Switch Theme:

Dreadnought Weapon Destroyed  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot





Everything I found seemed to be from older editions so thought I'd double check this with the current edition. Couldn't find any consistent ruling on this.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but when a weapon is destroyed you roll d3, one for the weapon arm, one for the fist, and one for the bolter/flamer. If the fist is destroyed, you lose the bolter as well. If the bolter is destroyed, you just lose the bolter. Does that sound about right? Or do you keep the bolter even if the fist is destroyed?
   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





East Coast, USA

That is correct. Losing the DCCW causes you to lose the Bolter also. Losing the Bolter just causes you to lose the Bolter.

Check out my website. Editorials! Tutorials! Fun Times To Be Had! - kriswallminis.com


https://www.thingiverse.com/KrisWall/about


Completed Trades With: ultraatma 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




 Kriswall wrote:
That is correct. Losing the DCCW causes you to lose the Bolter also. Losing the Bolter just causes you to lose the Bolter.


Can you post a pg number please. I was trying to find this during a game when my Murderfang suffered a weapon destroyed result, but then stooped when we realized it was an immobilization instead.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Minneapolis, MN

Kaela_Mensha_Khaine wrote:
 Kriswall wrote:
That is correct. Losing the DCCW causes you to lose the Bolter also. Losing the Bolter just causes you to lose the Bolter.


Can you post a pg number please. I was trying to find this during a game when my Murderfang suffered a weapon destroyed result, but then stooped when we realized it was an immobilization instead.

It's in the vehicle damage result chart (the main one in the vehicles section). If a weapon with an in-built weapon gets destroyed, that built in weapon gets destroyed along with it. If you look at the datasheet, it will explicitly call out which weapons are built-in to other weapons.
   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





East Coast, USA

In the actual Vehicle Damage Table, Option 5 - Weapon Destroyed...

"One of the vehicle's weapons (randomly chosen) is destroyed - including any combi- or built in weapons."

A stock Dreadnought has three weapons...
1. DCCW
2. Storm Bolter
3. Multi-melta

Roll a d3. If you get the DCCW, the built in Storm Bolter goes with it per the above quoted rule. If you get the Storm Bolter, it goes alone.

Check out my website. Editorials! Tutorials! Fun Times To Be Had! - kriswallminis.com


https://www.thingiverse.com/KrisWall/about


Completed Trades With: ultraatma 
   
Made in us
Krazed Killa Kan





Denver, Colorado

Well, looking at the SM codex wargear for a dreadnaught, it says this: "Power fist with built-in storm bolter" - they are listed a single piece of wargear.

And the rulebook says that for weapon destroyed, when a weapon is destroyed (randomly), any "built in" (specifically mentions these) weapons are also destroyed.

I'm pretty sure that the power fist + stormbolter count as one weapon - or one piece of equipment, since that how they're listed. So, if you've got a power fist (with stormbolter) and a multimelta, you roll a D2, and either the fist with stormbolter are both destroyed (because they count as a single weapon) or its the MM.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/02/10 21:27:36


"Hope is the first step on the road to disappointment." Words to live by. 
   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





East Coast, USA

 Kap'n Krump wrote:
Well, looking at the SM codex wargear for a dreadnaught, it says this: "Power fist with built-in storm bolter" - they are listed a single piece of wargear.

And the rulebook says that for weapon destroyed, when a weapon is destroyed (randomly), any "built in" (specifically mentions these) weapons are also destroyed.

I'm pretty sure that the power fist + stormbolter count as one weapon - or one piece of equipment, since that how they're listed. So, if you've got a power fist (with stormbolter) and a multimelta, you roll a D2, and either the fist with stormbolter are both destroyed (because they count as a single weapon) or its the MM.


Power Fist is a weapon. Storm Bolter is a weapon. They have different profiles. The fact that one is built into the other is irrelevant.

Check out my website. Editorials! Tutorials! Fun Times To Be Had! - kriswallminis.com


https://www.thingiverse.com/KrisWall/about


Completed Trades With: ultraatma 
   
Made in ca
Maniacal Gibbering Madboy






 Kap'n Krump wrote:
Well, looking at the SM codex wargear for a dreadnaught, it says this: "Power fist with built-in storm bolter" - they are listed a single piece of wargear.

And the rulebook says that for weapon destroyed, when a weapon is destroyed (randomly), any "built in" (specifically mentions these) weapons are also destroyed.

I'm pretty sure that the power fist + stormbolter count as one weapon - or one piece of equipment, since that how they're listed. So, if you've got a power fist (with stormbolter) and a multimelta, you roll a D2, and either the fist with stormbolter are both destroyed (because they count as a single weapon) or its the MM.


Interesting... I'm inclined to agree with you. I suspect though, that this is a vague area where no specific ruling exists...
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

 Kriswall wrote:
"One of the vehicle's weapons (randomly chosen) is destroyed - including any combi- or built in weapons.".

From that wording, I very strongly suspect that they intended for built in weapons to be included with their parent weapon for the roll as well as for the removal.


By strict RAW, though, it would be as presented above.

 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




I thought dreads were walkers and didn't roll on destruction but just used HP.
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Walkers roll on the damage chart just like other vehicles.

 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

Righteousrob wrote:
I thought dreads were walkers and didn't roll on destruction but just used HP.
No vehicle does that.

Closest is Superhevies, they still roll on the chart, just ignoring most of the results.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: