Switch Theme:

Transport shenanigans - is this legal?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in de
Mysterious Techpriest






Consider the following scenario:
I I bring 2x 10 Tactical Squads, armed with 2 Plasma Gun, 2 Plasma Cannon and 1 Combiplas total in Rhinos as dedicated Transports.
I see my opponent has 2 Baleflamer Heldrakes with Baleflamers sitting in reserve - dead cannons very soon.

So could I do some shenanigans like:
Deploy both rhinos within 9" of each other with it's respective combat squads embarked.
From Rhino #1 a Plasma Gun disembarks and moves to within 3" of Rhino #2.
From Rhino #2 a Plasma Cannon disembarks and moves to within 3" of Rhino #1
The disembarked Gun embarks into Rhino #2.
The disembarked Cannon embarks into Rhino #1.

Rhino #2 zooms off to deliver the Plasma Guns and Combiplas into the enemys face.
Rhino #1 remains stationary and allows the 1 Plasma Cannon to fire from a Fire Port with 2 Cannons firing the next turn.

Legal action or not?

Data author for Battlescribe
Found a bug? Join, ask, report:
https://discord.gg/pMXqCqWJRE 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





No. Models that aren't Independent Characters can't leave their unit nor join another one.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in de
Mysterious Techpriest






Let me rephrase:
Instead of "a Plasma Gun" or "a Plasma Cannon" read it as
"the Combat Squad, containing the respective Plasma Weaponry" instead

Sorry for being inprecise. I thought it was clear in the context...

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/01/06 15:32:43


Data author for Battlescribe
Found a bug? Join, ask, report:
https://discord.gg/pMXqCqWJRE 
   
Made in us
Tunneling Trygon






Answer is still no. Combat squads count as individual squads and the restriction on transports is clear. The only exception is in the Combat Squad rule and that only applies to Combat Squads from the same original squad.
   
Made in de
Mysterious Techpriest






Oh yeah.. I totally forgot that they're different units... Curse you, special/heavy restriction.

Data author for Battlescribe
Found a bug? Join, ask, report:
https://discord.gg/pMXqCqWJRE 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: