Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/15 19:09:35
Subject: Tyranids Allied with themselves?
|
 |
Scuttling Genestealer
|
Just make a quick search in the forum first but found nothing.
In the core rulebook it is said that Tyranids are "battle brothers" with Tyranids but in the allied detachment, among restrictions, they say that allies must have a different faction!
Now i'm confused, can my have (or not) a primary detachment of Tyranids let say 2 Flyrants and 2 squads of hormagaunts allied with another Tyranid detachement composed of a Tervigon and 1 squad of Termagants?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/15 19:16:13
Subject: Tyranids Allied with themselves?
|
 |
Kelne
|
Nothing prevents that that I can see in 7th ed.
You could also have an additionnal "main" detachment, allowing you to have 2 more HQs, but needing 2 troops minimum
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/15 19:30:10
Subject: Tyranids Allied with themselves?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
no, you cannot have an Allied Detachment" as define in the BRB have the same Faction as your Primary detachment.
You can have any other detachment though, such as 2 CAD's or a CAD and a Formation detachment or all formation detachments but just not the "Allied Detachment" from the BRB.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/15 19:33:56
Subject: Tyranids Allied with themselves?
|
 |
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity
|
If your Warlord is a Tyranid, you can't take an Allied Detachment of Tyranids. The Allied Detachment has this restriction.
You CAN have 2 Combined Arms Detachments, with one having your Warlord though.
You CANNOT have a Combined Arms Detachment of Tyranids with an Allied Detachment of Tyranids in the same army if your Warlord is a Tyranid.
You CAN have a Combined Arms Detachment of Tyranids with an Allied Detachment of Tyranids in the same army if your Warlord is NOT a Tyranid.
Legal
Tyranid CAD - Warlord
Tyranid CAD
Illegal
Tyranid CAD - Warlord
Tyranid AD
Legal
Tyranid CAD
Tyranid AD
Space Marines CAD - Warlord
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/15 20:23:10
Subject: Tyranids Allied with themselves?
|
 |
Scuttling Genestealer
|
Kriswall wrote:If your Warlord is a Tyranid, you can't take an Allied Detachment of Tyranids. The Allied Detachment has this restriction.
You CAN have 2 Combined Arms Detachments, with one having your Warlord though.
You CANNOT have a Combined Arms Detachment of Tyranids with an Allied Detachment of Tyranids in the same army if your Warlord is a Tyranid.
You CAN have a Combined Arms Detachment of Tyranids with an Allied Detachment of Tyranids in the same army if your Warlord is NOT a Tyranid.
Legal
Tyranid CAD - Warlord
Tyranid CAD
Illegal
Tyranid CAD - Warlord
Tyranid AD
Legal
Tyranid CAD
Tyranid AD
Space Marines CAD - Warlord
Ok got it!
In other words i can have 2 Tyranid detachments side by side BUT any rules that refer to friendly units of the same faction are not "given" from one detachment to another?
For exemple in CAD A my warlord is a Tervigon so any Termagants from CAD B do not get Brood progenitore benefit if within 12".
Am i correct?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/16 01:11:07
Subject: Tyranids Allied with themselves?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
no. any benefit, that is for a friendly unit, or specific to a certain faction like faction:tyranids or just any model within xx inches still applies regardless of detachment. In your example Brood Pro says "all Termagants...." so it would apply to both friendly and enemy termagants, regardless of detachments.
Detachment specific rules like "command benefits" or "restrictions" would only apply to models in that specific detachment.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/16 03:37:33
Subject: Tyranids Allied with themselves?
|
 |
Scuttling Genestealer
|
40k-noob wrote:no. any benefit, that is for a friendly unit, or specific to a certain faction like faction:tyranids or just any model within xx inches still applies regardless of detachment. In your example Brood Pro says "all Termagants...." so it would apply to both friendly and enemy termagants, regardless of detachments.
Detachment specific rules like "command benefits" or "restrictions" would only apply to models in that specific detachment.
Got it, thanks
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/16 09:24:33
Subject: Tyranids Allied with themselves?
|
 |
Devious Space Marine dedicated to Tzeentch
|
40k-noob wrote:no. any benefit, that is for a friendly unit, or specific to a certain faction like faction:tyranids or just any model within xx inches still applies regardless of detachment. In your example Brood Pro says "all Termagants...." so it would apply to both friendly and enemy termagants, regardless of detachments.
Detachment specific rules like "command benefits" or "restrictions" would only apply to models in that specific detachment.
I was under the impression that your enemy doesn't benefit from your perks. Am I wrong?
|
12k+ pts Chaos Marines, Heretic Guard and Daemons (The Scourged)
2k pts Tyranids (Hive Fleet Hornet) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/18 06:17:36
Subject: Re:Tyranids Allied with themselves?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Whats the perk? I can't think of any that the wording itself does not exclude enemy models in some way.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/18 12:31:36
Subject: Re:Tyranids Allied with themselves?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
DJGietzen wrote:Whats the perk? I can't think of any that the wording itself does not exclude enemy models in some way.
old KFF rules made it cover all models (so friend or foe) but only ork vehicles.
basically if the rule states "All models within 12 inches" then it's friend or foe.
if the rule states "All friendly models within 12 inches" then it only cover models that are treated as friendly, which is covered in the allies section.
"all tyranid models in 12 inches" would only apply to tyranids.
rules which instead say things like "All models in this detachment have preferred enemy" would only apply to models taken in a specific detachment.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/18 20:56:19
Subject: Re:Tyranids Allied with themselves?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
DJGietzen wrote:Whats the perk? I can't think of any that the wording itself does not exclude enemy models in some way.
The rule says:
"Brood Progenitor: All Termagants in units within 12" of the Tervigon have the Counter-attack special rule."
Edit: Checked the FAQs and there is no change on this rule.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/01/18 20:56:59
|
|
 |
 |
|