 81).
in short, don't take gorkonaughts - your army will look better, play better and avoid rubbishly written rules better.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/29 05:37:26
Subject: Disembarking from a Transport, Walker that is Currently in Melee Combat
|
 |
Khorne Veteran Marine with Chain-Axe
|
some bloke, the GorkaMorkanaughts bellies/access points extend out over the edges of their bases, so that is not an issue.
And the 'naughts have plenty of uses; if you're relying on them as transports and that's holding you back then you may want to experiment with other ways of using them.
|
-I dedicate these deaths to Odin Allfather, Spearshaker, One Eye.
Rock hard, ride free, and hold the heathen hammer high!
"Orkses is never beaten in battle; if we win, we win, if we die, we died fightin' so it doesn't count, and if we leg it, we always come back for anuvver go, see?"
God, I'd love to shunt the Hulk into the Eye of Terror and see what comes out. -Reiner
"Sons of the Last Breath"
"Host of Shattered Purity"
"Kabal of the Dying Sun, Cult of Marrow Excised, Coven of Lambent Hunger" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/29 05:43:13
Subject: Disembarking from a Transport, Walker that is Currently in Melee Combat
|
 |
Slaanesh Chosen Marine Riding a Fiend
Maine
|
Laughingcarp wrote:some bloke, the GorkaMorkanaughts bellies/access points extend out over the edges of their bases, so that is not an issue.
And the 'naughts have plenty of uses; if you're relying on them as transports and that's holding you back then you may want to experiment with other ways of using them.
Pretty much. They shouldn't be used as transports for anything other than a mini Mek Workshop, so you don't want the guys inside coming out unless you have no real option. Other than that, there is no conceivable reason to use the transport capability, since it isn't an Assault Vehicle to make use out of it (Such as for 3 Manz to camp out in in a Psudo-Landraider fashion)
|
|
 |
 |
|