Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/13 08:42:30
Subject: Question About the Canoptek Harvest
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Hello all!
I am new to the Dakka dakka forums for this ONE THING, only because in the last thread that was recently closed down because of this discussion...
I am not trying to re-open an old thread as what I have is new information on this insight and want to know what people think about it-- I'll also be sending an email to Frontlinegaming about it as well to see what their call is as they have changed rules in the past (such as a Tyrannocyte not being able to shoot 360, ect ect)
So here's the old conondrum: Can you take more than one Spyder in a Canoptek Harvest?
The formation requirements say here:
1 Canoptek Spyder
1 unit of Wraiths
1 unit of Canoptek Scarabs
So people say it sounds pretty self expanatory, and it does! I believed in until I watched this man's video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KiVNNrXRQUc
at 8:29 does anyone notice something interesting? This poster is of a full Reclamation legion with every formation on it with the max number of models you can take in each specific formation....
And for the Canoptek Harvest there are 3 Spyders.....
Now I know the rule says 1 Canoptek spyder-- but after seeing this poster it has gotten me to thinking....
Becuase the Spyder's unit composition is listed as 1 Canoptek Spyder, I feel that is the first reason why the formation has that particular wording, now onto reason number 2...
This one Spyder you start with in the formation is the only Spyder in the formation that can give out the three special rules to every other unit. I feel that even though you can technically take more Spyders in this formation (If the poster is in fact correct, because why would every other formation and model count be right except that one?) it is worded the way it is because just that Spyder gives those rules.
So if I took 2 Spyders, and the one that wasn't the "special" one died, I'd still have the ability to give out special rules so long as that specific Spyder was alive.
Please don't attack me, I just wanted to bring this GW special edition Poster to light with a full Reclamation Legion on it that has 3 Spyders listed under the Canoptek Harvest Formation....
I really hope that this clears up this whole Spyder business, and I hope to take at least 2 Spyders in tournaments that allow them!
HKTT
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/13 10:38:50
Subject: Re:Question About the Canoptek Harvest
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Canoptek Harvest Formation wrote:FORMATION:
1 Canoptek Spyder
1 unit of Canoptek Wraiths
1 unit of Canoptek Scarabs
Note the underlined. In the case of Wraiths and Scarabs you take a unit, as per the unit entry in the Codex.
For the Spyder you take one, a single Spyder, not a unit of them. The video was wrong I'm a afraid.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/13 10:59:02
Subject: Question About the Canoptek Harvest
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
As pointed out in the previous thread when that poster was brought up:
The number of units don't add up correctly. Too many scarabs for it to be a single formation as detailed in the data slate or even 2 formations and then if we're three then there are not enough wraiths to fill three so the pic really doesn't help at all.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/13 11:08:17
Subject: Question About the Canoptek Harvest
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
From what I can see of the poster, there are 2 blocks of 3 wraiths, there's a line going from a block of 3 to a SINGLE Spyder, continuing down to a block of scarabs. P
Follow the lines..
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/13 11:20:57
Subject: Question About the Canoptek Harvest
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Pretty much what the other two have said.
Artwork =/= rules
|
YMDC = nightmare |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/13 11:52:26
Subject: Question About the Canoptek Harvest
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Nice try, colonel. *salutes*
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/13 12:21:31
Subject: Re:Question About the Canoptek Harvest
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Yeah, the Codex says pretty much the same thing, but a Picture is not rules until they FaQ it (soon i would guess):
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/13 12:21:37
DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage. Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/13 12:33:44
Subject: Question About the Canoptek Harvest
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
From the codex it's very clear especially when you look at the Destroyer formation (can't remember name) because it refers the the Heavy Destroyer composition as "1 unit of Heavy Destroyers". This is important because a Heavy Destroyer unit also starts as a single model unit then adds more to it exactly like a Spyder unit.
This means that they aren't referring to the Spyder composition as "A Spyder" because it starts as a single model unit and that if they wanted you to take extra Spyders then then would of written "A unit of Spyders" like they did for Heavy Destroyers.
It would be very cut and dry except for the two non-rules sources (a promotional poster and White Draw) that show it as "A unit of Spyders". (Or you're col_impact and you think "A Spyder" actually means you can take 3 Spyders)
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/13 12:34:08
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/13 12:38:09
Subject: Question About the Canoptek Harvest
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Chicago, Illinois
|
That picture just says Canoptek Swarm, the actual name of the formation is Canoptek Harvest, so I don't know why people who say that indidicates the Harvest can have a unit of Spyders.
|
If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/13 12:44:09
Subject: Question About the Canoptek Harvest
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Hollismason wrote:That picture just says Canoptek Swarm, the actual name of the formation is Canoptek Harvest, so I don't know why people who say that indidicates the Harvest can have a unit of Spyders.
Because that is all it can refer to? Or does a Formation named Canoptek Swarm exists?
|
DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage. Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/13 12:58:06
Subject: Re:Question About the Canoptek Harvest
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Keep in mind that per Formation rules the Canoptek Harvest can only refer to 1 unit of Canoptek Spyders (Formations are defined as dealing with units and Army Entry Lists and not models). Even though it says "1 Canoptek Spyder" the rules require it to say "1 unit of Canoptek Spyders composed of 1 Canoptek Spyder"
Keep in mind that in the hard copy of the Necron codex, the Canoptek Harvest refers directly to page 93 which can only refer to Army Entry List for Canoptek Spyders which has a unit composition of 1 Canoptek Spyder and an "Options" panel which explicitly allows you to add additional Spyders.
Also, keep in mind the Formation prominently displays the text "Restrictions: None" so any claim of restricting the number of Spyders in the formation to just 1 Spyder (meaning you are restricted from using the options in the Spyder Army Entry List) goes directly against RAW.
|
This message was edited 5 times. Last update was at 2015/02/13 13:09:28
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/13 13:39:04
Subject: Re:Question About the Canoptek Harvest
|
 |
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity
|
col_impact wrote:Keep in mind that per Formation rules the Canoptek Harvest can only refer to 1 unit of Canoptek Spyders (Formations are defined as dealing with units and Army Entry Lists and not models). Even though it says "1 Canoptek Spyder" the rules require it to say "1 unit of Canoptek Spyders composed of 1 Canoptek Spyder"
Keep in mind that in the hard copy of the Necron codex, the Canoptek Harvest refers directly to page 93 which can only refer to Army Entry List for Canoptek Spyders which has a unit composition of 1 Canoptek Spyder and an "Options" panel which explicitly allows you to add additional Spyders.
Also, keep in mind the Formation prominently displays the text "Restrictions: None" so any claim of restricting the number of Spyders in the formation to just 1 Spyder (meaning you are restricted from using the options in the Spyder Army Entry List) goes directly against RAW.
Advanced versus Basic. The Advanced rule indicating that the specific Formation "Canoptek Harvest" contain only 1 Spyder overrides the more Basic rules covering ALL Formations.
You have no permission to take a Unit of Spyders. You have permission to take 1 Spyder.
Add all the circumstantial evidence you want to support your position, but until you can demonstrate that 1 means 2 or 3, you can't take more than 1. The rules as written are against you in this instance.
Is this poorly written? Yes. GW is good with models, but terrible at writing rules. It's almost laughable. They should have written "1 Unit of Canoptek Spyders, consisting of 1 Spyder only" and things would be clearer.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/13 13:58:55
Subject: Re:Question About the Canoptek Harvest
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
col_impact wrote:Keep in mind that in the hard copy of the Necron codex, the Canoptek Harvest refers directly to page 93 which can only refer to Army Entry List for Canoptek Spyders which has a unit composition of 1 Canoptek Spyder and an "Options" panel which explicitly allows you to add additional Spyders.
Also, keep in mind the Formation prominently displays the text "Restrictions: None" so any claim of restricting the number of Spyders in the formation to just 1 Spyder (meaning you are restricted from using the options in the Spyder Army Entry List) goes directly against RAW.
You've asserted that no restrictions means anything goes.
Please explain why I can't add a Ghost Ark to that formation.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/13 14:05:56
Subject: Re:Question About the Canoptek Harvest
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
|
YMDC = nightmare |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/13 16:53:06
Subject: Re:Question About the Canoptek Harvest
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
rigeld2 wrote:col_impact wrote:Keep in mind that in the hard copy of the Necron codex, the Canoptek Harvest refers directly to page 93 which can only refer to Army Entry List for Canoptek Spyders which has a unit composition of 1 Canoptek Spyder and an "Options" panel which explicitly allows you to add additional Spyders.
Also, keep in mind the Formation prominently displays the text "Restrictions: None" so any claim of restricting the number of Spyders in the formation to just 1 Spyder (meaning you are restricted from using the options in the Spyder Army Entry List) goes directly against RAW.
You've asserted that no restrictions means anything goes.
Please explain why I can't add a Ghost Ark to that formation.
Is there a Ghost Ark on the Army Entry List for Canoptek Spyders that the Canoptek Harvest directly references (i.e. "page 93")?
What is there on that Army Entry List is the Option to add additional spyders.
If I am restricted from taking that option, then why does the Canoptek Harvest say "Restrictions: None"? RAW there is no restriction on that option.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
Kriswall wrote:col_impact wrote:Keep in mind that per Formation rules the Canoptek Harvest can only refer to 1 unit of Canoptek Spyders (Formations are defined as dealing with units and Army Entry Lists and not models). Even though it says "1 Canoptek Spyder" the rules require it to say "1 unit of Canoptek Spyders composed of 1 Canoptek Spyder"
Keep in mind that in the hard copy of the Necron codex, the Canoptek Harvest refers directly to page 93 which can only refer to Army Entry List for Canoptek Spyders which has a unit composition of 1 Canoptek Spyder and an "Options" panel which explicitly allows you to add additional Spyders.
Also, keep in mind the Formation prominently displays the text "Restrictions: None" so any claim of restricting the number of Spyders in the formation to just 1 Spyder (meaning you are restricted from using the options in the Spyder Army Entry List) goes directly against RAW.
Advanced versus Basic. The Advanced rule indicating that the specific Formation "Canoptek Harvest" contain only 1 Spyder overrides the more Basic rules covering ALL Formations.
You have no permission to take a Unit of Spyders. You have permission to take 1 Spyder.
Add all the circumstantial evidence you want to support your position, but until you can demonstrate that 1 means 2 or 3, you can't take more than 1. The rules as written are against you in this instance.
Is this poorly written? Yes. GW is good with models, but terrible at writing rules. It's almost laughable. They should have written "1 Unit of Canoptek Spyders, consisting of 1 Spyder only" and things would be clearer.
We know seperably that the Canoptek Harvest refers to the Army Entry List because it points directly at it ("page 93") in the hard copy of the codex.
Basic Versus Advanced does not apply here because the unit composition for a unit of spyders is "1 Canoptek Spyder". Since we have separate confirmation that the Army Entry List is to be used and the Formation rules require units and Army Entry List and Formations have separate permission to go out and find complete Army Entry Lists across numerous sources, we can only conclude that 1 Canoptek Spyder is shorthand for 1 unit of 1 Canoptek Spyder. What is actually missing is any actual assertion at all that we are required to use the model in place of the unit. Does anyone see the word "model" explicitly used? If it said "1 Canoptek Spyder model" then there would indeed be an argument. Since Formations always use units and there is no assertion to use directly instead the actual model then why are you jumping to that conclusion that has no basis in any rule?
|
This message was edited 9 times. Last update was at 2015/02/13 17:11:33
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/13 17:20:10
Subject: Question About the Canoptek Harvest
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
This is just a blatant try to get this started again, this has been discussed i think 20 laps in the other thread and it's the same points over and over again.
let me: it says one spyder, done.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/13 17:22:01
Subject: Re:Question About the Canoptek Harvest
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
col_impact wrote:rigeld2 wrote:col_impact wrote:Keep in mind that in the hard copy of the Necron codex, the Canoptek Harvest refers directly to page 93 which can only refer to Army Entry List for Canoptek Spyders which has a unit composition of 1 Canoptek Spyder and an "Options" panel which explicitly allows you to add additional Spyders.
Also, keep in mind the Formation prominently displays the text "Restrictions: None" so any claim of restricting the number of Spyders in the formation to just 1 Spyder (meaning you are restricted from using the options in the Spyder Army Entry List) goes directly against RAW.
You've asserted that no restrictions means anything goes.
Please explain why I can't add a Ghost Ark to that formation.
Is there a Ghost Ark on the Army Entry List for Canoptek Spyders that the Canoptek Harvest directly references (i.e. "page 93")?
What is there on that Army Entry List is the Option to add additional spyders.
If I am restricted from taking that option, then why does the Canoptek Harvest say "Restrictions: None"? RAW there is no restriction on that option.
The formation list does not include more than one spider. The formation list is what's restricting you - a restriction you continue to ignore.
Just like I can't add a Ghost Ark to the formation, you can't add more than one spider to the formation.
. Since Formations always use units and there is no assertion to use directly instead the actual model then why are you jumping to that conclusion that has no basis in any rule?
They don't always use units. At best it's implied.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/13 17:37:34
Subject: Re:Question About the Canoptek Harvest
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
rigeld2 wrote:col_impact wrote:rigeld2 wrote:col_impact wrote:Keep in mind that in the hard copy of the Necron codex, the Canoptek Harvest refers directly to page 93 which can only refer to Army Entry List for Canoptek Spyders which has a unit composition of 1 Canoptek Spyder and an "Options" panel which explicitly allows you to add additional Spyders.
Also, keep in mind the Formation prominently displays the text "Restrictions: None" so any claim of restricting the number of Spyders in the formation to just 1 Spyder (meaning you are restricted from using the options in the Spyder Army Entry List) goes directly against RAW.
You've asserted that no restrictions means anything goes.
Please explain why I can't add a Ghost Ark to that formation.
Is there a Ghost Ark on the Army Entry List for Canoptek Spyders that the Canoptek Harvest directly references (i.e. "page 93")?
What is there on that Army Entry List is the Option to add additional spyders.
If I am restricted from taking that option, then why does the Canoptek Harvest say "Restrictions: None"? RAW there is no restriction on that option.
The formation list does not include more than one spider. The formation list is what's restricting you - a restriction you continue to ignore.
Just like I can't add a Ghost Ark to the formation, you can't add more than one spider to the formation.
. Since Formations always use units and there is no assertion to use directly instead the actual model then why are you jumping to that conclusion that has no basis in any rule?
They don't always use units. At best it's implied.
Your argument about the GA is an obtuse one.
The Reclamation formation does not say 0-1 Ghost Arks on it so how can we add a GA to the unit of warriors?
What does "Restrictions: None" even mean then? It's a line in the rules and you are saying we ignore what it says because it offends you?
The line can only mean that the units of the formation have unrestricted access to the options on their army entry list.
And as stated, since GA is not on the Canoptek Spyders Army Entry List it can obviously not be taken. Additional spyder however is an option on that Army Entry List and the no restrictions means we can take it.
1 Canoptek Spyder is technically nonspecific as to whether it refers to unit or model
Formations specify that they refer to units and complete army entry lists.
How are you logically able to even assert that you are taking a Canoptek Spyder model?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/13 17:42:32
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/13 17:39:16
Subject: Re:Question About the Canoptek Harvest
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
col_impact wrote:1 Canoptek Spyder is technically nonspecific as to whether it refers to unit or model
Not when they use '1 unit of Canoptek Wraiths' and '1 unit of Canoptek Scarabs' in the very same Formation.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/13 17:43:38
Subject: Re:Question About the Canoptek Harvest
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Ghaz wrote:col_impact wrote:1 Canoptek Spyder is technically nonspecific as to whether it refers to unit or model
Not when they use '1 unit of Canoptek Wraiths' and '1 unit of Canoptek Scarabs' in the very same Formation.
You cannot prove they mean 'model' any more than I can prove they mean 'unit' in the context of just that line.
However, the Formation rules specify units and army entry list so I have RAW support for my argument while you don't.
Feel free to prove they mean "model." The Formation rules assert they mean 'unit' and you are not overriding that unequivocal rule statement with any rule.
|
This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2015/02/13 17:48:22
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/02/13 17:55:41
Subject: Re:Question About the Canoptek Harvest
|
 |
[DCM]
Et In Arcadia Ego
|
As mentioned earlier this has already been done to death.
With no new information there's no point in going over it again.
|
The poor man really has a stake in the country. The rich man hasn't; he can go away to New Guinea in a yacht. The poor have sometimes objected to being governed badly; the rich have always objected to being governed at all
We love our superheroes because they refuse to give up on us. We can analyze them out of existence, kill them, ban them, mock them, and still they return, patiently reminding us of who we are and what we wish we could be.
"the play's the thing wherein I'll catch the conscience of the king, |
|
 |
 |
|