Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/28 22:04:32
Subject: Can a techmarine repair a dreadnought that's locked in assault?
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Assuming that the techmarine can end it's movement in base-to-base with the dread and stay 1" away from whatever enemy is against the dread.
Bonus question 1: Dreadnought and techmarine are locked in the same combat with an enemy. Assuming they're in base-to-base with each other, can the techmarine repair the dread?
Bonus question 2: techmarine is locked in combat with an enemy. Dreadnought moves up to base-to-base with the techmarine. Can the techmarine repair it?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/29 00:18:39
Subject: Re:Can a techmarine repair a dreadnought that's locked in assault?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Assuming the techmarine can end its movement in base contact, then yes it can repair a walker that is in combat. (unless I'm forgetting something that forces a friendly unit in base contact to join a fight)
But, both your bonus questions are a "no" in my book. The techmarine, while locked in combat, cannot fire his weapons. Since he cannot fire his weapons he cannot make repair checks instead of firing his weapons.
You are going to have issues getting a techmarine into base contact with a unit locked in combat however. RAW its a logistical nightmare.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/29 00:19:13
Subject: Can a techmarine repair a dreadnought that's locked in assault?
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
There is no requirement for either model to be unengaged, so as silly as it sounds, all answers are "yes".
That said, pile-in moves may make 2 and 3 difficult, but otherwise nothing prevents it.
Edit: hadn't thought about the "instead of firing weapons" bit. I'll have to think about it.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/01/29 00:20:08
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/29 00:22:37
Subject: Re:Can a techmarine repair a dreadnought that's locked in assault?
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
DJGietzen wrote:Assuming the techmarine can end its movement in base contact, then yes it can repair a walker that is in combat. (unless I'm forgetting something that forces a friendly unit in base contact to join a fight)
But, both your bonus questions are a "no" in my book. The techmarine, while locked in combat, cannot fire his weapons. Since he cannot fire his weapons he cannot make repair checks instead of firing his weapons.
You are going to have issues getting a techmarine into base contact with a unit locked in combat however. RAW its a logistical nightmare.
This makes sense to me. Although to be clear, does a unit locked in assault "lose" its shooting phase? Or can it just not fire its weapons?
Bonus question 3: If I have the techmarine on the opposite side of the dreadnought, do units in that combat have to stay 1" away from the techmarine, possibly limiting the amount of models they can get in base-to-base?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/29 00:26:11
Subject: Can a techmarine repair a dreadnought that's locked in assault?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
A unit locked in assault still has a shooting phase, however, they cannot be selected to make a shooting attack.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/29 00:37:29
Subject: Can a techmarine repair a dreadnought that's locked in assault?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
For question 3, no, units in assault ignore the 1" rule. They just can't move into base contact with units they aren't assaulting
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/29 01:02:06
Subject: Can a techmarine repair a dreadnought that's locked in assault?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Ah, found somehting that makes this all that much more funky. What do we do with models not locked in combat but are engaged in the combat? Looking thought the fight subphase any model within 2" of a friendly model in base contact with an enemy model in the same combat must fight. In our little scenario here the techmarine is with 2" of the dreadnought who is in combat and base contact with enemy models. Does this mean the techmarine has to fight?
insaniak wrote:For question 3, no, units in assault ignore the 1" rule. They just can't move into base contact with units they aren't assaulting
Where in the rules is this, I must have missed it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/29 01:15:25
Subject: Can a techmarine repair a dreadnought that's locked in assault?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
DJGietzen wrote: What do we do with models not locked in combat but are engaged in the combat?
There is no such thing.
You figure out who is engaged at their Initiative step. If you work through the steps in order, you only determine Initiative steps for models belinging to units that are in the combat.
Where in the rules is this, I must have missed it.
Under 'Moving Charging Models, starting with the second piece of bolded text.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/01/29 01:15:39
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/29 01:33:41
Subject: Re:Can a techmarine repair a dreadnought that's locked in assault?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
A model is engaged in combat if ...It is within 2" horizontally and/or 6" vertically of a friendly model in base contact with one or more enemy models in the same combat.
Seems rather cut and dry to me. No need for for the 1st model to be in combat, just close enough to a friendly model in base contact with one or more enemy models in the same combat. I think GW meant for the 1st model and the friendly model to be in the same combat, but the sentence they wrote lacks to punctuation to mean that. I really wish they had an editor who caught this crap over there.
As for bonus question 3, that passage only applies to charging models. What prevents a model already locked in combat from coming into base contact with an enemy model not already in combat with it?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/29 01:44:11
Subject: Re:Can a techmarine repair a dreadnought that's locked in assault?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
DJGietzen wrote:A model is engaged in combat if ...It is within 2" horizontally and/or 6" vertically of a friendly model in base contact with one or more enemy models in the same combat.
...at its initiative step.
You're not given any instruction to check the Initiative of any model that is not involved in the combat.
You're taking a single statement out of a whole passage of rules and applying it to a situation that it doesn't fit.
As for bonus question 3, that passage only applies to charging models. What prevents a model already locked in combat from coming into base contact with an enemy model not already in combat with it?
Pile In moves follow the same rules as charging.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/29 11:55:05
Subject: Can a techmarine repair a dreadnought that's locked in assault?
|
 |
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot
|
I'd say yes to the techmarine moving into base contact with the dread, and no to a dread mvoing into base contact with a tech locked in combat.
Mainly becuase a tech repairs instead of shooting. So a tech locked in comabt can not shot, so therefore cannot repair.
With a tech moving into a dread locked in combat, he is not yet locked so can repair. In the next turn (asuming they are all locked) he could not attempt any further repairs.
Although I've never thought of doing this before I think I'll give it a go at my local club. Ha, then see what happens. Should be fun either way.
|
My own chapoter, The Broken Swords. Almost a full company.
1500
Check out my painting page on Facebook. Wartable Painting. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/29 13:13:11
Subject: Can a techmarine repair a dreadnought that's locked in assault?
|
 |
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot
|
worth pointing out that the techmarine and the dread are two separate units so the dread being in combat does not 'pull' the techmarine into the combat unless the techmarine charges.
if the dread is fighting one on one with something then a techmarine can wander up on the opposite side (provided it is legal move to do so) and repair every turn if it so chose to do pending being charged/shot at.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/30 16:51:22
Subject: Can a techmarine repair a dreadnought that's locked in assault?
|
 |
Krazed Killa Kan
Homestead, FL
|
I would say no to all of them. The rules might state if it is in base to base contact it can repair a vehicle but that rule was written in regards to standard vehicles that can't be locked in combat, Walkers, I.E. Dreads can be locked in combat therefore realistically the techmarine should NOT be able to repair a dreadnought locked in combat.
Think about it realistically (yes i know its a board game but bear with me) That dreadnought is basically a swirling vortex of doom rampaging through his enemies, do you think he would hold still long enough in a melee to let a techmarine repair him?
|
I come in peace. I didn't bring artillery. But I'm pleading with you, with tears in my eyes: If you mess with me, I'll kill you all
Marine General James Mattis, to Iraqi tribal leaders |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/30 17:48:22
Subject: Can a techmarine repair a dreadnought that's locked in assault?
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Ghazkuul wrote:I would say no to all of them. The rules might state if it is in base to base contact it can repair a vehicle but that rule was written in regards to standard vehicles that can't be locked in combat, Walkers, I.E. Dreads can be locked in combat therefore realistically the techmarine should NOT be able to repair a dreadnought locked in combat.
Think about it realistically (yes i know its a board game but bear with me) That dreadnought is basically a swirling vortex of doom rampaging through his enemies, do you think he would hold still long enough in a melee to let a techmarine repair him?
The problem is that the questions above are posted in a forum where the Rules are mainly discussed as they come, as per Tenet 1 (Rule #1 for this forum) would say:
Lorek wrote:1. Don't make a statement without backing it up.
- You have to give premises for a conclusive statement; without this, there can be no debate. For more detail on how to actually create a logically supported conclusion, please read this article on how to have an intelligent rules debate.
Any "realistic" interpretation has no basis when we are discussing 3 Dice rolls, 12" movement, and Hovering Plasma Tanks
|
DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage. Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/01/30 18:10:36
Subject: Can a techmarine repair a dreadnought that's locked in assault?
|
 |
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity
|
Ghazkuul wrote:I would say no to all of them. The rules might state if it is in base to base contact it can repair a vehicle but that rule was written in regards to standard vehicles that can't be locked in combat, Walkers, I.E. Dreads can be locked in combat therefore realistically the techmarine should NOT be able to repair a dreadnought locked in combat.
Think about it realistically (yes i know its a board game but bear with me) That dreadnought is basically a swirling vortex of doom rampaging through his enemies, do you think he would hold still long enough in a melee to let a techmarine repair him?
This is why we don't discuss the "realism" of the rules. I'll counter with...
The Techmarine's servo-harness, in combination with his enhanced reflexes and augmetic modifications make him more than up to the task of moving with the Dreadnought as a repair is performed. Please report to your nearest Inquisition field base for heresy testing and re-education... or summary execution. I can't remember what the punishment is for doubting the abilities of the Emperor's Angels of Death. Long Live the God-Emperor of Mankind!
|
|
|
 |
 |
|