Elric Greywolf wrote:Why, though, is the interesting question.
Where does
GW say, "Part, but not all, of Escalation is now invalid. You may keep using the rules there, except for these few specific pages."
Are we just saying we know because of common sense? What justification can we give when someone without common sense starts to argue with the decision?
They don't say this anywhere. The common understanding is that when a new publication presents updated rules for an existing unit, the new publication is to be used. A newer set of rules became available when
GW published the latest Codex: Necrons. Strictly speaking though, you have two "versions" of the Transcendant C'Tan that are both game legal... the Escalation version and the Codex: Necrons version. This will continue to be the case until Escalation is moved to out of print. Just because the two units have the same name doesn't make them the same unit. Look at Inquisitorial Chimeras versus Astra Militarum Chimeras. Different rules, same name, both currently legal. The trick is that they must come from different publications.
HIWPI... if the source is currently available for sale and there is not other source contradicting the validity, run wild and feel free to use it. You do have to have the source with you to show me the profile you are using, though.
For interest, I like what Forgeworld does. This is from the Orca unit entry in the recent Imperial Armour 3 Second Edition book... "This profile replaces the one found in Imperial Armour: Aeronautica, page 60." Imperial Armour Aeronautica was (maybe still is) for sale at the time of this new publication, so Forgeworld felt the need to specify that the older profile was no longer valid. I wish
GW would explicitly do this.